We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice evening” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Harbour Bridge Restaurant - CLOSED

The Harbour Bridge Restaurant
19 Trinity Road, Weymouth DT4 8TJ, England
01305 772023
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $24 - $41
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The Harbour Bridge Restaurant is set on the beautiful Weymouth harbourside and offers lovely views from both the ground and first floor dining rooms. We offer uncomplicated British food with classic European influences at an affordable price.
Bournemouth
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

We came to Weymouth for a long weekend and booked the restaurant on our last evening. We were shown to our seats although unfortunately not a window seat, but to be fair we didn't request this on booking, and we didn't realise the restaurant extended upstairs. The service was excellent, with an extremely polite and helpful waiter. The menu was varied, suiting most tastes, and the food was well presented and tasty. We did not visit the toilets so cannot comment. The only criticism we would make was that our table for two was extremely close to the table for two next to us, which made us feel slightly uncomfortable when we were talking, although the couple were just finishing their meal and left shortly after we sat down and no-one else was seated there for the duration of our meal. Overall we had an enjoyable evening and would return again if we could have a more private table.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian W, Owner at The Harbour Bridge Restaurant, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We're delighted that you enjoyed your evening and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    26
    5
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“simple menu served in a sophisticated way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

I will definitely return to this place, The service was impeccable, the choice of food was varied enough to suit most tastes, remembering this is a BISTRO, not a 5 star restaurant & the prices reflect that !
I would like to congratulate the management on finding the middle ground between fine dining & sensible pricing, which is what many establishments have missed.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian W, Owner at The Harbour Bridge Restaurant, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thank you very much indeed for taking the trouble to write a review. You have summed up our philosophy perfectly and it is really gratifying to know that our offering is appreciated. We hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
209 reviews 209 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Decent food and all that jazz...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Booked in for Sunday lunch. Had a nice window view able to observe the bridge lifting to allow masted boats through. No issues with any of our starters, mains or desserts. Clean plates all round. Nice menu with limited options meaning they do what they do, very well. Mayo was Hellmanns so absolutely no complaints with condiments. Coffee was filter/cafetiere so lacked the final meal accompaniment but all were sated none the less. Traditional building so some narrow passageways/stairs, toilets in the basement and some low ceilings - it's all part of the character of the place. It would however be an issue for mobility restricted customers, so enquire in advance. Live music venue with some Jazz in the afternoon we visited - a nice accompaniment to our post lunch experience.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian W, Owner at The Harbour Bridge Restaurant, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thank you for this very thoughtful review. We're delighted that you enjoyed your meal with us and hope you will come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good food in poor surroundings.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

This restaurant would benefit from a complete facelift. Any ambience is totally lacking.The restaurant is upstairs and the toilets are two flights down in a basement.Bare wooden floors with the marks of old stair carpet join the two along with scruffy toilets and grubby paintwork.On the positive side the food and drinks were good but fairly pricey considering the above comments.The live music taking place in the downstairs bar was also good quality.Overall a rather mixed experience.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian W, Owner at The Harbour Bridge Restaurant, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the trouble to write a review. We're very sorry that you did not like the layout of the building and that you did not find our style of decor to your taste but we are very gratified that you enjoyed the food and the music.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

The harbour bridge Restaurant, serves excellent freshly cooked food. We had the fish cakes that came with a simply dressed salad. Lovely place but there was no atmosphere. Worth a visit as it offers a high standard in the way of service. The drinks were expensive, but obviously it is where the money is made. Elaine P

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian W, Owner at The Harbour Bridge Restaurant, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your food and found the service to your liking. I'm sorry that you found the drinks expensive. A glass of house wine is only £3.75 which we feel is very reasonable. Anyway we do hope you will visit us again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Harbour Bridge Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Harbour Bridge Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.