We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fosters Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Fosters Guest House to your Saves list
Fosters Guest House
3 Lennox Street, Weymouth DT4 7HB , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 168 Weymouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ruislip
2 reviews
“A lovely stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We found Fosters a great base for the Wessex Folk Festival. It is really near the Esplanade but quiet at night. We had a beautiful room at the front which had a little sitting area. Jon and Dawn made us very welcome and clearly love what they do. We are looking forward to coming back next year.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    429
    36
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
59
255
41
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

After reading the very positive reviews I have to say I was very disappointed. It is a typical terraced B&B and we were given a small room on the second floor where there was insufficient space to open our suitcase without blocking movement around the room. The bathroom is en-suite but this consists of a room within the bedroom and as such encroaches into the main room area. The bathroom itself was modern and clean but small. Its folding doors and loud fan were annoying.

The car parking is a particularly irritating feature in that you have a parking permit and have to drive around to find a space. In my case this was quite a distance away and the surrounding area made me feel uncomfortable walking through.

In summary I felt very disappointed given the positive reviews this B&B had received.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FostersGuestHouse, Owner at Fosters Guest House, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
We are really sorry we didn't meet your expectations; we always try to be transparent with our room descriptions. We are a grade 2 listed Victorian terrace with a variety of room sizes varying from a large room with a lounge area down to our small double all priced according to size and season.

As with most sea side towns parking is always restricted. We are fortunate that we can pay to belong to a parking scheme which allows our guests to park unrestricted on the streets surrounding the guest house. We appreciate that this isn't always necessarily outside our door but we are lucky that we are in a quiet residential area just off the sea front. We are sorry you felt uncomfortable leaving your car a couple of streets away. Thank you Dawn & Jon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We stayed here for two nights and Jon and Dawn made us feel right at home. We received a warm welcome and a parking permit was provided us to enable us to park. Parking is a problem in Weymouth and so this in itself was a huge benefit. The guest house is situated close to the sea front and is near several nice restaurants. A wide choice of breakfast options were available and breakfast was very good. The hosts were incredibly friendly and helpful. We left a plug there and they contacted us immediately and posted it back without delay. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We were surprised to be able to even book for one night on a bank holiday weekend but there was no problem. I would recommend anyone to stay here. People frequently write those words but they really are true. The room was lovely, Dawn and John make you feel so welcome and it is a real bonus having a parking permit which we were able to hang on to til 12md the following morning, enabling us to see our family for the morning without worrying about the car. Breakfast was really good, we didn't need to eat again until that evening!!!! We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I took my sister to Weymouth as we had never been before so didn't know exactly what to expect, it just looked very nice on google images! What initially interested me was a deal on Wowcher but this was for a different B&B and when I did my own Trip Advisor search on this location the reviews were astoundingly bad. Whilst on this page I saw nothing but excellent reviews for Dwn and John's guest house and it was the emphasis on friendly owners and comfort which convinced me to make the booking. I spoke to John on the phone and he was very nice to speak to. Everything was ready for when we arrived at noon on the Saturday and the parking permit was extremely useful. We stayed in the superior double room and it was lovely, we were very comfortable and there was no noise disturbance. The breakfast in a morning was delicious and tasted very fresh, John and Dawn made our stay a pleasure and we would definitely go back if we are evern in Weymouth again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed at Fosters for one night to attend a Wedding. It is perfectly placed and easy to get to. They are really friendly and lovely people who took an interest in our stay. The beds were very comfortable, the room was a very good size with a clean and pleasant ensuite and the breakfast was spot on.

A previous booking we had made for another guest house through Last Minute.com fell through and we were a little worried that we could not get anywhere in time for the wedding. Fosters fitted us in and even made sure we could get into the room early to change and get ready for the wedding.

All in all a great place to stay and we would recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We enjoyed a restful weekend at Fosters over the bank holiday - nothing was too much trouble for Dawn and Jon, who made us feel very welcome and offered great advice on buses and walking routes! Our room was absolutely spotless and very peaceful.
And we will be talking about the cooked breakfast for a long time to come!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fosters Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fosters Guest House

Address: 3 Lennox Street, Weymouth DT4 7HB , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 168 B&Bs / Inns in Weymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fosters Guest House is a friendly 3 star B&B, just 60 metres from Weymouth's glorious seafront. An ideal base for all the must see attractions Dorset has to offer. Fosters is within level walking distance of the town centre and harbour attractions and also convenient for both the train & coach station. We are a Victorian terrace, with a variety of room sizes, varying from a large superior room, down to our small double and single rooms, all en suite and priced according to size and season. All have a complimentary tea / coffee tray, flat screen TV, hairdryer, toiletries and towels. Price includes a full English breakfast - (Other dietary requirements catered for, by prior arrangement). Permits are available for on street parking, subject to availability. Dawn and Jon know how important your stay away from home is and aim to provide clean fresh rooms, friendly service and value for money. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Fosters Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fosters Guest House Weymouth, Dorset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fosters Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.