We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent meal again!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crab House Cafe

Crab House Cafe
Ferrymans Way, Portland Road | Wyke Regis, Weymouth DT4 9YU, England
01305 788867
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 212 Restaurants in Weymouth
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent meal again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

The Crab House Cafe is a great place to have a meal. They prepare lovely fresh fish which is all locally caught - they pride themselves on the quality of their meals and I believe they do a great job! I recently had 'huss' and it was delicious, such lovely flavours and well cooked. Definitely worth a visit if you are in the area. Well done to them!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    285
    133
    40
    5
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
somerset
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very very dissapointing!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

On arrival everything was looking very promising however went downhill fairly quickly. The service was rubbish the food poorly cooked and very expensive. I dont like a waiter apologising by saying "my bad" when he cant remember the 3 drinks I ordered!! We went on a sunday lunchtime and it was fairly quiet, heaven knows how bad it gets when they are busy. I think the place may be running on hot air from a good reputation it gained once.!!! Such a shame.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“fresh fishy delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Great place.liked the music,the sea shack appearance and good to be able to watch the chefs cooking.The staff are excellent and made the time to name each fish in the 5 fish pan that my partner had for his main meal,all of the food was delicious and so fresh tasting ,even the hot bread and butter was incrediblly tasty,.I only wish I lived nearby as this would be a regular place to eat for me

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“All about the fish.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

The Crab House Cafe is not fine dining. The Crab House Cafe is about fresh fish cooked expertly in a relaxed environment. You aren't going to be looking out to sea or surrounded by fancy fixtures and fittings. Instead you will enjoy a tasty meal of locally sourced seafood. My crab cakes were so full of crab it was almost hard to tell how it was holding it's shape. My friend enjoyed half a fresh crab for a very reasonable price.
Excellent service from friendly staff tops off the experience perfectly.
You feel like you have been let in on a local secret eating at the Crab House Cafe. You will probably need to book in advance.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Crab house Cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Friendly staff and great food. If you like seafood you have got to eat here. it gets very busy so I suggest you book first.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crab House Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Crab House Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crab House Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.