We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Views” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Chatsworth

Save Saved
You added The Chatsworth to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Chatsworth
14 The Espanade, Weymouth DT4 8EB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #67 of 157 Weymouth B&B and Inns
Mere, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice Views”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Nice room to the rear overlooking the harbour. Room a little small and so was the en-suite. I was a pity that there was no way to leave the balcony door open securely as the room was a little stuffy. Breakfast was good. Probably would not stay again but a very central location.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    16
    3
    1
    6
See reviews for
8
36
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

location was fantastic.down the quiet part of the sea front. we stayed in the lovely room 4 over looking the harbour.hotel was walking distance to everything.breakfast was great, the best full english we have had in a long while. only negative thing i can say is that the hall way and stairs smelt a bit smoky (cigarette smoke). however the rooms didnt.

Room Tip: room 4 is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We had a room overlooking the harbor with a little balcony, it was absolutely delightful. Dave the host was very kind and even provided us with free parking passes, and it is not easy to find parking in Weymouth. The breakfast times were very flexible and the breakfast itself was very good, especially the fish choice. There was also quite a well stocked bar if you fancied a drink before or after dinner.
The Wi-Fi was free and easy to access. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We were pleasantly surprised by the size of the room (at the top of the house). It had a new bathroom which although small was very agreeable. Dave, the owner was very helpful and served an excellent breakfast. Easy to park outside and we were lent a parking permit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

This hotel is lovley and our room no 2 was clean and comfortable.The breakfast was of very good quality and nothing was to much trouble. We were so impressed that the owners Dave and Lyn trusted us to help ourselves in the bar and write in the bar book what we had. This hotel does not deserve a negative review and I would ignore it. Dave and Lynn and all staff make it home from home i even walked round with no shoes on i felt so relaxed. Thankyou and see you again Elaine andJim Smith Southampton.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

My husband and I have just spent a four night break at this hotel. We stayed in room No.4 with balcony overlooking the harbour.
The view was beautiful. The room was very clean and nicely decorated, the bed was so comfortable. Tea making facilities in the room, that were stocked up daily. plenty of storage space. Hair dryer was provided in one of the draws.
We had the full english breakfast every morning which was delicious. Other choices of breakfast available. Plenty choices of cereal, fresh fruit and yogurts.
Staff very friendly.
Position of the hotel is great. As I suffer with arthritis in my legs it was great not walking too far to enjoy all the shops in the town. 2 min walk. Macdonalds, chip shops restuarants all on the door step. Beach over the road. Theatre over road. Harbour round the back of hotel. Parking is available but may have to go round the block a few times to get a space in front of hotel. It can be done with patience.
Have just read the previous review from HARPLB. He is picky. Boats do not go out at night. We had no problem with any noise at night. Quite the opposite very quiet. Yes during the day you can hear boat engines ect. Thats what you get with a room by a harbour! No there is no lift. Which I was aware of before I booked, as I checked! Stairs are a pain when you have bad legs but I was prepared for that as it was well worth the effort for the fantastic room we wanted. Perhaps he should have gone to the Rex to start with.
We would go to the Chatsworth again and again.
I have just read the previous review from

Room Tip: If you smoke have room 4. As you can sit on balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

I am not a picky person. Forget that there was no lift, that the furnishings and carpet are tired. How about no hot water or - NO water? Very noisy balcony room overlooking harbour. Great view, but had to leave doors open, so heard street/harbour noise all night. Breakfast was good, Dave helped us make dinner reservations and was most helpful. However, the guests are not welcomed in the public areas at night - definitely owners only , though they said it was open 24 hours. Overpriced for what you get. I just checked the Rex on the Esplanade - cheaper and with lift .

I expected a little quirkness, but this was eewww, yuck quircky .

Room Tip: Esplanade view is larger room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chatsworthpolly, Owner at The Chatsworth, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
We were very upset and surprised at this awful review but there are a few points we would like to reply to.
The reason for the lack of water was due to your travell companions- leaving the shower running and draining the whole water system upsetting all our clients and not just yourselves.

I am astounded about the comments about the noise, the room you were in is our most popular room (see traveller tips) no one has ever complained about the noise we have only ever had comments about how peaceful it is.

The bar is never open 24 hour, our guests are always very welcome , you yourself came in for a drink after your evening out, I personally found your comment about" Owners Only" very offensive and untrue.

As for having a lift, we only have 8 rooms and you were only on the second floor!!!

It`s a shame you did`nt check with your friends who booked your room as your requirements of a 24 hour bar and lift were not met

All the staff try very hard to make sure our guests have an enjoyable stay, and going by the majority of reviews we do succeed- but not in this case.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Chatsworth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chatsworth

Address: 14 The Espanade, Weymouth DT4 8EB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 157 B&Bs / Inns in Weymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Chatsworth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chatsworth Weymouth, Dorset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chatsworth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.