We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glad we stopped!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Boat Inn Restaurant

The Boat Inn Restaurant
Charleston Road, Aboyne AB34 5EL, Scotland
013398 86137
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 8 restaurants in Aboyne
Cuisines: Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Glad we stopped!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014 NEW via mobile

While visiting family in Turriff, I was lucky enough to be taken around the area, and even more lucky that we decided to chance a table for 5 for Sunday lunch!
The atmosphere was very welcoming, and the staff accommodated us all!
Food was good, service was attentive!
The restrooms were nice and clean!
If I was ever back this way again, I would definitely call in!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

73% Recommend
    53
    51
    22
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Sunday lunch on the way to Braemar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We met friends for lunch on our way from Aberdeen to Braemar. The Boat Inn is in a lovely village with good walks next to the river Dee. Lovely food, good choice of options. Nice Wines. Lovely staff. Would definitely recommend it: just wish it was closer to where I live and I'd be there every week!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good ambience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We ate breakfasts and dinners there while staying at the Inn. Enjoyed the restaurant. It has a good ambiance with the decor and a good number of patrons. The staff was friendly and the food was good. Pretty location.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Extremely Nice- Great food!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

This was a great meal - fantastic surroundings, great food!!!

The children's meal was also great..

This must be THE place to eat in Aboyne.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eileen H, Owner at The Boat Inn Restaurant, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skipton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Great Food, atmosphere and very welcoming staff. The Steak pie is to die for and also do a fab breakfast too. We had 3 visits here as it was so good.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eileen H, Owner at The Boat Inn Restaurant, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Boat Inn Restaurant also viewed

Aboyne, Aberdeenshire
Aboyne, Aberdeenshire
 

Been to The Boat Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Boat Inn Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.