We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No tourist information centre” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Weymouth Beach

Weymouth Beach
The Esplanade, Weymouth, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 26 attractions in Weymouth
Type: Beaches
Attraction Details
Rugby
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“No tourist information centre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Why on earth have Weymouth council decided to close their tourist information centre. This is the first place we head for when we go on holiday anywhere. We use the local bus services and always get timetables from these centres. Also maps of coastal walks and local street maps. We buy fridge magnets and other local goods. The opentopped bus to Portland Bill was not running so couldn't ask anywhere why this was so. And the last straw was trying to get a bus ride to Lulworth Cove, Corfe Castle or Bovington Camp. These were impossible to get to. We are 2 pensioners who go everywhere by bus or train and Weymouth was very dissapointing.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    812
    277
    44
    2
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paignton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Clean yellow sands”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Had a fabulous trip to weymouth sands. It was very clean, dog free, yellow sand and to top,it off glorious sunshine. Enjoyed watching the Punch & Judy Puppet show and walking along and seeing all the different activities such as crazy golf, swan rides, swings, beach volleyball, pedlos, tramped lines and more.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northants
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

The beach is safe to paddle and swim in and it is cleaned every morning. They have plenty of lifeguards and beach patrol on duty

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Lovely beach and safe bathing for all.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

I have been coming to Weymouth since I was a very small child. Lovely sandy beach just what you need for you sandcastles. Safe paddling and swimming (if you have anti-freeze in your veins instead of blood)! Visited again recently with friends who have children and had never seen a Punch & Judy show. Lovely day on the beach with the promised Punch & Judy complete with crocodile, policeman and, of course, the string of sausages. Only down point the Sand sculptures which were there on the beach when my mother was a child have now moved to an area near the Sealife centre. Otherwise very good, Clean toilets with amazing hand dryers, excellent locally produced ice-cream. We used the park and ride which is good value but had a very long wait for the bus back at the end of the afternoon.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
45 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Lovely beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Weymouth beach really has it all, lovely sand, clear water, plenty to do, short stroll to town, good toilet facilities, great cafes particularly the boat ones and just a very short stroll to town. It's also very safe for children as sea very shallow for a long way.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Weymouth Beach also viewed

Weymouth, Dorset
Weymouth, Dorset
 

Been to Weymouth Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Weymouth Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Weymouth Beach to your Saves list