We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bay View Hotel Weymouth

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Weymouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bay View Hotel Weymouth
Save
You added Bay View Hotel Weymouth to your Saves list
35 The Esplanade, Weymouth DT4 8DH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 168 Weymouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Highly recommend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Just returned from our wonderful weeks stay at Bay View. What wonderful hosts Paddy & Bernie are! We stayed in room 4 which had wonderful views.a small quiet fridge, which came in very handy, a supply of tea,coffee, milk and cereal. The bed was comfy and the room was spotless.. We would recommend Bay View to everyone , we were so impressed that we booked again for next year before we left.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    21
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
49
265
4
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bewdley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

If you haven't stayed at the Bay View Hotel yet then you have missed a treat. Hosts, Paddy and Bernie are the best. You feel part of the family as their welcome is amazing. We have stayed several times over the past 8 years and are already looking forward to booking with them next year. The cleanliness and facilities are second to none and Alex Polezzi, the Hotel Inspector would be proud to give her stamp of approval. We have always been fortunate enough to have a sea view room - it's better than watching the television as you watch the waves rolling and people going about their business. Parking facilities are excellent in a lock up or you can opt for a street permit at no extra cost. Well done both and long may you continue.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Had an excellent week staying at the Bay View. We had decided to go down to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Mentioned this in passing to Paddy and next day once the room had been cleaned there was an anniversary card left for us!
The parking is great - we opted for the on street permit parking.
Position is amazing, literally across the road and you are on the beach, just around the corner for all the shopping you are ever going to need. Paddy and Bernie are very friendly - nothing is too much trouble for them.
We will certainly be visiting them again next year.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Spent 3 days here, the quality of the fixture and fittings in our room would put many hotels to shame . We knew we did not have a room with a view but was happy with this, the room was well serviced and great value for money.Our one problem was that the shower did not have good pressure but in fairness this may only have been our room. The owners are a nice and deserve the good reviews they get. As with anywhere in Weymouth If you don't like stairs you should check out if your chosen place has a lift,because many properties do not and with some people this would be an issue.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morecambe, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We have just arrived home from a superb fortnight at Bay View (our second of the year). The location is ideal for us on the sea front and close to the shops and amenities. Although we did not have a sea view from our room, we and other guests were welcome to sit in the comfortable lounge which does look out on the promenade. Our room was very comfortable and kept spotlessly clean for us. Our hosts, Bernie and Paddy could not do enough for us and unlike many similar hotels, they always ensure that one of them (or one of their staff) is available.
I used the internet each evening and never had any difficulties - even when watching a film via Sky Go.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhondda, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Had a lovely stay at the Bay View,
Paddy and Bernie were very welcoming,
The room was well decorated clean and tidy with fridge topped up with milk daily
the view from the Guest House was excellent,
great position across from beach,
the shops are just around the corner,
parking was also a bonus
just up the road to a secure lock up,
Would recommend and would use again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Derbyshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

I stayed with Paddy and Bernie for 1 week, and thoroughly recommend the Bayview Hotel. As Hosts Paddy and Bernie and their staff like Jill are very welcoming and will go the extra mile to help you enjoy your stay - they are all of them, terrific. Extremely friendly and generous with their time and aware of their customer's requirements. There are ground-floor rooms but no ramps and three flights of stairs to the very top. Nevertheless I was very impressed by just how good the team was and how well-kept the hotel is.

I had a rear room on the top floor, so cannot comment on the view of the beach as I didn't have one. The room was very spacious and cleaned and dressed daily and fresh milk delivered to the fridge. The bed was large and comfortable I slept well every night of my stay.

The location is hard to beat - right on the beach, the local amenities are easily within walking distance and there is plenty within Weymouth to explore. I particularly enjoyed the make-you-own-milkshake shop (left out the hotel, first left)

I wanted to explore the Jurassic Coast - and Bayview was my base to return home to each night. In this respect, of great benefit, and something I valued highly about The Hotel was the off-site secure car park (which is about 5 minutes walk from the hotel but driving to and from requires navigating Weymouth's moderately taxing one-way system. ) I was able to always park my car, transport around my camera gear and was ideally located to drive out to Portland, Lulworth and Purbeck.


Criticisms are honestly very minor:

It's a bed and breakfast, however breakfast is cornflakes only. So the experience is somewhat closer to self-catering, this isn't a problem, but worth pointing out in full disclosure. However Paddy is more than helpful in providing advice on where food can be obtained on a budget. Top Tip for Breakfasting in Weymouth - The Clipper does a slimmed down English (Bacon, Sausage, Hash Brown, Egg, Beans and Toast) for £1.99 and a pot of tea that makes two cups for a further £1.

Second I did find the wifi internet signal to be highly variable, intermittent and weak and sometimes dropping off all together. Again only really a problem if you plan to use the internet in any capacity during your stay.

The en suite was okay. The shower was I thought a bit weedy - it would have been nice to have had something with a bit more 'oomph' to get the dirt of a day spent exploring off, but it did the job.

I would without hesitation recommend staying at Bayview - my time in Weymouth was made 100% better becuase I chose to stay here.

A truly excellent little hotel, I've knocked off a point for the internet. So 4/5 but it deserves 5.

Thank you P&B - Hope to see you again!

Room Tip: If you have difficulty with stairs don't choose the rooms on the top floor, which kind of goes w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bay View Hotel Weymouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay View Hotel Weymouth

Address: 35 The Esplanade, Weymouth DT4 8DH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 168 B&Bs / Inns in Weymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEACH LOCATION, 4 star quality accommodation. Just the perfect place to stay for that special quiet break. The Bay View Hotel is an attractive newly refurbished, family run, quiet guest house, all latest mod cons, three romantic sea view four poster rooms, and a sea view room with small balcony, enjoying a beautiful position overlooking Weymouth Beach, and just across the road from Weymouth's beautiful sandy beach. Bay View House is less than a minute walk from the town centre, Weymouth's Old Harbour, Pavilion Theatre and Condor Ferry. A warm friendly welcome awaits you at the Bay View Hotel, comfort and hospitality guaranteed. It's the perfect centre from which to explore the beautiful Dorset coastline, from Kimmeridge Bay, Lulworth Cove to The Island of Portland, Chesil Beach and Abbotsbury. All rooms are en-suite and have flat screen TV, DVD, free complimentary tea and coffee making facilities, cereal and fresh milk, fans, hair dryers, and silent room fridges, free private secure garage parking. Free wifi all rooms, sea view guests' lounge. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bay View House Hotel Weymouth
Bay View Hotel Weymouth Dorset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay View Hotel Weymouth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.