We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weymouth's Hidden Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Nothe Tavern

The Nothe Tavern
Barrack Road, Weymouth DT4 8TZ, England
+44 1305 839255
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 204 Restaurants in Weymouth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Newbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Weymouth's Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

We always visit this pub for a meal when in the area. Gets very busy and you need to book, even out of season, which is always a good sign. Called in at 6pm last night for table, fully booked but could give us a table until 8pm. Said we were in their hands as to service. Managed to have three course meal which was lovely. We both started with creamy mushrooms which were hot and fresh. I had BBQ ribs and my partner had mixed grill. Both served freshly cooked and hot. Portions good. We both had puddings, raspberry cheesecake and choc torte, both very nice. Prices are average and portions good. Best of all, food was served hot. Pub decor looks tired and in need of revamp both inside and out, but don't be deceived by appearances! We will continue to return!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesParsons, Owner at The Nothe Tavern, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
It is great to read your enjoyment of our food, service and receiving your food hot, I do appreciate that not everywhere maanges this. Regarding the decor we did actually have the exterior painted and new signage back in June (so i will not tell our decorators about this review), with the interior we do want to carry out some cosmetic changes and are saving to do this. Unfortunately we are not backed by some National company and this is taking longer than we hoped due to increases in utilities and food / drink costs, but we will get there . However thank you for visiting us on your trips to Weymouth and we will look forward to seeing to again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    89
    18
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Best Pub Food in Weymouth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

Have been visiting this pub for years , never been disappointed . Portions are massive , so come hungry , forget starters ! Friendly staff - fab beer garden when weather permits . Good beer too! Fab views over Weymouth Harbour from Patio Beer Garden

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesParsons, Owner at The Nothe Tavern, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Thankyou for leaving this kind review and we will look forward to seeing you again perhaps enjoying the beer garden when the weather improves. Kind regards James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Lovely carvers, friendly staff, warm cost atmosphere. :)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stumbled on the Nothe Tavern by accident and what a gem. The carvery was delicious and lots of lovely meat, veg and all the trimmings. Especially the pork crackling, naughty but nice. Great value and yummy puddings. Would definately visit again. A family friendly pub if we had been staying longer we would have gone back for a cosy night again.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesParsons, Owner at The Nothe Tavern, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
I do enjoy hearing and reading feedback where people stumbled accross the Nothe tavern and had a great time. We are off the beaten track so really do our best to ensure our guests visits are made special, as they have made the effort to visit us. Thank you for leaving this review and we will look forward to seeing you the next time you are in Weymouth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Not The Nothe Tavern- should be called The Yesthe Tavern.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Had a meal there this evening- 8 people in total. We started our evening at the Ship Inn on Weymouth Harbourside. After a long wait for the food (which finally arrived- cold) we gave up and headed to the Nothe Tavern.

We explained the situation to the guy behind the bar and he managed to get us a table within 5 minutes (once the tables had been cleaned and cleared). Orders taken and our food arrived promptly (and was hot- unlike at The Ship).

Thoroughly impressed- other reviews mention the decor. All I will say is that I go to eat their food and talk to my dining companions, not stare at the walls and floor. It is clean, tidy and great value- what more do you want?

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesParsons, Owner at The Nothe Tavern, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thankyou for choosing the Nothe Tavern, following the disappointment of the previous venue. It is very rewarding to all of us that you sought solace with us and we rescued your evening.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“What a gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We have been to Weymouth several times but have only just tried the nothe tavern. It is brilliant, the food is excellent as is the service.
From an access point of view the entrance has steps but once inside everything is on one level. We couldn't see a disabled toilet but there may be one.
The rear of the restaurant has a view over the harbour. There is also outside seating to the rear.
Car parking is very limited on the road outside but there is a pay and display car park across the road. The restaurant also has wi fi.
This is definitely a place we will visit again, beware this is a very popular pub so it may be wise to make a reservation

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesParsons, Owner at The Nothe Tavern, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thankyou for placing this review and we are glad you discovered us. As a point of interest our local council have intoduced a free parking scheme every evening after 6pm and all day Sunday, which includes the car park you mentioned opposite the Nothe Tavern. This runs until the end of February, hopefully you will be back in Weymouth during this time to take advantage of their generosity. We will look forward to seeing you again, many thanks, James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Nothe Tavern also viewed

 

Been to The Nothe Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Nothe Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.