We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly staff and super meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ashiana Exquisite Asian Cuisine

Ashiana Exquisite Asian Cuisine
9 Bridge Street, Appleby-in-Westmorland CA16 6QH, England
+44 17683 53550
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Lancaster
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very friendly staff and super meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We went for a meal here last night, wonderful friendly service from all staff from the start, and really great food. Fantastic prawn starter and a unique menu of chefs specials. Flavours delicious, lovely Cold Kingfisher beers and good value. Perfect start to our weekend!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    27
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Rude”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Went for a meal whilst on a short break,adore my Indian food,and always try to have one where ever im visiting.A bit of custom for me and the lady and we have had some lovely meals.So we enter the venue,ask for a table for two.We had already collected a menu earlier off a nice younger chap.Nothing on the menu to suggest to book by phone,altho it was a saturday and i understand that they may well be busy.And that i have no problem with that,after asking for the table for two,we got barked at, have you booked a table,when we said no we did not realise we had to,bearing in mind that the restaurant was empty at this point.He then went and left us in a huff and answered the phone,without any more comment how rude.So we was left standing there wondering what we should do,felt a right turnip.Thanks for that.Luckily our hotel/inn was still serving food.If not we would of been left hungry in a strange place.Thanks for that,dont know what the foods like never got that far.People skills springs to mind,although we did pass on sunday and it was empty we did toy with the idea of having a curry but thought better of it.Hope this helps you sort the team out in addressing customers.. Oh by the way we were told the food here is great,just wish we had had some.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tariq i, Manager at Ashiana Exquisite Asian Cuisine, responded to this review, January 11, 2015
I just would like to apologise for the bad experience you had. I totally understand how you must have felt. It should have never happened. We always do our best to welcome our customers in the best way possible. It's part of our profession. As for being a Saturday we are usually always busy. I know you said the restaurant was empty at the time as our bookings come all at the same time between 7 to 8:30. Just would like to say the waiter that was rude to both of you was dismissed from work. We don't tolerate such behaviour towards our customers from the staff. Would have been great if you did come back the next day. I do apologise once again. If you do come to Appleby again would like to invite you to come and try our delicious food. Thank you and hope to see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Superb meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Had delicious meal at Ashiana. Staff were very welcoming & helpful, discussing menu with us and offering to make any dish to our preferred degree of 'hotness'. Service was not very speedy but this was because the food was definitely prepared entirely for us from scratch. Flavours were exceptional. Will defintely go back if we're ever in Appleby again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“At last a decent Indian restaurant in Appleby”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Four of us went last time. The adrock chop starter is v good. Mains, I had a chicken madras and my wife had a naga chilli chicken, both were excellent. Naan breads are very good.
Only average dish was the pilau rice, which is more like boiled with some saffron in, nothing else in the rice as far as we could tell.
Drinks are quite expensive and you can only buy 250ml glasses of wine.
These are minor though compared to the overall very good quality food and pleasant service.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire Cyclist
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Great flavours”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

The staff were very genial & very welcoming. It was excellent service & the food was really very tasty. I had one of Chef Specials which was one of the unique dishes that I had not seen before. The flavours were excellent. I am glad that I did not have one of the 3 * curries, as although I can happily eat Madras-Vindaloo, this 2* was full of enough exotic spices for me to really enjoy it. The place was full of locals & quite rightly so - a lovely warming curry for a cold night !!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ashiana Exquisite Asian Cuisine also viewed

Appleby-in-Westmorland, Cumbria
Appleby-in-Westmorland, Cumbria
 
Appleby-in-Westmorland, Cumbria
Kirkby Stephen, Cumbria
 

Been to Ashiana Exquisite Asian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ashiana Exquisite Asian Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.