We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice B&B with stunning views, high standard” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Beach House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Beach House to your Saves list
The Beach House
1 & 2 Brunswick Terrace, Weymouth DT4 7RW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 161 Weymouth B&B and Inns
Fulda
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Very nice B&B with stunning views, high standard”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

The Beach House is situated directly to the sea on the esplanade, our single rooms has stunning views at the English Channel.
We stayed 5 nights in two single rooms, which shares one bathroom. All rooms are spotless clean, nice furnished, equipped with basin, tea and coffee making facilities, freeview telly and free wifi. Joy and Laura are very kind and helpful, the breakfast has rich variety and was very tasty.
We loved our hole stay at the Beach House, there's nothing to criticise.
There's no own car park, but you'll find a space in a short walking distance, in low season it was easy to find a space next to the entrance.
The Beach House is a great start for exploring Weymouth, the Isle of Portland and the hole Jurassic Coast.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    14
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
13
43
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Camborne, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

Like any pretty seaside town the best view is looking at it, so why stay in the middle of it?
The Beach House is set on the East end of the esplanade on the end of the line of hotels.
This gives it the perfect view down the beach to the town ( unlike the others in the row which just face out ), It's just a 10 min pleasant stroll, while being far enough away to keep it quiet.

Weymouth is an old town designed for tourists coming by train, it never will have the parking for everyone to come by car, but the hotel also benefits from a quirk of the rules which means parking in the bays in the triangle is allowed which the signs wouldn't suggest.
We stayed on the bank holiday weekend and had no trouble, however you will need to be able to parallel park ;)

To the hotel it's self.
It's very clean and well presented, as soon as you get there you know you picked the right one. The staff are genuinely warm, welcoming and have great knowledge of the area.

The stairs, don't get the problem myself, it's an old building, their fine, yes the very top ones are a little tight on the turn, but if you have no trouble walking it's fine, just don't let the misses do the packing.
The room is very well finished and clean, the view from our room ( 7 ) was superb.
Comfortable bed, all electrics required, modern bathroom. The windows are single pane sash type, but as a very light sleeper noise never bothered me once.
Just outside is the beach, really!, it's the width of a very quiet road away, what more do you want?!

Then in the morning there's breakfast, you couldn't want for anything better cooked, it's all perfect, the bacon, never had it so good and i considered myself a bacon ace!
as said on the other review even the butters the perfect temp.
But you can mix and match anything you want if you want.

All this and it's one of the keenest priced too!

The Beach House really did add to just how good our weekend in Weymouth was, and is THE perfect base.

Room Tip: Room 7 for the best view if your not unrealistic about stairs in old buildings, it really is fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

We booked at the Beach House having read the positive reviews on this and other hotel and guest house sites, and we were not disappointed.

Our room, which was facing the sea front, was immaculately clean and remarkably quiet, and the expensive looking velvet blackout curtains made for a good nights sleep.

The proprietors were very welcoming, extremely knowledgeable of the local area and its attractions and provided extremely well cooked and varied breakfasts suitable for all tastes.

Highly recommended.

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

Our break at the beachhouse was for 3 nites,Joy and Laura,were very nice people,who looked after use very well. Our room,which was room no 3,was perfecf.Great sea veiw,and very well presented,bed really nice,big bathroom,and room made up every morn.Breakfast was fab,would go back again,and once again it was lovely to meet Joy and Laura.Thank you both for making are break so nice,as this is what the doctor had ordered for me .I'm glad Elaine my parntner enjoyed her break too. We will certainly be going back and high;y recommend it!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
faringdon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

We arrived with nothing booked and wanted to be out of town but in walking distance of everything and with a sea view.1st door tried was booked up so then tried The Beach House. Greeted by very friendly host who explained that there was a room free but had shower problem over the weekend. We were showed room which was spotlessly clean and overlooked prom and beach! and we were offered room at reduced rate. Our host also found us a parking space close to B & B which was most acceptable as the rain had decided to arrive with us.
Breakfast was very acceptable - various choice and perfectly presented. And the shower
behaved itself! Would recommend to family and friends but would make them aware of steep stairs which were also quite narrow.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2011

After reading the previous comments, my partner, friends and I decided to travel anyway, and we were very pleased indeed. Such a warm and friendly greeting awaited us in a fantastic little B&B right by the sea. The room had such a warm, welcoming feel to it with great views over the promenade and the sea.

The owners are so friendly and more importantly genuine, breakfast was fantastic, we were not rushed out and more importantly, had such a good nights sleep.

We will definitely be staying again, and are suggesting to friends and family if they go to Weymouth.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wolverhampton
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2010

Before booking the Beach House... I emailed them and also had two telephone conversations as I was concerned because by mom has recently had an operation and is walking with two sticks... We were assured that there were approximately 14 steps and a handrail..... there were.... but they were a maximum of 2 feet wide, very narrow steps with a bend halfway... my mom had to come down them backwards on her hands and knees and whilst we were there another guest fell down the bottom steps....Also one of the beds in our family room was completely not functional (it had collapsed on the one side) and when we mentioned this we were informed 'we did know but we have not had time to replace it yet'... When I questioned paying the full price for a nights stay in this bed... (during which my daughter had a really uncomfortable night) I was advised by one of the proprietors 'not to pay but don't bother coming back here again'.... As if!!!! I have to be fair and say the other proprietor apologised and said the person who was rude...was not feeling well.....! We paid for the breakfast which we were always willing to do...We are a family who always see the good in things and were made to feel very uncomfortable...we were not treated well at all...

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRLC, Owner at The Beach House, responded to this review, September 27, 2010
We are disappointed that this reviewer did not enjoy their stay at our guest house however we want to respond to some of the comments in this review.
We have a short accessibility statement on our website and would suggest that people with mobility difficulties read this prior to booking with us. That said we do have many guests who stay with us despite having some mobility difficulties.
We provided the correct information to this reviewer about the stairs in this listed building. We never saw or were made aware of the reviewers Mom having to come down the stairs as described. In fact having seen the large size of their own room, the daughters tried hard to get Mom to join them in that room on the second floor – double the number of stairs to climb. Mom refused.
We have not been made aware of any guest falling down the bottom steps so are concerned that this statement has been made.
When the reviewer complained about the mattress, we advised that we did intend to purchase some new single mattress’s (and have done so) but had not been advised previously that this bed was uncomfortable by anyone sleeping there.
Having noted the large size of the room provided to them, and with Mom staying in her single room on the first floor, we were then asked to accommodate a fourth person in the reviewers room and agreed to do so at a discounted rate. (The fourth person was apparently arranged as a surprise and it was fortunate that the room that they were accommodated in was large enough to take another person).
We did understand these guests to be quite happy here until asking for a further discount for the extra person, who had an uncomfortable night on a soft mattress. We understood from what was being asked that their expectation was that we should have allowed the fourth person to stay free of charge. As this person had full use of all facilities in the room and a full breakfast we believe a small charge was not unreasonable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beach House

Address: 1 & 2 Brunswick Terrace, Weymouth DT4 7RW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 161 B&Bs / Inns in Weymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Beach House Weymouth, Dorset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Beach House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.