We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rowan Cottage” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Glen Tanar Holiday Cottages

Glen Tanar Holiday Cottages
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aboyne
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glen Tanar Holiday Cottages
Save
You added Glen Tanar Holiday Cottages to your Saves list
Brooks House | Glen Tanar Estate, Aboyne AB34 5EU, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Rowan Cottage”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We have stayed in Rowan Cottage 3 times now and we loved it each time. It is a cosy little cottage set off the road up a well maintained track. It is possible to walk across the entire estate from the cottage and the wood burning stove is wonderful after a long day in the hills. The cottage has a wealth of information, maps, books and games to make sure you get the most from your stay. Can't fault it. Flapjacks on arrival, BBQ supplies, a well stocked wood shed, and a fully equipped kitchen make for a stress free, enjoyable stay.The only addition I would make to Rowan cottage, if it was possible, is a bath tub. After visiting most of the estate's cottages, we would highly recommend any of them!

Room Tip: All the Glen Tanar holiday cottages are fantastic. We would recommend any of them. They all have the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanar, Manager at Glen Tanar Holiday Cottages, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thank you very much for your lovely review of Rowan Cottage! Delighted that we have thought of most things to make your stay as comfortable as possible. We would love to be bale to install a bath into Rowan but unfortunately due to the size of the cottage, we just cannot do it unless we built on an extension somewhere.......you never know though, maybe one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    1
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
10
7
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dunblane, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

For several years we have stayed twice yearly in three different cottages and latterly in Woodend. Each cottage has been beautifully clean, very well equipped and tastefully furnished. The Estate itself has something for all ages and you are made to feel very welcome. We cannot recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanar, Manager at Glen Tanar Holiday Cottages, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thank you very much for your lovely review!! We look forward as always to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We’re just back from another brilliant week on the Glen Tanar Estate, this time in Butler’s Lodge. An exceptional week of long walks, horse riding, fine food and R&R with the family. What better setting to see deer and other wildlife in the natural and unspoilt ancient Scots pine forests. A tranquil setting with many inscribed stones to identify and numerous relics from the Estate’s fascinating history to discover. Definitely something for everyone. The cottage was a home-from-home with all the comforts provided and lots of space for a family of six plus a baby to relax in (now three generations!). No detail is missed and the quality of the cottage and the furnishings was of a high spec. Everything was immaculate as usual and the finishing touches of homemade shortbread and fresh flowers was so welcoming on arrival. We spent days on the estate and other days out and about locally, and the icing on the cake was having Liz’s wonderful Larder meals ready to feed the family at the end of the day ensuring that no-one missed out on the fun. We’ve been coming for years and years and never tire of our week away in Glen Tanar. We’ve stayed in other Glen Tanar Estate cottages, and found them all to be as wonderful as each other, never having been disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanar, Manager at Glen Tanar Holiday Cottages, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thank you very much for your fantastic review of Butler's Lodge here at Glen Tanar! It is great to hear that you love it here so much and that you and your family continue to return to us :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Just returned from another fantastic week at Rowan Cottage on the Glen Tanar Estate. This has to be our favourite cottage on the estate. Cozy and comfortable. Peace and quiet, good place to come and "chill" Lots to see and do in the surrounding area. Friendly, knowledgeable staff. Would highly recommend. Book early though, as it's a very popular holiday home!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanar, Manager at Glen Tanar Holiday Cottages, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thank you very much for your lovely review of Rowan Cottage! Delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay again :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dundee
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed in Rowan Cottage which has a very rutted dirt track going to it. There is also no outlook from this cottage - just scrub woods and a derelect farm next door. However the biggest concern was that the cottage was not clean. Shelves, corners of windows were filthy and I had to spend some time giving the bathroom a thorough clean out. Everything there was very dusty the shower filthy and could have done with a bigger clean than I could do as I had limited cleaning materials with me. I did complain and got an apology but no offer of help. We were very much on our own with no apparent means to get any help if needed in the evening and at weekend. There was a number to contact out of office hours but we got no reply when we tried as we had to leave a day early due to my husband being unwell.
Bedding and towels were good as were the furnishings but certainly not a cottage we could recommend

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanar, Manager at Glen Tanar Holiday Cottages, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
We were very sorry indeed when we read this review of one of our Holiday Cottages here at Glen Tanar. Unfortunately due to complications on getting logged back onto Tripadvisor we have not been able to respond until now so we are very sorry for the delay!
We are sorry that you felt your stay was not good and that you thought the place was "filthy" and that you did not enjoy the location of the cottage. Rowan is our busiest cottage and people love it's location but everyone is so different that it is hard to please everybody.
We do have a fantastic reputation here at Glen Tanar for our clean, well presented cottages, friendly & helpful staff so we are sorry to read of your disappointment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

We have just come back from 3 nights in the West Millfield Cottage on the Glen Tanar Estate and i can't recommend it enough. For amazing scenery, comfortable surroundings, peace and quiet, it is the place to come. We can strongly say that if the cottage was for sale we would buy it in a flash as we didn't want to leave. It has all the mod cons of a family home and very comfortable beds. The cottage was also spotless and done up beautifully. This is our second time to the estate, last year we stayed in the Garden Cottage and the same goes. We will definitely be returning especially for the flapjacks.
There is loads to do on the estate and surrounding areas but if you just want to chill and enjoy the scenery then this is the place to come.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanar, Manager at Glen Tanar Holiday Cottages, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thank you very much for your lovely review of our Holiday Cottages! We do hope that you will return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012 via mobile

We have just returned from a fantastic family wedding at Glen Tanar Estate. We stayed Friday to Monday in the Garden Cottage which is simply stunning. We would strongly recommend staying here to anyone wishing to visit Royal Deeside.

Stayed March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanar, Manager at Glen Tanar Holiday Cottages, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. We hope you will return soon for a holiday at Glen Tanar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Glen Tanar Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Tanar Holiday Cottages

Address: Brooks House | Glen Tanar Estate, Aboyne AB34 5EU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aboyne
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Aboyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glen Tanar Holiday Cottages lie in a 25,000 acre Traditional Scottish Estate in the heart of Royal Deeside and the Cairngorms National Park. We have 8 stunning, luxurious properties accommodating between 2-11 people. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glen Tanar Holiday Cottages Aboyne, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glen Tanar Holiday Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.