We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An all round experience...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Middleton In Teesdale Fish and Chip Shop

Middleton In Teesdale Fish and Chip Shop
49 Market Place | Middleton in Teesdale, Barnard Castle DL12 0RJ, England
+44 1833 640404
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $2 - $8
Cuisines: Seafood, British, Fish & Chips
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Takeout
Description: Rural Fish and Chip Shop in Middleton in Teesdale, only 5 minutes drive from the famous "High Force" situated in the North Pennines Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty. Winter Opening Hours: Tue: 11:30 - 14:00, 16:00 - 19:30 Wed - Thu: 16:00 - 19:30 Fri: 11:30 - 20:00 Sat: 11:30 - 14:00, 16:00 - 19:30
Eggleston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“An all round experience...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

What is there left to say? The food is as has already been said is excellent - from pizza's to your traditional fish & chips it never disappoints. Since coming to Middleton the present owners have put their own stamp on everything from the shop to the new pies & cakes... but what makes the difference there is the people behind the counter - food is only one part of an eating experience & when I go to Middleton chip shop I know there is always a good atmosphere & a bit craic too. Best way to sum the shop up is - the food is good & the people 'get us' & have become genuine a part of our community...

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David A, Owner at Middleton In Teesdale Fish and Chip Shop, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Thank you Marcus for the lovely comments, feeling a bit emotional. It has definitely been a hectic year with a steep learning curve but it means a huge amount that the locals have stuck with and supported us, we really do feel part of the community, thank you.

Cheers,
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    7
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Darlington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Even better than Rick Stein's at Padstow!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Easily the best Fish and Chips I've had....... Well worth the 50Mile round trip to have them! Everything is cooked to order by the staff who are are a very humorous jovial bunch. All in all an excellent warm welcome and the most devine fish and chips to boot. :-) Mmm!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David A, Manager at Middleton In Teesdale Fish and Chip Shop, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Thank you for the brilliant review and yes "move over Rick!" ha ha. Really pleased you enjoy the Fish and Chips especially since you have a 50 mile round trip. Look forward to seeing you again. Regards,
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“the best fish and chips in the area!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

I love f and c , had them 5 times last week from Richmond to Whitby but these were the best by miles! The fish and batter is exceptional

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David A, Owner at Middleton In Teesdale Fish and Chip Shop, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Hello Ken . I am so pleased you enjoyed your visit to our Fish and Chip shop. Thank you for posting the review, (it was the one that moved us up from number 3) Hope to see you again before too long.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Future award winners”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

After reading the reviews on here we just had to try this place. Wow, the chips are excellent and the pies, out of this world. On our first visit they had just one "Hairy Bikers Pasty" left so my wife and I shared it, fantastic. Next time there were some Beef & Onion so we had one each, again, fantastic. Unfortunately we live 200 miles away so we need an excuse to visit the area again. One good excuse would be to try the Steak & Kidney pies. We shall be back. We didn't try anything else but it all looked good even the Homemade Lemon Meringue Pies, yes Homemade.

All the meat used in the pies comes from the family's farm, out side there are a few picnic tables and for when its raining there are even a couple of small tables in the shop.

I can't recommend this Chip Shop enough, go there and try it and then in a few years time you can tell people you went there before they started winning awards because if they carry on like they are going, Middleton in Teesdale Chip Shop will certainly be winning awards.

Very friendly people behind the counter and I wish them a lot of luck not that they need it, looking forward to my next visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David A, Owner at Middleton In Teesdale Fish and Chip Shop, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Wow, Thank you for your wonderful review. My sister Lydia was quite emotional when she read your comments about our homemade pies. You have also given us the confidence to enter an award next year, so please keep your fingers crossed for us. The lovely summer weather helped boost our sales and we have met some wonderful people who visited our shop and the picturesque village of Middleton in Teesdale. We have to admit we are worn out after the summer season and are looking forward to our Christmas break. Once again my sincere thanks for taking the time and trouble to post your kind comments. WE hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Durham
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

The best fish and chips in the area and friendly service.

The fish are cooked on demand and the batter is light and crispy. The chips are just right – and there are loads of them.

On a good day, you can sit outside and watch the world go by.

We usually follow our meal with a pint in the Teesdale Arms, opposite.

Only negative point: there are only a few tables inside, due to the lack of space.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David A, Owner at Middleton In Teesdale Fish and Chip Shop, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Thanks Del, pleased you enjoyed your Fish and Chips and thank you for taking the trouble to write a review. We are wondering how we can overcome the shortage of tables. This summer brought us superb weather and many of our customers were happy to eat outside, or under the umbrella's.
We may convert a small building to the rear of the shop, or erect a more permanent cover at the front, Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Middleton In Teesdale Fish and Chip Shop also viewed

Barnard Castle, County Durham
Barnard Castle, County Durham
 
Barnard Castle, County Durham
Barnard Castle, County Durham
 

Been to Middleton In Teesdale Fish and Chip Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Middleton In Teesdale Fish and Chip Shop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.