We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay ~ Best in Weymouth!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harlequin Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Harlequin Guest House to your Saves list
Harlequin Guest House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   9 Carlton Road South, Weymouth DT4 7PL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #68 of 161 Weymouth B&B and Inns
Rainham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Stay ~ Best in Weymouth!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

Mike proprieter great guy, laid back but at the same time prepared to put himself out to accomodate. Breakfast should def be put up for awards ~ best since my Mum cooked for me.
Room large and very comfortable with fab bath! Lots to read if wanted + cd's & games.
Will stay again and highly recommend anytime.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
occakouy, Owner at Harlequin Guest House, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Very kind of you to say so. thanks very much
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    26
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
22
35
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gillingham Kent
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

Arrived exhausted after long drive in bad weather to be met by Mike a lovely gentleman offering refreshments and help with extremely heavy bags.
Room was large, spotlessly clean as was bathroom with lovely deep bath.
Breakfasts delicious and exactly as asked for.
Heating on at all appropriate times and back up heating available {though not needed}.
Mike the owner is a warm, humourus man with a real people rapport as is Jenny who helps him out. When circumstances meant a need to extend my stay, because he was full Mike looked for alternative acommodation himself.
Highly recommend this guest house as being a very reasonably priced guest house with standards you could expect at double the price. I'm so impressed I've booked in again for the next time I'm in the area.

Room Tip: Tell Mike exactly what you need. I'm disabled and Mike did everything possible to be off assista...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
occakouy, Owner at Harlequin Guest House, responded to this review, May 10, 2012
Thank you Lucy and Mack. Jenny says hi and thanks for the choccies.

Perhaps I should charge you twice as much at the end of the month !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontypool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

The proprieter MIke was very welcoming tea or coffee offered on arrival.The room was really lovely ground floor room 6. very spacious spotlessly clean and the realbonus of having a small decked area for my use.Breakfast was enjoyable nothing too much trouble.Would definitly stay again

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
occakouy, Owner at Harlequin Guest House, responded to this review, May 10, 2012
Thanks Debbie, see you again I hope
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daventry, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

From booking to leaving the whole experience was excellent. The owner Mike is lovely and the rooms are more than comfortable. We would recommend the guest house to anyone, we have stop in numerous guest houses in weymouth but found this one to be the best. Not only for the fabulous breakfast but also the location. With it only being a five minute walk to the sea front it saves you parking fees.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
occakouy, Owner at Harlequin Guest House, responded to this review, May 10, 2012
Thanks Claire hope you come back again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, Devon
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012 via mobile

Really lovely guest house. Mike was very welcoming and polite on arrival and showed me to the room. Later my fiancé arrived. We had a massive bed and a wry clean comfortable room. Would have liked to have stayed longer. Only thing I could pick at would be the oven baked hash brown instead of fried with the breakfast but that is incredibly minor! Breakfast was a nice size hot and tasty. Would definitely recommend it to family and friends. Great value for money and great proximity to town.
Thanks Mike :)

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
occakouy, Owner at Harlequin Guest House, responded to this review, May 10, 2012
Thank you glad you enjoyed it.

I pan fry the hash browns but dont use much oil as they already have a high fat content to stop them falling apart. I suspect you are accostomed to deep fried browns.

Always happy to cook a breakfast to a customers preference if possible but of course you have to mention it to me when I take your order.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks, England
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012 via mobile

A very warm welcome on arrival.Good value for our family of 3. Stayed in room 2 which was comfy, Cosy and clean.A good hearty breakfast with friendly service.All in all a good stay.Many thanks x

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
occakouy, Owner at Harlequin Guest House, responded to this review, May 10, 2012
Hello, thanks for your review.
I do enjoy catering for families and make an effort to keep the prices sensible.
Glad you liked it here
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

Just arrived back from 4 nights stay. Lovely welcome offered tea or coffee and biscuits. then showed to our room. Room was spotless and cosy, spacious and lovely bathroom. Loved the fact the room was nice and cosy really pleasant to sleep. Mike made us feel very welcome chatted about area etc and showed an interest in what we were doing during the day. The breakfast was lovely and set us up for the day nothing was too much trouble. It was nice that breakfast was also 9ish rather than having to be up at the crack of dawn. The walk into town takes about 10mins but to get to the sea front roughly 5-6mins so its a lovely walk into Town.

Room Tip: we had top room number 5 was lovely large windows to see all across weymouth and really pleasant and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
occakouy, Owner at Harlequin Guest House, responded to this review, May 10, 2012
Thank you glad you enjoyed it here and good to see that you thought Chillis is good too.It's one of my favourite restaurants.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Harlequin Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harlequin Guest House

Address: 9 Carlton Road South, Weymouth DT4 7PL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 161 B&Bs / Inns in Weymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Harlequin Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A good value Four Star Guest House in a pleasant Victorian house with spacious well appointed rooms. Free off road parking for up to five cars. Free hi speed internet access.Particularly suited to familes but also catering for couples and single guests in en suite rooms.Just five minutes walk from the superb beach and ten minutes from town.Conveniently situated for local shops retaurants and pubs.Within easy travelling distance of the Ferry Terminaland local trading estates.Business travellers welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Harlequin Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harlequin Guest House Hotel Weymouth
Harlequin Guest House Weymouth, Dorset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harlequin Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.