We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exquisite Bed and Breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Birch House Bed and Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Birch House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Birch House Bed and Breakfast
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   31 Icen Road, Weymouth DT3 5JL, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 157 Weymouth B&B and Inns
Buckinghamshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Exquisite Bed and Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

My husband, son and I recently stayed a few nights at Birch House while our daughters were training at the National Sailing Academy. I honestly cannot praise it enough. The house has been beautifully decorated and furnished in a New England style and our bedroom and bathroom were absolutely impeccable. The whole house has a freshly painted look to it but at the same time is warm and comfortable. Our hosts were absolutely charming and gave us excellent advice on local restaurants and attractions. The breakfasts were probably the best part of the whole experience - a wide range of options, top quality local produce and eggs freshly laid by hens in the garden. The fact that we weren't in the very centre of town was actually an advantage as we found it very peaceful at night; I gather Weymouth can get quite noisy in the evenings. Trips into town only took about 5 minutes and my son and husband used the excellent cycle path a few times. I'm so glad I found out about Birch House and I really hope we get the opportunity to visit again soon.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    62
    5
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
16
38
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

As world travellers used to 5 star accommodation my wife and I stayed for several nights in what we regard as the best B&B we have ever stayed in. For a person of 6'9" in height the bed, bedroom and bathroom were very large indeed and just what we wanted. Everything was very luxurious and the use of the lounge at anytime was a plus. It was spotlessly clean and Kathy produced some great breakfasts every day.
The house view from the outside gives no indication of what joys, delights and surprises that are found inside, and in the garden.
The whole stay was first class and excellent value for the money.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed recently for 2 nights on a Groupon offer and when we arrived wished that we had booked more nights to make into a full week. It's a lovely house with a large beautiful back garden that guests are invited to use in suitable weather. There was a lovely welcome and the room was magnificent, spotlessly clean and warm with a large comfortable bed and a classy en-suite bathroom. The breakfasts were delicious with a good choice and used top quality local produce. Some reviewers have commented that it's a little bit away from the centre of Weymouth. To us that's a benefit as there is no noisy traffic at night and as we used the accommodation as a centre to tour from there is no difficulty with town centre traffic. When we chose to visit Weymouth centre it was only an easy 5 minutes drive away. We have stayed at some lovely B and B's (and some not so nice!) but Birch House is among the very best. It is incredible value on a Groupon offer and although at full price it is not cheap, it is still good value bearing in mind the high standard of the accommodation.

Room Tip: We had a room at the front of the house which had a lovely sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Just stayed for two nights through Groupon and have to say Birch House was lovely.
The room was very tasteful and the welcome sincere. Especially liked Lola she was great. Breakfasts were plentiful and good choices. The location was a bit far out of town, but the bus service was very good. Would visit again, but only on a special offer as I feel the full price for a B & B was a bit high, even though it did rate 5 stars

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

Have just returned from a 3 night stay and wow what a stay. Beautiful looking house, wonderful warm welcome from Kathy and amazing house inside. Shame someone could not have captured the look on mine and my wife's face when Kathy showed us our room, absolutely wonderful room beautifully furnished and the ensuite a joy to behold. For those of you considering a stay please don't hesitate you will not be disappointed, not only with the accommodation but the variety and wonderful breakfast, the full English is a real treat. Thank you so much Kathy.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed for just one night, more's the pity. What a wonderful warm home. The room was bright, very comfortable and spacious, as was the whole house, and they have a huge back garden which the guests can use. The room was spotlessly clean and very tastefully decorated with a first class en suite bathroom. Both Kathy and Pete were gracious and welcoming, and Kathy cooked a delicious breakfast to order. They have paid a lot of attention to the small details which make this B&B a first class place to stay. Its also very easily accessed off the main road with an easy drive into the town centre, the beach and the many attractions in the Jurassic Coast area. We would highly recommend this B&B if you are visiting Weymouth.

Room Tip: Rear rooms look out onto the beautiful back garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lutterworth, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed three nights and we were made to feel so welcome by Kathy & Pete, it felt like staying with family. The home is beautifully refurbished and has a restful garden to relax and read a book. Our room was spotless and tastefully furnished with a lovely en-suite shower. As for breakfast - an array of beautiful fresh berries and fruit with yogurt and cereals followed by a delicious high quality full english or variations as requested cooked to perfection by the very talented Kathy. Can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Birch House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birch House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 31 Icen Road, Weymouth DT3 5JL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 157 B&Bs / Inns in Weymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Birch House Bed and Breakfast 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Birch House is our lovely,5 star, Civic Award winning home in the Radipole area of Weymouth close to the RSPB Bird Reserve with sea glimpses of Weymouth Bay. We offer a warm welcome and friendly service. All rooms are en-suite and tastefully decorated to a very high standard. We are a 15-20 minute walk to Greenhill beach through the Lodmoor Country Park. We can collect guests from the railway station, if required, which is only a 5 minute drive away. The garden has been designed by Chelsea Award winner, Michelle Brown and offer guests a welcome retreat during their stay.We welcome walkers and cyclists and have facilities for storage and drying of equipment. Packed lunches are available on request. We offer a fantastic breakfast menu sourced from local suppliers in Dorset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL and Tingo so you can book your Birch House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birch House Bed And Breakfast Weymouth, Dorset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Birch House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.