We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“birds & more birds...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of RSPB Weymouth Wetlands at Radipole Lake Nature Reserve

RSPB Weymouth Wetlands at Radipole Lake Nature Reserve
Next to the Swannery car park, Weymouth, England
01305 778313
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 26 attractions in Weymouth
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas
Attraction Details
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“birds & more birds...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

everytime we visit here we see something new. last time we actually saw the Cetti's Warbler, we'd often hear it but never see it. waders, ducks, so many birds just keep your eyes & ears open. it's a lovely place for a walk too, especially since it was upragraded and the pathways are suitable for wheelchairs and buggies. don't forget to visit the hide at the far end of the lake and watch for the marsh harriers. don't know if I like the 'new' shop as although there's more room to move, there's not much in there unlike before the renovations. still, I'm very glad they managed to re-open after the terrible flooding earlier in the year. thankyou Radipole & Lodmore for giving us a very pleasant experience each time we come to visit.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    29
    5
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
walsall
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“bat hunting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We wanted something different to do for our wedding anniversary and came across bat hunting at Radipole Lake. You meet and have a free drink before having a talk about bats and handling the many bats that are found in the UK. You them follow the RSPB guides around the lake, we were lucky to be given one of the bat detectors and you walk round the lake at dusk (from 9.30pm ish), we were lucky to pick up several bats on the detector. The guides carry torches and the try to catch sight in the beams. The event finished around 11.15pm. A thoroughly entertaining and fascinating event, were looking forward to attending next year. May not be an event for families with young children.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Made Welcome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Went to the British reptile showing excellent talk and we were lucky enough to see all the British Reptiles, they aren't always findable. The visitors centre has been done up nicely and teas coffees and limited snacks and delicious local icecream available

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Birdwatching on your doorstep”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Been coming to Radipole Lake for over 20 years. First time I'd been there since the visitor centre had received a makeover. I miss the books and other merchandise that were previously available but must say the homemade apple cake was superb (and good value). Very friendly staff and volunteers as ever. People living in Weymouth don't realise what a jewel they have on their very doorstep. It is a great advert for wheelchair accessible bird(and wildlife)watching.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Watch out for swans with young ones”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

A lovely walk round this reserve. Plenty of seats and view points. At this time of year there are lots of yound ducks and swans. We were nearly all the way round the lake when we met 2 adult swans with 2 young ones on the path in front of us. No way were they going to move. They hissed and flapped their wings at us so we had no choice but to turn round and go back the way we had come.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed RSPB Weymouth Wetlands at Radipole Lake Nature Reserve also viewed

Weymouth, Dorset
Weymouth, Dorset
 

Been to RSPB Weymouth Wetlands at Radipole Lake Nature Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage RSPB Weymouth Wetlands at Radipole Lake Nature Reserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added RSPB Weymouth Wetlands at Radipole Lake Nature Reserve to your Saves list