We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zafran Indian Restaurant

Zafran Indian Restaurant
6 Bond Street, Weymouth, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #58 of 232 Restaurants in Weymouth
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

I have eaten curries all over the world and this was up there with my top ten...we had an excellent night and lovely food... the decor could do with refreshing... recommended.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    49
    14
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Sorry but nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Although the decor is nice and the Zafran certainly looks the part, I think it's the first time I've ever been to an Indian restaurant - and trust me I've been to a few - where I've left still hungry. Both myself and my brother thought the portions were a bit on the miserly side and I thought prices were quite high for this standard of Indian restaurant. In addition, although the service wasn't unfriendly, it certainly wasn't warm and welcoming. A couple of the waiters had an air of arrogance about them. Probably wouldn't go back. Simply too expensive for what was offered.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swindon
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“good authentic fare”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We visited as a party of 4. the restaurant was just less than than half full so the service was good, but most importantly the food was good. We took starters which were all nice (mixed kebab,bhajis ,pakora ,poppadums and dips). The mains were also really nice (Dansak, balti, korai,bhuna and sides of Chapati,nan, veg bhaji and mushroom bhaji.The drinks were as usual a bit expensive but we were here to eat and it was all very nice

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Lovely find!! Would visit again.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

We researched the Indians in Weymouth before booking one and we were glad we picked Zafran. The restaurant is intimate and cosy. We had a booth table. The dishes were good sizes and very reasonably priced. The service was attentive but not over bearing. A real gem!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very average.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I dined in here on my own on a Sunday evening. The staff were very pleasant and helpful, but the food was completely underwhelming. I had a mild prawn curry, it was very sweet and had a peculiar, almost soapy flavour. Despite having food warmers on the table the food was not very hot. The restaurant is very contemporary in decor and lacked atmosphere. The room was very small and I found it uncomfortable being on my own, as I felt I was listening in to other diners' conversations as there was no background music playing. The meal was reasonably priced. Next time I'm in Weymouth I think I will try one of the other Indian restaurants.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zafran Indian Restaurant also viewed

 
Weymouth, Dorset
Weymouth, Dorset
 

Been to Zafran Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zafran Indian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.