We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Nothe Tavern

The Nothe Tavern
Barrack Road, Weymouth DT4 8TZ, England
+44 1305 839255
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 232 Restaurants in Weymouth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Been to this restaurant two or three times and each time the food and atmosphrer has been excellent.The staff are always friendly and helpful,would recommend to anyone.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesParsons, Owner at The Nothe Tavern, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Thanks for your kind review and we look forward to your continued support, kind regards James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    89
    18
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dorset
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Still serving excellent meals with a smile”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

The Nothe Tavern has enjoyed a long reputation of excellent food. It is set out of the way and the parking is mainly in a council-run car-park directly opposite which may add to the cost of the experience. The meals have trended towards the excellent 'pub grub' rather than popularly priced 'fine dining' over the years. It just comes with twice as many chips as it used to! I ate with a party of 8 on a pre-Christmas evening when the restaurant was packed. However, the service was fast and efficient with the food hot and hearty. Well worth the journey to seek out this pub/restaurant.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesParsons, Owner at The Nothe Tavern, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback from the recent visit to the Nothe Tavern. As you mentioned the pub has a long history and is well known and used by many locals and we our proud to continue the tradition it deserves. Your review mentions the car park opposite, well a good bit of news is the council have dropped charges at certain times. It is now free to park after 6pm Monday to saturday and free all day Sunday, until the end of february 2013.

I am glad you and your party enjoyed a pre Christmas evening with us and we will look forward to welcoming you for many more years to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheddar
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Lovely varied menu, large portions and superb service. Not over-priced either: mains are c. £10-£14 with all the trimmings.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesParsons, Owner at The Nothe Tavern, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Thank you for leaving this recommendation and appreciating our menu, service and pricing. regards James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEYMOUTH
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Good Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I have on a regular basis gone up The Nothe Tavern for their Carvery.
There is a welcome feeling when entering,very attentive staff the carvery always has 3 different
meats all cooked well also a good choice of vegetables.
Lunch time in the week there is a special lunch price,and us oldees can have good company and a chat .
There is a car park over the road and a good area for a walk,with views of Portland.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesParsons, Owner at The Nothe Tavern, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Thankyou for leaving your review and continuing to visit the Nothe tavern
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Empty stomach needed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We went here nearly every night whilst on holiday in the past week as it was close to where we were stopping and mum couldn't walk far. Apart from a step into the building, it is all flat (may be a ramp round the side, but didn't notice one).

If you visit, literally go on an empty stomach unless you love your food as the portions were quite large. Extremely good quality. Proper pub grub, but just a lot of it.

Staff were really friendly and couldn't do enough for us either.

If we stop in Weymouth again, they're definitely on our list of places to eat.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesParsons, Owner at The Nothe Tavern, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Thankyou for visiting us when you were in Weymouth and I am pleased you enjoyed our pub. For your information when you hopefully return, we have a temporary ramp to assist with access, just ask on arrival and we can set it up for you. Kind regards, James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Nothe Tavern also viewed

 

Been to The Nothe Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Nothe Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.