We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“better than some, not so good as others.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Seaview Holiday Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Weymouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seaview Holiday Park
4.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   Preston, Weymouth DT3 6BZ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“better than some, not so good as others.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Three of us booked a week's holiday in a Prestige caravan (the 'best' (most expensive) option) because it was supposed to have heating throughout. The main bedroom didn't have a radiator, so was very cold at night. Luckily i'd brought a blanket with me & also used the spare (small) duvet from the twin bedroom! It had a fairly large wardrobe. The bedrooms were quite tight to move around in, but were clean & tidy. The bathroom was very small compared to some caravans i've stayed in. The kitchen & lounge area were good, with a full sized oven with grill, a microwave & a fridge with a small freezer compartment.
The 'entertainment complex' was quite central to the caravans. I'd have preferred the adult entertainment to start a little earlier, most of it didn't start 'til 10pm - there was a Take That tribute act on the Friday (not bad), and Buck's Fizz (diabolical) on the Saturday, but we only stayed for the first half.
The park was in a good location - There was a bus stop about five minutes walk from the park. (also two chip shops, a pub & a Co-op). Also there was a Park & Ride less than a four mile drive away with buses running every 15 minutes into Weymouth (£3.50 summer/£1.50 from September - everyday), and every forty minutes into Dorchester (£1.50 Mon-Fri- I'd recommend Dorchester on a Wednesday when there's a big market). The beach was about 20 minutes walk from our caravan, but it was more stony than the sandy beach in Weymouth itself.
There were plenty of staff on reception at check-in & check-out times, and they were friendly and helpful. Our caravan was in a good flattish position, but others were on a quite steep slope.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    88
    75
    27
    21
    19
See reviews for
147
28
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Stayed for a long weekend with my husband and two children. It was the first time we had stayed with Haven and I was pleasantly surprised( 2 bedroom) It was clean spacious and well equipped.Mattresses are very poor you could feel the springs without even laying on the bed. No 58. The bedrooms are very compact and the wardrobe space is very limited and you need to bring some extra hangers. Shower was good and the small radiators work well. The caravan gets very cold at night so luckily we had a gas fire in the living room. Seaview is a dated park but if you enjoy eating on the restaurant to the sound of slot machines you will love it. Also the pool is dated at Seaview so use Weymouth Bay it is modern and well equipped. (Showers are not great and also not private.) Evening entertainment is very basic and amateur but the kids enjoyed again at Weymouth Bay it was better. The wine is awful at the bar and of a poor quality. Staff are friendly everywhere and efficient.

Room Tip: Use facilities at Weymouth Bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Just returned from a short break at Seaview. I bought the holiday on a sun break promotion and for this reason found it extremely good value for money!

It is a smallish camp in comparison to other caravan parks but it has great facilities and is in a great location.

We arrived at 2pm and hoped our caravan would be ready (although we were well aware check in was at 4). Unfortunately our caravan wasn't ready but this was not a problem as we could use the facilities anyway.

Our caravan was a pleasant surprise - spotless and modern. We had paid extra to take our dog and there was no evidence that dogs had been in this caravan. We certainly did not expect a full oven and a plasma TV.

The staff throughout the site are very helpful and friendly, we ate in the restaurant in the club house on the first night - good food and reasonable prices. The second night we had a Papa Johns pizza from the takeaway on site - again tasty and good price. On our final night we didn't fancy going out and instead got fish and chips from Straceys chip shop on the main road next to the camp - few mins walk away. The best fish and chips we have had in a long time!!

From the site you can walk to the beach although we didn't find the route particularly well sign posted and a 15 min walk become a much longer one.

We were very lucky with the weather and had sunshine everyday, this meant we could enjoy a nice long walk into Weymouth and back.

Only negative we have is that although the entertainment is good the kids dances and party songs went on until 10pm and given that we don't have kids we found this particularly annoying to sit through while waiting for the evening cabaret to start. Personally we thought this was too late a time to still be catering for children.

Overall a great holiday and a very tired dog as a result of it, would stay here again if the price was right.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Where do i start, we were booked into a silver caravan with disabled access as myself and my mother have mobility problems.
upon driving up the very large hill we were so gutted to see that the site was this iggly piggly sit which left so inclosed with every caravan feeling so close.
Anyway we booked in myself and my parents, went to the caravan OMG, there was no linen even though we had payed, no mircrowave even though there should have been.
it was terrible went back to the site and said we wanted to be moved, after nearly an hour of them saying there was nothing but us not moving and saying then we wanted our money back
and we would drive home, (which is all the way back to newport wales.. but we ment it) we had even rang around another site owener just to book that night,
because we werent staying in this van, anyway got moved to a "better" van !!
we're not snobs but it was ok !! it was clean at least and that's abig bonus.
So we started our holiday on the monday we went out. we couldn't get upto the club over the weekend because the hill was a no go with being disabled..
upon coming back to the van on monday we had a knock at our door a man telling us that he had been in the van earlier that day!!
the site had give him the keys and everything , he had been in our caravan, which had the normal things like laptops ,phones ect, but more then that it had all my mediction and my parents medication in them.
he went back to the site and they said well they sould be gone by now,throw there thing on the lawn, to our luck the person didn't and asked for a new caravan
It made my mother feel very uncomfortable to know someone had been in our holidy home.
All they offered as a sorry was a bottle of wine and £10 to spend in the shop...
Would never visit this site again, little sea and weymouth bay are amazing but wouldn't stay here again if you payed me ,
Terrible Terrible Terrible.....

Room Tip: Don't book on this site...thats the best tip i can offer
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Went on my first camping trip in about 15 years at Seaview and was very pleased all round.

The loos for the touring camping area were surprisingly good - with a passcode just for tourers.

Watch out for the crows in the morning, they can be quite noisy.

The food was surprisingly good for a campsite - a lot better than expected, and the breakfasts were good value.

The entertainment was quite cheesy and definitely aimed at the younger visitors.

We don't have a car so walk and get the bus everywhere. We had no problems in this regard. There's a bus stop quite close to the camp site. If you have problems with walking then Seaview may not be ideal as it's situated on a hill, however that didn't bother us.

We booked online in advance so got it cheaper than if we had just turned up. I wouldn't want to pay full price but for what we paid it was fine.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, Somerset
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

This is quite a small but really nice holiday park in Weymouth. Its only a short drive from the centre and the park overlooks the sea. We camped in a tent here with a small dog. The shower blocks and toilets were extrememly clean and was the best campsite toilets ive ever used !

Unfortunately when you have a small dog and camping in a tent (and the weather is bad) you dont really have much more choice than to sit inside your tent. If you dont have a caravan or a an electric hook up it can be quite boring. The weather wasnt that great when we went so we had to play on our ipohone when it got dark inside our tent. That is the only downfall when you camp with a dog at these resorts as you arent allowed anywhere with a dog. This is something I will never understand. If we used to be allowed to have a "smoking area" inside of pubs/clubs which was a threat to your health, I see no reason why this should not be the case for dog owners. We deserve to have a good time too and should be allowed in a "special area" of a club with our animals. Local pubs manage to allow this. Dogs are a household pet and are not unhigenic or a pain. My feeling is, if you are responsible enough to want to camp in any weather with your pet, then it is obvious you are responsible enough to be able to take your dog inside.

It seems children are allowed anywhere and at times, they are more disruptive than any dog ! - Its a shame we cant enjoy our holiday in the same way as familes can because we chose to have dogs instead of children. We seem to be looked down at for this reason.

This isnt a gripe at just this campsite but the chain of campsites could accomodate dog owners a lot more. If they say dog friendly, then this should be more than just accepting the dog on the grounds and in specific caravans. Its the UK which means most of the time, the weather is bad and therefore should be aware of this fact when accepting dog owners on the site but not anywhere else under cover.

Room Tip: We took a two man tent and a dog - if its bad weather - probably not advisable with a dog as you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

we are a family of 5, from surrey, mum, dad, a 7 year old, a 2 year old, and baby. arriving in weymouth for the first time we were delighted to see the familiar 'haven'flags welcoming us into the weymouth haven park.....unfortunately we were soon realised that this wasn't 'seaview' (seaview is 5 mins. up the road), so after a quick 2 minute drive - we arrived in earnest at seaview. our first impression was dread, up the top of a very very steep hill we drove down into the site through a complex one way road that winds down and round countless caravans, with no one to direct us in. the caravan itself was supposed to be top of the range - however, the mildew on the rusty steps showed no signs of luxury, neither did the gravel drive were we had to ditch the car. I dont want to sound like a snob, but i was shocked to see an old fashioned portable tv in the corner, which i havent come across in a caravan site since the year 2000, most that do have a tv now of course have 15" lcd's. we soon however realised that we were 'stepping back in time' in more ways than one. later on our first evening we decided to try out the site's entertainment, after just a short walk we came across our first hurdle - a big row of steps up to the 'club', they did have a wheelchair ramp that snaked around the side of the pub, but it was inpassable due to the large amount of adults and children sitting around drinking and looking menacing... we felt very unwelcome, like we had walked into a social club on a council estate! once inside, things just got worse, the 'arcade' consisted of 90% adult fruit machines, with a small scattering of actual 'arcade' games that children could play, ie; house of the dead / sega rally etc. they did have a 'soft play area' which was so small it could've fitted in the a caravan, a traditional tatty 1970's style 'boozer', again with steps and ramps incorporated (nothing is flat round here!), a papa john's pizza outlet (take away booth), and the showbar. The resort Map shows the beaches being a 5 minute walk down a path, do not believe it! I tried with my 7 y/o son, it took 45 minutes of walking down a hedgy, rocky path, with no signposts, which evidently locals use for horses and the occasional tractor, to a beach resort which i realised was off a main road with ample parking, and would of been a lot easier to just drive there!...(which we did for the rest of our stay). We did visit the neighbouring Haven 'Weymouth' a few times during our week long stay which we found very nice, clean, tidy, and full of good ameneties, unlike Seaview, which felt like it wasn't a Haven (and looking at one of the signs around the site - which had been hastily plastered over the top of something else) my suspicions were confirmed! To summarise Seaview, it is NO GOOD if you have young toddlers, as it is not safe to walk around the site due to cars driving erraticly, you CANNOT walk to the beach, you CANNOT easily get in and out of the entertainment complex if you have a pushchair/wheelchair, the site next door is twice as good - making you feel like you've been hoodwinked by Haven!

Room Tip: Book a caravan as near to the exit as possible - as you will probably want to go for a drive everyda...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Seaview Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaview Holiday Park

Address: Preston, Weymouth DT3 6BZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 Specialty lodging in Weymouth
Hotel Class:4 star — Seaview Holiday Park 4*
Also Known As:
Seaview Holiday Park Hotel Weymouth
Seaview Holiday Park Weymouth, Dorset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seaview Holiday Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Seaview Holiday Park to your Saves list