We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“crap” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Weymouth Sea Life Park

Weymouth Sea Life Park
Lodmoor Country Park, Weymouth DT4 7SX, England
01305 761070
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 26 attractions in Weymouth
Type: Aquariums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Come and experience a world of discovery and fun! Discover over 1000 incredible creatures including crocodiles, penguins and seals. Venture into our Underwater Ocean Tunnel to get up close and personal with sharks, giant sea turtles and tropical fish!
shelfield
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“crap”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Absolute rip off, also a bit of a concern that they always have the same obs advertised; really havent heard good things about this sea life. I personally have e-mailed them several times about disabled group trips, still no reply.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    202
    112
    54
    44
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good for all the family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Out of all of the Sealife Centres, this one has the most to offer.

Not crammed with millions of screaming kids and rude tourists like the London aquarium, not tiny like the Brighton one.

The park is spread out over a large area, there are different buildings for different animals, there is more than just fish tanks, with outdoor animals, rides, adventure golf this place has a lot more to offer. I would go back again if it wasn't 2.5 hours away, but if in the area I would visit again.

Loved the turtle house and walk through tunnel of turtles and one or two sharks.

Negative: The Shark tank is very small and disapointing, most other Aquariums all have large shark tanks and a large walk through tunnel, but I found this was missing.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiff
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“worth it if its raining”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Good if you like sea life centers, but not much different to the last time i visited, try to get a discount ticket to get the price down.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frome, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A nice afternoon at Sea Life Centre Weymouth, with 5 year old.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Easy to get to via public transport. The K4 bus stop, a bit further up from the Weymouth clock, (towards shops) has a number 4 bus that drops off right outside the Sea life centre about every 30 mins, £1.40 single (which is the cheapest way to buy ticket). We had a packed lunch before we arrived. I would take some treats with you as there is a big sweet display you need to walk past to enter & it's typically a bit pricey.
Ideal to get there for around 10, so you can attend any feeds & talks scheduled for the day. We went 26th January, but I think it would be better suited in spring, as the outdoor attractions were closed (Pirate crazy golf etc). Seeing the fish, turtles etc was really good. Take a light weight waterproof jacket as you need to walk outside in between each aquarium.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Enjoyable in all weathers!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We booked tickets to visit the Sea Life Park through Weymouth Bay Holiday Park so got quite a considerable discount. I wasn't sure what to expect, thinking how interesting can fish possibly be but the children were keen to go. I was really pleasantly surprised! As most of the exhibitions are indoors, the fact that the weather wasn't great didn't spoil the day at all. Getting around the park & seeing everything is really easy as you are given a map & the park is really well signposted. My boys really enjoyed the hands-on exhibition where they could touch crabs etc & we all enjoyed the informative talks on different sea creatures. We loved the underwater tunnel & spent ages in there trying to spot all the turtles. There's lots of information boards around to read & the staff all seemed very knowledgable & happy to answer questions, no matter how silly some of the children's questions were.

Who knew fish could be so interesting!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Weymouth Sea Life Park also viewed

 

Been to Weymouth Sea Life Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Weymouth Sea Life Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Weymouth Sea Life Park to your Saves list