We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food, relaxed atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crab House Cafe

Crab House Cafe
Ferrymans Way, Portland Road | Wyke Regis, Weymouth DT4 9YU, England
01305 788867
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 203 Restaurants in Weymouth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Topsham, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Amazing food, relaxed atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

We are doing different segments of the Coast Path and after doing 10-20 miles a segment, it is a nice reward to stay at a good B&B, wander a cute village or have a wonderful meal. However, it can be hard to find a good meal that accepts people in hiking boots, sweaty from 5 hours of walking. Yet yesterday we had a wonderful dinner (we had 6 pm reservations but they let us in early for drinks as we had finished our hike already), no fuss, great service even though it was a small staff and by the time we left they had a lot of tables filled. I had scallops as my starter and lobster for my main but I have to go back as I really really want the oysters next time. Good job!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    324
    138
    41
    5
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch, lovely ambiance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Great food, one of the two best seafood restaurants in Weymouth The best for shell fish. Great position on the fleet at Chesil.... even better when the sun shines, even when it doesn't there is cover and outside heating. Really good wine list and served at just the right temperature. Efficient and professional service, with a smile!. Couldn't recommend this place more highly.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ware, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent seafood, and experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

This was amazing.....we managed to squeeze in without booking one afternoon. We sat outside, and both had crab....it was great. Food was great and staff were good.....would definitely recommend this to anyone who likes seafood.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didcot, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely, unpretentious little restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Had a great meal last week. Mussels to start......tender, full of flavour. Lemon sole for main was melt in the mouth with gorgeous roast veg. It is a casual, easy atmosphere, with friendly customer focused staff. Try it!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We called on the off chance on a wednesday evening and they fitted us in .We both had the mussels starter which was very tasty then I had a whole crab that you crack yourself and my partner had the john dory fish both meals were excellent. Its not much of a place just a shed really but the important thing is the food is very good . If your a seafood lover give this place a try, we will be back when we are this way again

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crab House Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Crab House Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crab House Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.