We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Changes from past years, but not for the better.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Waterside Holiday Park & Spa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Weymouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Waterside Holiday Park & Spa
Save
You added Waterside Holiday Park & Spa to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   Bowleaze Cove, Weymouth, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Essex
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Changes from past years, but not for the better.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile


This is our eighth visit in the last 5 years (7 of which have been as parents), the main reason for returning is for the kids entertainment as like many, my young child loves Boomer. Since this has been moved to the main venue it has gone down hill, the entertainment starts at 6:00pm and during our stay, has ended by 7:30pm to allow for Bingo, dispute the brochure advertising entertainment through to 9pm and beyond. The new entertainment team are decent enough so is a tad unfair to measure them against JohnBoy, and what little dedicated evening entertainment for the kids is of a good standard, although I think anyone over the age of 8 would be bored quickly (although to be fair there was only a couple of kids over 6 during our stay).
Soft Play area is ok, this is where the old children's entertainment used to be, but isn't supervised by staff and of course the bigger kids will run riot in there, which is fine, they need to enjoy themselves too.
The sports bar, if it can be classed as that, is based in the old Waves Bar area (now renamed Sports Bar) is around 14 screens that are mainly next to each other showing the same channel.

The site itself is still in great condition, the grounds well maintained, the staff are cheerful and helpful.

The onside shop is now a Spar, this appears to be much better than what was there last year (Costcutter??) and seems to offer a wider range and the prices reasonable.

Overall, still a great park if you've not got children, but for those with kids, the new timetable doesn't lend itself well to you. I hope things do change slightly as I would love to still come here in the future, but this is the worst of the visits since coming here as parents.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    67
    40
    12
    10
See reviews for
199
30
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chertsey, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We stayed in Caravan Green 63.
Beautiful new caravan. We really enjoyed our stay. This was our first stay on a caravan site and we shall definitely re-visit. The park wasn't the prettiest. The caravans are not positioned to provide any privacy and there is no room around the caravans for kids to run around and enjoy. Some more shubbery and space between vans would be preferred. For a 5star site, I would have expected something more picturesque not an eye-sore. It appears that the site have tried to squeeze as many vans on as they can. We stayed in Green 63 which overlooked fields and we will definitely stay at another that had a bit more of a view than the majority of the others onsite.
We found the reception staffs quite pretentious, not overly welcoming. But the facilities at this site are amazing. We booked through the owner and so had to pay a small fee for the gym (small) and indoor pool which is great fun. The pool was very warm and the changing facilities clean and adequate. The showers were cold on one visit.
Our caravan was like new. The owner provided a PS3 with games and dvds and a good selection of channels.
The shower wasn't overly powerful. There was no washer, but for 2 nights this was fine.
The indoor softplay was fantastic. A real highlight. We could sit with a drink and watch him play for hours. The indoor arcades weren't bad, mostly you play for tickets which can be exchanged at a gift store. Beware you need thousands for the smallest, cheapest looking teddy bear! Drink prices were reasonable. Same as you will pay in town and the food wasn't astronomical.
Overall a great stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a caravan at the edge of the park or with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We stayed 29/4/13-6/5/13 the weather was beautiful (it helps to make the holiday) from the moment we arrived at reception we where met with a smile and all the information required,The caravan was new for 2013. The park was clean and tidy as ever, a good reliable bus service into Weymouth, beautiful views across Bowlease Cove,

Room Tip: Although only two of us, we had an 8 berth, we like the space and comfort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

This was our 3rd visit in 4 years, and loved every minute. This was the first time we have visited as parents so lots of the facilities were more appealing to us now.
We stayed for a long weekend, and booked privately in the hedge end area, even though far from the main buildings, it was a nice 5 minute stroll or the bus terminus was in that area.

The swimming complex was fantastic, our 2 year old twins especially loved the toddler area and splash pool. Also the new indoor play area was a great success, we went early in the morning and was particularly quiet.

We didn't use the venue during the evenings, but we did visit the sports bar and arcade one evening and again was very impressed. We also used the takeaway there.

The spar shop was very handy and prices were reasonable, with offers on branded items, and freshly made cakes and pastries available.

Overall, we throughly enjoyed our weekend and hope to visit again this year.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We have visited Waterside 3 times now, main reason being that the kids loved the entertainment with Boomer in the evenings. The changes that have been made mean that we didn't get as much out of our stay this time and doubt we would return. The fact that there was a dedicated kids disco in the past was a real bonus but now all entertainment is in the same venue it is just not the same. Also a shame that the kids entertainer (John?) doesn't seem to be there this year which disappointed the kids as he was really good.

The rest of the park remains spotless (swimming pool is great), staff are still friendly and the new sports bar is nice if that's your sort of thing but it's just not the same for the kids now. Kids are now nagging us to find out where John works!

So, still a lovely park in a great location for Weymouth and it's amazing beach, great facilities but not the same as it used to be.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed over the early May bank holiday for 3 nights - what a great place, we will definitely be going back.

After reading some of the reviews, I was a little worried that we were going to end up with a shabby caravan but I was very pleasantly surprised when we arrived. I did ask lots of questions before booking, about the caravans because they didn't have any of their "golds" left so we opted for a privately owned caravan that the park rent out for them - this was a silver grade but would probably be classed as a gold/gold plus elsewhere as it was very modern and clean plus not too old (red 84). The only downside was that it was quite a walk to the main venues and up quite a steep incline and the parking space beside the caravan was very steep to get the car in and out - but good views being up so high!

The swimming pool was lovely and pretty clean, changing rooms weren't as clean on the floor but the lifeguards did keep moping them and I suppose it's hard when people keep coming in wearing their shoes - would be a good idea to make you take them off in the pool reception area before entering.

The new soft play area is a great idea and much loved by my little one. He also like Boomer although we didn't see him much and had to make a point of getting to the entertainment complex on the last night at 6pm to make sure we didn't miss him and could get a photo. The entertainment areas and restaurant were all surprisingly very clean and well maintained - chairs/tables and carpets all in good condition which makes a nice change.

You do have to show your passes everywhere you go so make sure you have them on you at all times - this is to stop people from other nearby parks coming in and using the facilities so I can understand it.

All in all it was a lovely stay and I can't wait to visit again.

Room Tip: Site has some steep bits so check where you are going to be when booking if you struggle with mobili...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

we have been every year since 2003.twice a year the past 3years,we went april for 9days,the changes are not for the better,my grandkids loved boomers and the 2p machines,the wife and i used to go over to the main venue to play bingo and see the act returning to the daughters and grandkids at 10 to order our supper then back to the caravans ,taking the kids and boomer over to the venue is a big mistake,how can you tell kids to be quite while bingo is on,they are on holiday too. ,the sports bar is nice ,but who really wants to watch sport all the time on the 12 screens , they also have the 2p machines in the sports bar,and a new soft play area for the kids , my grandkids only went to the venue the first night.the rest of our holiday we stayed in the sports .they were more then happy to stay there,and didnt miss boomer at all or the kids entertainment one bit,but the wife and i really missed the bingo and
,the entertainment..and our drink together.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waterside Holiday Park & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterside Holiday Park & Spa

Address: Bowleaze Cove, Weymouth, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Weymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Waterside Holiday Park & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 500
Also Known As:
Waterside Holiday Park And Spa
Waterside Holiday Park Hotel Weymouth
Waterside Holiday Park & Spa Weymouth, Dorset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waterside Holiday Park & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.