We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its all relative” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Blue Weymouth

Cafe Blue Weymouth
Blue Cafe, Weymouth, England
01305 787225
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 203 Restaurants in Weymouth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Its all relative”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We visited on a gloriously sunny autumn morning and the view from the cafe (when not obscured by delivery trucks) was outstanding. The service was efficient and friendly and the tea came in a proper china tea-pot. From previous reviews I was expecting the full English breakfast to be something to savour but I can only say it was average.

The bacon was nice and not the sort you can buy in Co-Op, shame the same can't be said for the sausage which seemed to be of the "value" brand verity. The beans weren’t Heinz (I like Heinz beans but not many other brands) so didn’t do much for me, they also must have been being kept warm for sometime as they were quite mushy. The fried egg was over-done for my liking but I suppose we are still blaming Edwina Curry for that. The toast was OK and my grilled tomato was as it should be, however two friends commented that theirs was still too hard to have been grilled properly.

My partner (wisely as it turned out) asked for mushrooms instead of the sausage which wasn’t a problem for the staff at all, she reported they were the best bit of her breakfast.

The relativity in the title refers to the value of the breakfast, walking to the café from the train station we passed several outlets offering breakfasts at least a Pound cheaper than Café Blue, but the reviews here made us determined to try Café Blue above all others.

An establishment nearly next door, so having the same excellent views, was offering Sausage, Bacon and fried egg for only £1.99 and it’s hard to see the justification in charging over £2 more just to have some beans and one slice of “Mothers Pride” toast.

All in all an average breakfast in a lovely setting served by a friendly and helpful young lady, but next time I might checkout some of the cheaper rivals to get a good comparison on the breakfast scene in Weymouth town centre.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inkyrich1, Owner at Cafe Blue Weymouth, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
So sorry you found us lacking on the day of your visit. The sausage debate continues (everybody likes a different sausage). We have tried so many over the the last few years. We even had a sausage tasting session one day and the ones you hated won lol. Horses for courses. The beans no excuses. I can only assume they were left on the hot plate to long before being plated. We will ALWAYS replace/recook anything not up to scratch. We dont always get it 100% when its busy and we get pushed but we would rather it was pointed out so that we may put it right there and then and keep all of our customers happy. As for the £1.99 breakfast down the road they are what they are as we are and we stand by the quality of our food and service. Thank you for taking the time to review and many apologies for our short comings on the day of your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    21
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Luton, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Blue sky and a great breakfast...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed down in Weymouth overnight and as it was such a lovely day, we decided to venture along the seafront for a stroll and some breakfast. We stumbled across Cafe Blue and decided to try the 'Full English' Freshly cooked when we ordered and we didn't have to wait very long. We sat outside in the sunshine and thoroughly enjoyed our breakfast. Excellent value for money too.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great English Breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

My husband and I had the large English breakfast this morning, he had a coffee and I had a pot of tea.. The place was clean, the food was cooked to order. We were offered alternatives when we asked for no beans (me) and no black pudding (him). The service was friendly and the food came quickly. The plates were massive and the food was not greasy and all very hot. Set us up nicely for the day :) I expect we'll be back tomorrow before we head home.. Recommended also for the lovely view (we sat outside in the September sun.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, dorset
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“breakfast dissapointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

the breakfast was good value but had 3 hairs in it and the toast had cheap marg like spread on it.on the plus side uses heinz ketchup etc .expected more due to the good reviews but we wouldn't go back.Criterion RESTAURANT/CAFE breakfast nearby way nicer..

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inkyrich1, Owner at Cafe Blue Weymouth, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
The management has never been made aware of a breakfast having 3 hairs in it. We pride ourselves on our breakfast and the rest of our reviews speak for themselves. We have checked with all the staff and nobody knows of any such thing. We find it hard to believe that somebody would fail to point it out to us if it happened. As owners we would have a real issue with food being found like this. It's not how we do things. We had one lady who had a small hair on her tomato which could have come from anywhere to whom we apologised sincerely to and the whole lot was put in the bin and cooked fresh from scratch and we were most upset about it. We have never ever been made aware of a breakfast with 3 hairs in it at anytime and feel it is not something anyone would walk out without saying something and we have to refute this without question. I'm sorry the spread was not to your liking. We use St Ivel which is by no means a cheap catering spread. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Whenever we are in Weymouth we always make time to go to Cafe Blue and have a full english. Always cooked fresh, it's the best breakfast going - even the toast is great! Little touches make a difference and you get a little biscuit with your tea/coffee which always goes down well after the breakfast! Great value for money and the couple who run it and their staff are very friendly and have time for a chat. Would definitely recommend it.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Blue Weymouth also viewed

Weymouth, Dorset
Weymouth, Dorset
 

Been to Cafe Blue Weymouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Blue Weymouth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.