We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, stylishly furnished” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Roundhouse Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Roundhouse Hotel to your Saves list
Roundhouse Hotel
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   1 The Esplanade, Weymouth DT4 8EA, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
BEST ONLINE RATES HERE!
Ranked #23 of 168 Weymouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dorset
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Perfect location, stylishly furnished”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Keith, the new owner, has made a big effort to create something a bit different here - and he has succeeded. The building itself is in a great spot with views to the beach and harbour, and is graced with the beautiful bay windows that make Weymouth so attractive. We had a really comfortable stay in an individually styled room, large pieces of art on the walls, lots of wardrobe/drawer space, very comfy chairs to look out onto the bay, excellent quality of tea/coffee with biscuits, complementary water, good quality bathroom products, hairdryer - all in all, very good.

We only had the continental breakfast - very nice with fresh fruit, cereals, yoghurt, toast and croissants.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith M, Owner at Roundhouse Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to review the Roundhouse.I was glad to read that you enjoyed your stay and I hope that we will be able to welcome you back to Weymouth soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    37
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
164
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
hertfordshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Just returned from the Roundhouse. We had room 1 which had views of both the sea and harbour. It was a great location with great walks. Convient location for all aspects that Weymouth has to offer. Nothing was too much trouble, special little touches are appreciated. Personally enjoyed the unusual decor which gives the place an inviduality. We appreciated the help with luggage and Keith was helpful and available at all times, as said service at its best. We put average for sleep but we think that is a very personal point of view as we like a soft bed which is not the norm for b + b/hotels .

Room Tip: Only know rooms 1 and 2 and if you want large rooms with great views these are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith M, Owner at Roundhouse Hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time and trouble to review the Roundhouse - it's much appreciated. I was very glad to read how much you enjoyed your stay, and I was pleased that you appreciate our individuality! As you know I was very sorry that the bed in your room wasn't quite to your liking - I'll definitely have a look out for the memory foam mattress toppers you mentioned. I hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the Roundhouse soon.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, Wiltshire
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

My wife and I had a most enjoyable two night break - would be more than happy to have stayed longer and have recommended it to all our friends and family.
Superb location and lovely views. Excellent full English breakfast. Clean and comfortable.
Nothing is too much trouble for Keith the owner.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith M, Owner at Roundhouse Hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review for the Roundhouse. I was very glad to read that you enjoyed your stay and I was particularly pleased to read that you have recommended us to others. Word of mouth is very important for us. I hope to see you at the Roundhouse again soon!
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincolnshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

we have just returned from a two night break at the roundhouse,this hotel is clean,bright with all the comforts you could wish for.The views from room 2 are amazing overlooking the entire bay and if thats not enough theres the harbour views too.breakfast was very nice ,this hotel is well positioned at the end of the seafront and harbour.we will definatly be returning to this top quality hotel.

Room Tip: room 2 for stunning views of the bay and harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith M, Owner at Roundhouse Hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to review the Roundhouse.It was great to read how much you enjoyed your stay and I hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the Roundhouse soon!
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We would definitely return to this well-positioned hotel with it's amazing views. The owner made great efforts to ensure we had a good stay and cooks THE BEST freshly cooked (huge!) English breakfast. The interior decor is really interesting with lots of thoughtful extra little details.

Room Tip: Stay in room 2 or 4 for doubly-good views - both the beach out front and the harbour from the side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith M, Owner at Roundhouse Hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to review the Roundhouse. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and particularly glad that you enjoyed the breakfast! I look forward to seeing you at the Roundhouse again soon.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

I came here with my husband and children on the 7th to the 10th of April. Our stay at the Roundhouse was for 3 nights and we had rooms 5 and 6,these rooms were very clean and comfortable with great views of harbour with tall ships and the lovely beach views also. Breakfast was enjoyable and Keith the owner was very friendly and helpful. It was great to have the parking permit(£5 per day) which was ideal for parking locally, I would highly recommend the Roundhouse when visiting Weymouth if it is not already FULLY BOOKED!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith M, Owner at Roundhouse Hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to review the Roundhouse. I was very glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mere, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Lovely large room with windows on both sides, beach and harbour. The nice touch was the small table with 2 comfortable chairs to sit and look out over Weymouth esplanade. Good firm double bed with a warm quilt. Decoration was a bit eclectic but clean and warm. Good shower room. Very good full breakfast, plenty of tea and toast as well. A bit of a trek up to the third floor with luggage if you are not in good shape. The reason for 4* is that you have to pay for parking on top, other hotels in area don't charge. But might go back again as location is good and it's not too hard to find parking close by.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith M, Owner at Roundhouse Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to review the Roundhouse. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and I'm glad that you were able to appreciate the views that our dual aspect rooms offer.
Every hotel has a selling point. A couple of hotels in Weymouth have a gym, there are some that offer very limited numbers of free parking permits, but I believe I am right in saying that due to our location and the design of the building, one of our attractions is in being the only hotel in Weymouth with all of our uniquely furnished and decorated rooms offering views of both Weymouth Bay AND the historic 17th century harbour.
If we have one of our parking permits available (and like most smaller hotels/B&Bs we only have 2) we make a small charge of just £5.00 per 24 hours - a massive saving on the pay and display price.

Once again thank you for sharing your thoughts and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Roundhouse in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Roundhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roundhouse Hotel

Address: 1 The Esplanade, Weymouth DT4 8EA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 168 B&Bs / Inns in Weymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Roundhouse Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only hotel in Weymouth to boast views over the golden sands of Weymouth Bay AND the historic 17th century harbour from ALL the bedrooms,this boutique property is ideally located just a short stroll from the centre of the town. All of the spacious, stylish & uniquely decorated rooms offer en- suite shower rooms, free WiFi, flat-screen TVs, iPod/iPhone docking stations and tea & coffee making facilities. Room rates include a substantial continental breakfast. Excellent cooked breakfasts using local produce are available at a supplement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, T4B, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Roundhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roundhouse Hotel Weymouth, Dorset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roundhouse Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.