We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just as we hoped” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harbour House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Weymouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Harbour House
Save
You added Harbour House to your Saves list
3 Belle Vue, Weymouth DT4 8DR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 161 Weymouth B&B and Inns
Buckinghamshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Just as we hoped”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

Our Room was excellent- the bed was very comfortable, the en-suite a good size and well equipped. The breakfast was just what I hoped for, fresh fruit, toast, and a cooked breakfast.All in all well worth the price. I would heartily recommend Harbour House and woul definitely stay there again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
55
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hoddesdon, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We found this an excellent B&B where nothing was too much trouble even down to booking a hair appointment! The room was large and airy and the en suite very nice. All was cleaned thoroughly each day and linen changed regularly. The bed was large and very comfortable. The breakfast was very tasty with a large selection of cereals etc. The cooked breakfast was a choice of anything you could have wished for and freshly cooked. Having the parking permit was a boon which saved us a lot of car parking charges. We are looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Stayed for a week and really enjoyed it. Hotel is nice and clean our bed was changed 3 time within the week which I think is very good, the room was cleaned every day and towels changed every other day. Lovely breakfast nothing was to much trouble for the owners, they were all really friendly. We stayed in room 9 which was at top of the house it's quite a small room which i was told about at time of booking but it didn't matter as the weather was good and we were only in he room at night which was just as well as there is nowhere to sit in the room only on the bed. But as I said it didn't bother us as the weather was so good we were able to sit on the balcony with a glass of wine and watch the boats along the harbour. It was also lovely to be able to leave the balcony doors open at night kept the room nice and cool. I did have a look in one of the larger rooms as we passed they were nice and big and had chairs by lovely bay windows to watch the world go by. On saying this if the weather was nice I would definitely stay in room 9 as we loved the balcony. Will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Room 9 top of the house small but has a lovely balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

This is a wonderful place to stay - no chintz, all cool calm and contemporary with a large clean room, superb bed, immaculate bathroom and fantastic owners. We'd left some stuff behind and they went the extra mile, providing us with replacements, as well as lots of good tips on places to go in Weymouth. We'll definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We stayed at Harbour House following camping at Camp Bestival, so arrived laden with luggage; the owner was instantly welcoming, offering to look after some of out bulkier items.

Our room was small, but perfectly formed. Beautifully comfortable bed, and nice toiletries in the bathroom, just what was required after a weekend in a field!

After a short nap, we headed out for dinner, recommended by the owner, and what a recommendation this was! We went to The Red Lion, a lovely pub just around the corner from the house.

The following morning we were served a lovely filling breakfast, choices included cereal, fruit croissants and a very filling full English.

Although we were only staying for one night the owner allowed us to leave our luggage, this enabled us to spend the day in Weymouth visiting other attractions.

A perfect B and B!

Room Tip: Although room 4 doesn't have a view, being to the back of the property does mean it is quiet, an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I'll start by saying that Amrit was absolutely excellent. On a number of different counts she went above and beyond, including helping me carry luggage from the car, loaning us a high-chair and she even washed our baby's bottles out. Nothing was too much trouble.

I've only rated our experience as very good (and not excellent) because of the street noise. We were on the first floor at the front. On a warm summer's evening you need the window open but that means you get some street noise from revellers late into the night. Our baby woke at least once due to the noise. That said, if it'd just been us as a couple we probably wouldn't have been too bothered so I don't want this to detract from the overall excellent service, lovely environment, and Amrit herself who was brilliant as I say. The location is great for the beach and Weymouth has loads to offer.

Improvements:

A ceiling or even freestanding fan would've been nice on what were very warm nights and we could've then shut the window and cut the street noise down a bit.

It probably seems petty but the internal doors all have closers and slam. Not great when you have a baby going to bed when other guests are going out for dinner.

Finally, I'm not a massive fan of street parking where you have to battle to get a space. This is included in the price but it seems that the spaces go quite quickly in peak season and you're then into car parks which are not quite as reassuring as having your car nearby. This is an issue for pretty much every hotel and B&B in the area though so nothing directly to do with the Harbour House.


Overall I'd thoroughly recommend Harbour House to couples, business people, those on their own and groups of friends. I'd recommend it too for families if your kids will sleep through a bit of noise! I don't think I've stayed in a B&B where the owner was so positive and kind - full marks on that count!

Room Tip: It may be quieter if you have one of the upper rooms (above first floor).
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We booked into the Harbour House Hotel at relatively short notice and from our first communication on booking the room to leaving on Sunday morning, everything was perfect.

Amrit welcomed us warmly and gave us plenty of suggestion of things to do around the town. The room was really spacious and clean with a load of magazines and books at your disposal if so desired. The room also had free view TV which came in extremely handy for us to catch up on Glastonbury and Wimbledon. The bed was also ridiculously large and amazingly comfortable, probably the best I've ever slept in!

The view out on to the beach was lovely and there was very little passing traffic which meant we could be in the room with the window open without being bombarded by noise.

The breakfast was as fantastic as the rest of the hotel with a wide range of foods from cereals / croissants / jams etc as well as a full English.

I can't speak highly enough of the Harbour House and the welcome we received. If we travel down to Weymouth again, will definitely be staying here and will recommend it to any of our friends or family thinking of doing the same.

James & Emma

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harbour House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour House

Address: 3 Belle Vue, Weymouth DT4 8DR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 161 B&Bs / Inns in Weymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Harbour House Hotel Weymouth
Harbour House Weymouth, Dorset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbour House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.