We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GOOD ALL ROUND B AND B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gloucester House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Gloucester House to your Saves list
Gloucester House
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   96 The Esplanade, Weymouth DT4 7AT, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 168 Weymouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“GOOD ALL ROUND B AND B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

I found this accommodation very friendly and inviting. Breakfast was good and room was very clean. Jeff and Chris Thanks again for a wonderful stay.I will definitely be booking again. Weymouth is a very nice place to spend a break.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    15
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
37
67
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

just came back front weekend in Weymouth, booked into here, received a warm welcome and showed to our room, wow what a lovely view it was, room with sea view. brill location. room was lovely and clean. breakfast was very good. if we stay in Weymouth again sure to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

My school group was welcomed very warmly by the Gloucester House. We nearly took up the entire hotel and only stayed for one night, they were extremely generous to let us stay! The rooms were spacious and were perfect for our needs. It was really convenient that they had multiple beds in one room so a few of us could share! The couple who owns the hotel were very kind and were quick to help us with any thing. The provided hot breakfast was also delicious and quick! The location is also prime. It is right on the esplanade and has multiple restaurants within a 5 minute walk. We stayed in the off-season so we did not see the full potential of the beach but the view was beautiful and would be an exceptional hotel for a summer stay because the beach is just across the street.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

A warm welcome a good choice for breakfast, we had a room with a view of the bay WOW and what a view. Easy walking distance to the town centre ( 5 mins ) and cross the road and your on the beach. We stayed for 7 nights and found all the staff really friendly and helpfull, nothing was to mutch trouble even when we turned up late for breakfast, OOPS. It was our first time in a B@B and our room was well looked after as we where too. Yep i would certainly go back there and regreted having to go home. And NOPE ime not related, Honest.

Room Tip: A room at the front with a veiw of the bay and harbour mouth.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Everyone at the Gloucester House was extremely welcoming. I had a great stay here for one night. They were so kind to our big group and made our short stay as comfortable as possible. Breakfast was also delicious! The views are also amazing as well.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I've been taking groups of students to Dorset for a number of years, and am pleased to say that since Geoff and Christine have taken over the Gloucester House hotel, our experience has been nothing short of fantastic. We've received the warmest of welcomes, the comfiest of beds and the most delicious breakfasts. They've been able to handle our large groups with expertise and made our students feel completely at home. The hotel is brilliantly situated, and it is a realy treat to wake up to a sea view! Can't recommend them highly enough.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

It was my first time in Weymouth and my group was welcomed to the Gloucester House by an extremely friendly couple. They made sure everything was sorted and really know how to receive their guests! Upon entering the B&B, I was very pleased to see how clean, orderly and charming the space was. I felt I could be at home here for a few days. My room was extremely clean, the bed was soft and the linens felt great after a long days hike. I was also pleasantly pleased over how clean, spacious and lovely the loo attached to my one bedroom was. The one downside to my single was the fact there was only a bath with a small detachable shower head beside it. Due t o this I was forced to resort to a bath but a great warm bath at that. All shampoos and soaps provided with soft towels, hand towels and foot towel.
I had a small TV, a range of teas, a pot, all the necessary plugs and cabinets nicely placed at the front of my room for storage.
Breakfast was also a lovely affair. The waitstaff along with the owner of the Gloucester House gave us a great run-down of the nicely sized and not overwhelming menu. I had the most picture perfect eggs you could ask for. Not to mention they tasted wonderful. The tea was great and the breakfast room's atmosphere was relaxing and friendly.

Overall, I could not be more pleased and for the great price you're paying, there was no shortage of comfort, service, and hospitality. If you're in Weymouth, this is the place to stay!

Room Tip: Cut cast keys keys so do not lose them! Some rooms have showers and bath some only have bath!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gloucester House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gloucester House

Address: 96 The Esplanade, Weymouth DT4 7AT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 168 B&Bs / Inns in Weymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Gloucester House 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gloucester House is ideally situated for Weymouth beach which is literally across the road. The town centre is on our door step and both the railway station and bus station are two minutes level walk away. Greenhill Gardens and Lodmoor Park are a few minutes to our left while the charming harbour and Nothe Gardens are five to ten minutes by foot to our right. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and LateRooms so you can book your Gloucester House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gloucester House Weymouth, Dorset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gloucester House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.