We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bar staff shocking” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Moby Dick's

Moby Dick's
85 The Esplanade, Weymouth DT4 7AT, England
01305 777697
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #105 of 205 restaurants in Weymouth
Price range: $8 - $22
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: One of the most unique places to dine in Weymouth, Moby Dicks is the place to come for great fish and chips, enjoy a cocktail or beer with friends on our large sun terrace, have a family meal and let the kids choose from their very own Mini Moby menu or even for a celebration as guess what.... we can seat up to 100 people in our large restaurant, ideal for parties, coach tours, or office get togethers!We are open from 11am to 11pm daily.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Bar staff shocking”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I are locals come In now and then. Just feel like everything is so repetitive as in the music. Danny and the goosemen. It's boring there on like every week. The food was absloutley amazing but the bar staff are so stuck up and ignorant it is unbelievable so I won't be using your pub again for the fact of the rudeness of the floor and bar staff. Shocking

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

61% Recommend
    38
    32
    22
    16
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burnham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good pub grub”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Despite looking a little shabby from the outside, this is a friendly, family type pub, where kids are very welcome. The food is reasonably priced and of a good quality. I had fish and chips which was brilliant. Kids menu is reasonable and varied and the staff are very welcoming and cheerful. They have Sky TV for sports but it is not intrusive.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Moby Dicks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

the fact that it was child friendly and the food was bought wuth a smile the staff were friendly. the food was beautiful and whats more it was piping hot on a score of 1 to 5 it would definaltly get a 5

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Top Contributor
281 reviews 281 reviews
208 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
“Sadly gone down hill since it opened in 2009”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

When Moby Dick's first opened it offered good pub food plus it's speciality fish n' chips in 3 portion sizes. Sadly it seems to have gone down hill more recently, it looks tatty and tired inside, the menus are well worn, the staff disinterested and the food is now at best very average. We last ate there with friends who had specifically wanted to go there. They both had "whale end" fish n' chips which is £10.95 but it seemed to have been re-heated and the chips were not hot. I had Moby`s Ultimate Fish Pie - what there was of it was nice - but at £9.95 is was poor VFM. I think a makeover or refresh of the place is long overdue!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Poor”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Poor service food was tasteless and boring. Coupled to expensive drinks and poor pricing. I would not eat at this pub again. Expensive and poor quality food

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moby Dick's also viewed

 

Been to Moby Dick's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moby Dick's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.