We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Anchorage

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Anchorage to your Saves list
The Anchorage
7 The Esplanade, Weymouth DT4 8EB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #83 of 168 Weymouth B&B and Inns
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

My husband and I and my two teenage daughters, have just returned from 5 blissful nights at the anchorage guest house in Weymouth , our stay was perfect from beginning to end, our rooms had fabulous views , ours overlooking the lovely harbour and boats , our daughters overlooking the beach,the service from Michael and Diane was first class, lovely people who made us feel very welcome, we actually didn't want to leave and we shall definitely stay here again , thank you Michael and Diane for a wonderful holiday .

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WeymouthAnchorMan, Owner at The Anchorage, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for your review, we are glad that in some small way we managed to make your holiday in Weymouth a memorable one and especially so that you felt very comfortable and welcomed for your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    9
    0
    3
    6
See reviews for
16
33
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Deeply enjoyed are stay at the Anchorage. Diane & Michael made us very welcome and comfortable during our stay! Smile!

Keep in mind each breakfast is cooked to order so service can appear to be a little slow but the ever so slight wait is worth while! If you're in more of a hurry at breakfast time just tell Mike what you want as soon as you enter the room as he's more than happy to help.

Diane is extremely down to earth and straight taking with an excellent sense of humour. Anything you want to know just ask her. If she doesn't know it she'll tell you straight! One day it was raining heavy outside and another guest asked what the weather was like today? Diane leaned forward and looked out the window and said I think its going to rain! lol!

Are stay was longer than most just under a week and we had lots of time to settle in, observe and get to know Diane & Michael a little more!

So to sum up are Holiday experience at the Anchorage we would just simply say - We would stay there again in the future! Many thanks Wayne, Rosie & Annie-mae xxx

Room Tip: Room 2 had a lovely Seaview!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letchworth, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

My friend and I were going sea fishing on a charter boat from Weymouth and we booked at The Anchorage approx two weeks beforehand. We had booked a twin room for one night and gave credit card details as confirmation of booking. We were surprised but pleased to have booked a room, as this was one night in the middle of a Bank Holiday weekend (Saturday 25th May) and everywhere else we had looked was fully booked.

After a great days fishing on the boat, we were both looking forward to checking into our B & B, and having a relaxing evening and not having to drive the 160 miles back home. However, upon arrival at the B & B we were told that our room had been given away to another party.

When asked what we were supposed to do, Diane (the owner) replied, "you are going to have to look around for somewhere else". She did not apologise or indeed seem bothered about our predicament. Diane did however, join me for a short walk along the street to try to find alternative accommodation but everywhere was fully booked. She then offered to try and help us find somewhere else via Google! But as it was a busy Bank holiday weekend my friend and I decided to waste no time and start driving around and looking ourselves. Thankfully we found a charming B & B (The Spindrift) overlooking Weymouth Bay. We booked at the Spindrift, I then received a phone call from Diane and she stated that she had found us an alternative B & B via Google. I told Diane that we had booked elsewhere and we did not require any further help.

We do not know the reason for our room at the Anchorage being given to others (perhaps somebody wanted a longer stay), but how would Diane have felt if we had attempted to drive the long journey home exhausted from our days fishing and had been involved in some kind of accident?

We will never book here again and will not recommend anyone else to either. Which is a shame as I am a very frequent visitor to Weymouth with both my family and friends but there are thankfully many reliable B & B's to stay at in Weymouth.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WeymouthAnchorMan, Owner at The Anchorage, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
On this occasion we were double booked, this was due to trying an online booking service which we have since cancelled due to problems, but hands up we did make a mistake with this booking.

That said the reviewer, apart from exaggerating the situation 100% and being completely dishonest fails to mention that we were completely sorry that the situation had arisen. My wife walked around the other guest houses trying to find accommodation and I spent 30 minutes on the internet and telephone until finally we found suitable accommodation for them which we then booked and paid for ourselves.

This review is a classic example of how this site can be abused and just shows you should not take everything you read on here as true.

The bottom line is we made a mistake, put it right at no expense to the guests and have taken steps to prevent it happening again - we are sorry for being human!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evenley
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

B&B was in a perfect location, directly opposite the beach so very convenient. Lovely, friendly couple run the place and were extremely helpful, however, the place does need modernising and updating. Carpets in room 9 need replacing and the shower in our en suite was pathetic. Sorry for the negatives, hate doing this but I must be honest. Times are hard and we understand how B&B's are struggling, therefore we would go back to stay there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Me and my husband stayed only for one night, but we had a lovely time. We had a comfortable room with a great view of the seafront. We enjoyed a nicely cooked breakfast in the morning. The host's were really friendly and made us feel very welcome. We will definitely stay again next time we visit weymouth.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warminster, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

"Recommend this place to all "
14th May 2014
We stopped at the Anchorage following a recommendation from friends who thought this place was excellent both in terms of standards & service. Diane is an outstanding landlady along with her family who puts the customers needs at the forefront of her business. She has great local knowledge & a real passion for peoples needs and nothing is too much trouble.

The hotel is clean, our room was a good size with a really nice en suite. Great view of the seafront & a good location central to everything you might need. The breakfast was cooked to order , very filling and very well presented .
I have paid more money without a full breakfast included to stay in a premier in with the view of trucks from my bedroom window in a car park on the M6 . Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and we will be booking there again .

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I looked at places to stay with our dogs. I booked the anchorage and gave my debit card details,some weeks later the money still hadn't been taken and we didn't have a confirmation email. After that I made various communications with both the owners. Our rooms were on the top floor,which was a bit hard work with 2 dogs, but we did know that when we booked. On arrival we were told that we were not allowed to leave the dogs alone in the room,and my friend pointed out how would we eat breakfast then. Rooms were nice with stunning views, but tea making facilities were poor. There was mould in the milk sachet. Breakfast was good though. We met some people staying in the hotel and they were given the family room, but were told that if they used the single bed they would be charged! I think the customer service needs to improve, because if you stay in a guest house you must be made to feel welcome. I have stayed in many places in Weymouth and this was the worst.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WeymouthAnchorMan, Owner at The Anchorage, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
This review is one that we were expecting from the moment the booking was made. Confirmation of the booking was given verbally immediately; the guests were told that they would receive further confirmation once the deposit had been paid. This guest is correct in that we did not take the money for several weeks but she fails to mention the reason for that was because originally we were given the wrong card details and on subsequent occasions the guest, despite booking two rooms and agreeing the total price then tried to renegotiate the amount to be paid. We thought this had been amicably sorted by the guests paying their bills separately despite this being one booking. With regards to leaving dogs unattended in rooms we are, unfortunately, not a free boarding kennels and all the responsible dog owners have not tried to leave their dogs unattended. Guests are advised at the time of booking of our dog rules and informed their can leave their dog in their room for breakfast; this information is on our website and I have recently amended it for clarity. I am at a loss to understand how the tea facilities are poor, we provide adequate tea/coffee, milk, sugar and biscuits - to Visit Britain standards, we also provide a further 7 varieties of tea in the dining room for guest's use. We have in the past provided additional tea/coffee to suit dietary requirements. I think the mold in the milk sachet is poetic license but will concede this is possible, all the tea/coffee making facilities are replenished after guests leave and it is feasible that inadvertently the milk seal was broken - however it would not have been in there long enough to go moldy. Again, this guest has been economical with here views; the guests who had the family room were originally in a double but requested to move to a lower floor room, they were told the only room available was a family room and we would let them use that provided they did not use the room as a twin as this would incur additional charges, realistically you do not book a room for double use and then sleep in all the available beds! If these guests were made to feel unwelcome I would question why prior to leaving they spent an additional half hour in our lounge relaxing and chatting saying how they had enjoyed their stay. As always it is rather unfortunate that their concerns were not made at the time of their stay when they could have been rectified or addressed. Whether or not we are the worst place in Weymouth is their opinion, however, if you look at our other reviews, 98% of our guests would disagree. Conclusively the only way to be 100% sure is to come and stay with us and you will be surprised at how wrong this review is.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Anchorage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anchorage

Address: 7 The Esplanade, Weymouth DT4 8EB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 168 B&Bs / Inns in Weymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Anchorage is a family-run guesthouse offering a comfortable and relaxing stay. Situated just a 'stones throw' from both the golden sands of Weymouth beach and the picturesque 17th-century harbour. Perfectly located by the Condor ferry terminal and the Pavilion Theatre. Just a few minutes walk will see you in the town centre with its many pubs, restaurants, major shopping outlets and other attractions. Come and enjoy a relaxing stress-free stay with us in one of the best locations in town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Anchorage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Anchorage Weymouth, Dorset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Anchorage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.