We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok to stay in if you are deaf” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Nook Bar, Brasserie & Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Nook Bar, Brasserie & Hotel to your Saves list
The Nook Bar, Brasserie & Hotel
54-55 The Esplanade, Weymouth DT4 8TG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #154 of 161 Weymouth B&B and Inns
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Ok to stay in if you are deaf”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

On arrival the staff were friendly, and very helpful. Then we were shown into our room which was room 3, and wow what a small space luckily it was only for one night, the bed was ok, shower not too bad, it worked which was a bonus, not exactly done to a high standard, painting not done properly, damp patch on the ceiling, the windows sounded like they were open all night, the tv was miniscule and had to stand up to watch it, as the bracket did not come out far enough or tilt to get a decent view on the bed. Managed about an hour of sleep, after the music stopped around 04:30am, then was up a 6am to make a hasty retreat home, and what a joy it was to be back on the road.
I would not recommend staying here unless you are, one of those who think they are still 21 and like staying up all night. Next time I am in Weymouth it will be at a proper chain hotel!!!

Room Tip: Don't bother.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    7
    11
    16
    37
See reviews for
12
29
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

Stayed in room 8 the bed was lob sided and springs poking through ,the room freezing cold no heating, the shower trickled out and shower door broken. Load music till 3 at night the list goes on should of sleeped on the beach.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We booked a lunchtime Cocktail making session here as part of a hen weekend. It was great fun , the bar was clean and nicely laid out and the staff were very friendly. ! Would definitely recommend it for drinks and nibbles and it was reasonably priced !

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

We stayed here for one night recently. The person who greeted us and took us to our room was very pleasant, chatty and friendly. However, the room we were in was spartan, to put it mildly - there was a bed and a small dressing table, and a sort of built in wardrobe...not even a chair! Although advertised as "refurbished", if that was true, I wouldn't have liked to have seen it beforehand. The room itself was clean enough but the communal area looked like it hadn't been cleaned for months. However, the main problem was the noise. There is a nightclub underneath the hotel and the noise went on until 5am. Don't book this place expecting a quiet undisturbed night's sleep. (Seriously, we were on the top floor and the noise was unbearable). On the plus side, the view from the room was fantastic!

Room Tip: Rooms in another hotel are preferable
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

Yesterday attended a Christmas meal, it was just awful. Pea risotto looked like a large bowl of sick with peas dotted around. Sea food chowder according to my manager was off as she had to spit the mussells out , was also smelly and foul. This has to be the worst eating establishment in Weymouth.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, Hampshire, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

I attended a private 30th Birthday party booked at The Nook Brasseire , however although the venue was booked until 2am we were all asked to vacate the private area to the main bar as they did not have enough bar staff, when we protested, we were mobed by six of the the security staff who came down to the private area and asked us all to leave. Obviously protesting further, we were then escorted off the premises with police waiting outside. This was a family party with members of different age groups, Would not recommend. We also booked two rooms in the guest house, didn't sleep at all, accomodation very very basic. No heating rooms were cold. Will not use again

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

No warm welcome, no heating, take money from your account without authorisation, and a broken bed. Other peoples dirty underwear left in a draw . You can hear sneezing and coughing from other rooms as if you are in the bathroom thats connected to the room. Not even worth £45 let alone the extra £100 they took without telling us. So bad that we couldnt actually sleep there and left early. Dreadful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Nook Bar, Brasserie & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nook Bar, Brasserie & Hotel

Address: 54-55 The Esplanade, Weymouth DT4 8TG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #154 of 161 B&Bs / Inns in Weymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Nook Bar, Brasserie & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Nook Bar, Brasserie & Hotel Weymouth, Dorset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Nook Bar, Brasserie & Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.