We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Real Faulty Towers” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Richmoor Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Richmoor Hotel to your Saves list
The Richmoor Hotel
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   146 The Esplanade, Weymouth DT4 7NP, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #127 of 168 Weymouth B&B and Inns
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The Real Faulty Towers”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Turned up as a last minute walk in booking from the street. 4 of us wanted two doubles. As on other reviews the smell in the foyer is still alive and kicking. There is a sign in the Foyer which says Faulty Towers this is for their theme nights, hang it up outside to warn others.
The rooms were filthy the shower hadn't been cleaned and the water was no faster than a dribble and freezing cold. Ironically the mirror said wash clean refresh and revitalise, lol your not kidding. The beds in both of our rooms were lumpy well worn mattresses. So be prepared to wake up with back problems.
However the bar and restaurant had recently been refurbished and looked quite nice.But decided to have an evening meal, Big mistake chefs night off left a young lad to do the cooking. Ran out of Steak and Potatoes. The fact that the restaurant was only open 2 hours 6pm til 8pm should have given us clues.The chef had the night off and they left a young lad in charge who clearly couldn't cope.Check your vinegar bottles are tight because apparently they tip the vinegar out and wash the bottles but someone didn't tighten the top up so i got a dinner full of vinegar. However they replaced the meal in five minutes which means they don't cook fresh like their sign says its a microwave job.
Thank god the owner did offer a reduced rate of £85 instead of £110 she was lucky i paid the £85
I have stayed in hotels up and down the country this has been my worst.
Do yourself a favour go to the premier inn in Weymouth £96 you know what your getting. Quality

Room Tip: Visit lobby do a U turn and walk out
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    87
    41
    34
    91
See reviews for
88
133
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Port Talbot, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

We are staying at the richmoor hotel for one night, to attend a family function..upon arrival we were placed in a room that was difficult to get to, due to my disability and fear of using the lift..but the staff were attentive and helped us with the option of a larger room on the 1st floor..the staff even brought our bags to our room for us..the parking is an issue but is not due to the hotel, as weymouth at easter time is very busy, with lots of cars&buses fighting for spaces..
I must point out the benefit of having a room with sea views..you will not be dissapointed..

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

I went to The Richmoor Hotel, Weymouth after seeing a great deal on Groupon but was in a dilemma as it was a deal for two, which would have been fine for me and my husband, but wouldn't have been suitable if I was to bring my son. I spoke to the hotel and they were able to accommodate my son at the same price as if I had booked with Groupon.

When I arrived at the hotel I was greeted by Lorraine, the very friendly, down-to-earth owner, and she made us feel at home.

Our room was a challenging trek to the top floor of the Hotel but although there was a lift available, I decided we are young enough and fit enough to make the journey by foot.

My room was a light and airy family room, with pretty red homely accents and it overlooked the English Channels. We had access to utensils for tea and coffee, a flatscreen t.v. wifi, and a clean and cosy bathroom.

We were never short of things to do in Weymouth and I was finding more attractions even on the day of my departure.

The wide open sandy beach is right at your doorstep.

The themed Fawlty Towers dinner which is quickly becoming popular amongst holiday makers, took place on our second night. Having the fun and frolics of Basil, Manuel and Sybil unfold whilst I tucked into my 5 course meal was a great twist to our evening, especially when you have a 6 year old to keep entertained.

Breakfast was the full english and customers could help themselves to as much of it as they want.

All in all this hotel was a great stay, with a great location and even better staff. Weymouth will be seeing us again

read more here: http://premiereonepr.wordpress.com/2014/04/11/the-richmoor-hotel/

Room Tip: If you want a view to die for select a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loraine146, Owner at The Richmoor Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Hi,
Thank you so much for your kind review especially from someone who is a professional in this field. We very much enjoyed your visit and hope to see you and your lovely family again. It does always amaze me how a successful family as yours will say such nice things and very obviously enjoy your stay as most of our guests do and then we get comments like a few of the others here. We appreciate that you have taken time to comment as usually it is only when people want to be negative or have an ulterior motive. Hope to see you again. Loraine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Parking is very limited for the hotel the room was small but comfortable we had a sea veiw and it was a lovely sea view we found the shower did not work properly as it was cold this was all made up by very friendly staff who were always chatty we had a evening meal and the food was very good and portion sizes were very good breakfast was full english buffet and also nice and also being aloud to go and get more if you wanted more.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

I'm staying at this hotel at the moment, staff are very helpful and friendly will do anything to help you out. Having a lift is a bonus as I'm on the top floor with my mother who struggles to walk up stairs.
Tonight we ate in the restaurant and was really pleased with the service and the high quality of the food. Home cooked and delicious!
Would love to return again

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Stayed here for a Fawlty Towers weekend 21 March 2014. Had a great time, really good fun and made even better by the fact the staff played the parts - and also hotel guests. Murder Mystery on the Saturday was a real bonus. Very hospitable, lots of entertainment and probably the most friendly bunch of staff I've ever come across. Will definitely be keeping an eye out and go again. And not forgetting the Sunday cavery, great value and excellent food.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

An excellent value for money good old fashioned family hotel, had a great Fawlty Towers night experience . Rooms clean and comfortable and the staff deserve special mention, very friendly, welcoming and good fun. A great fun weekend getaway. Very well situated too. We all enjoyed it

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Richmoor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Richmoor Hotel

Address: 146 The Esplanade, Weymouth DT4 7NP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #127 of 168 B&Bs / Inns in Weymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Richmoor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on Weymouth's seafront, on the Jurassic Coast Line, The Richmoor Hotel boasts stunning scenic views. Family friendly the owners really work hard to create a welcoming and homely ambience.The Richmoor Hotel is fortunate enough to have Shelley's Restaurant onsite, an ala carte fine dining restaurant that uses fresh local ingredients to create an imaginative and fresh menu at very affordable prices. Then why not retire to the bar? Shelley's Bar and Grill boasts Seaviews, an extensive Cocktail menu and a menu full of simple food cooked well. The Bar has an Entertainment program, including Live Entertainment from some of Weymouths best singers, Karaoke, Bingo, "Fawlty Towers Dining Experiences," Games and Quizzes. For more specific information about the Entertainment during your stay please ring and enquire.All of the Richmoor Hotel rooms are Fully Ensuite and come with hairdryers, tea and coffee making facilities, alarm clocks and televisions. Some boast views over Weymouth Bay. The Richmoor Hotel prides itself on employing friendly, hardworking and efficient staff that will work hard to ensure your stay is relaxing and enjoyable, and they have a 24 hour reception with both Day Managers and Night Porters.Extra Beds in rooms and Parking can be requested via contact with the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your The Richmoor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Richmoor Hotel Weymouth, Dorset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Richmoor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.