We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Floods Restaurant

Floods Restaurant
19 Custom House Quay, Weymouth DT4 8BG, England
01305 772270
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 205 restaurants in Weymouth
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Brilliant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We went as a party of 6 adults. We had cracked crab claws for starters, I had skate wing with mussels for main and white chocolate cheesecake for dessert but was fab. We all enjoyed our food. The service was excellent. Well done to the chef! Would certainly eat here again x

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    284
    66
    19
    6
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
andover
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Dissapointing, compared to the other reviews”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We chose this restaurant because of the reviews that it has had on this website (which are usually spot on), however we felt a bit let down. Whilst everything was ok, it wasnt exceptional. As you would expect the majority of the food on the menu was fish, whilst they all sounded amazing (sea bass with spinach and sweet chilli sauce or garlic crab claws) when they arrived they tasted rather bland, not unpleasant, just nothing amazing.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Food to die for”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We are very lucky to live locally, and having found Floods we are regular visitors. Why? It is the best fish restaurant in Weymouth. One must always book as even in winter they are always booked solid. Does this explain anything? It has to be said that I'm a massive fish fancier, but my wife prefers meat dishes. Floods caters very well for both of us. So we started with scallops for my wife and a large bowl of mussels for me, my wife then had a beautiful beef strogonoff and I had the crab claws, these were served with a side dish of fantastic dauphinois potatoes, red cabbage and carrots. This was followed by almagnac and prune creme brulee and a pannacotta all washed down with a lovely bottle of white wine. The ambience of the restaurant is greatly enhanced by the very friendly staff who are very good at explaining the dishes if necessary, and if customers do come in having not booked they will always try to accomodate them by perhaps taking a phone number and if a table becomes empty earlier than they thought they will ring the people and offer it to them; if this is not possible they will recommend other restaurants to try. This restaurant is a must for all seafood lovers!
Date of visit 23/11/12

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“You will not be disappointed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

You may well need to book early to get in. Good choice of fresh fish but also caters for meat eaters. Superbly presented food. Premises leave a bit to be desired, no character utilitarian. Friendly and experienced staff. A pleasure. Definitely on my list of places to return to.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Very generous portions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We were lucky enough to be be offered a table that was booked for 9pm if we were finished by 7pm - two hours would be plenty of time for dinner- as theywere full really. I'd chosen Floods because of the reviews here and because we like fish. I had butterflied sardines to start; my husband the crab salad- both came with a very nice salad. My husband had a good sized portion of crab meat. For mains I chose skate, hubby, sea bass. They were both very tasty but mine consisted of two meaty skate wings and it was just too much. One would have been adequate for slighly less money. I left virtually all of one wing and I'm not a waif who worries about every morsel passing my lips. I hate having to put good food in the bin.
The side vegetables were OK - the potato dauphinoise was over peppered by far unfortunately and the red cabbage a little dull.
There were obviously regulars coming into the restaurant who love it - it does attract a mainly older clientele, or did last night.
We will be down to Weymouth once a year from now on and will probably give other restaurants a go next time.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Floods Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Floods Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Floods Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.