We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Future award winners” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Middleton In Teesdale Fish and Chip Shop

Middleton In Teesdale Fish and Chip Shop
49 Market Place | Middleton in Teesdale, Barnard Castle DL12 0RJ, England
+44 1833 640404
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $2 - $8
Cuisines: Fish & Chips, Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Description: Rural Fish and Chip Shop in Middleton in Teesdale, only 5 minutes drive from the famous "High Force" situated in the North Pennines Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty. Summer Opening Hours: Mon: (Bank Holidays only 12:00 - 18:00) Tue, Wed, Thu: 11:30 - 14:00, 16:00 - 20:00 Fri: 11:30 - 20:30 Sat: 11:30 - 14:00, 16:00 - 20:00 Sun: 12:00 - 18:00
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Future award winners”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

After reading the reviews on here we just had to try this place. Wow, the chips are excellent and the pies, out of this world. On our first visit they had just one "Hairy Bikers Pasty" left so my wife and I shared it, fantastic. Next time there were some Beef & Onion so we had one each, again, fantastic. Unfortunately we live 200 miles away so we need an excuse to visit the area again. One good excuse would be to try the Steak & Kidney pies. We shall be back. We didn't try anything else but it all looked good even the Homemade Lemon Meringue Pies, yes Homemade.

All the meat used in the pies comes from the family's farm, out side there are a few picnic tables and for when its raining there are even a couple of small tables in the shop.

I can't recommend this Chip Shop enough, go there and try it and then in a few years time you can tell people you went there before they started winning awards because if they carry on like they are going, Middleton in Teesdale Chip Shop will certainly be winning awards.

Very friendly people behind the counter and I wish them a lot of luck not that they need it, looking forward to my next visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David A, Owner at Middleton In Teesdale Fish and Chip Shop, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Wow, Thank you for your wonderful review. My sister Lydia was quite emotional when she read your comments about our homemade pies. You have also given us the confidence to enter an award next year, so please keep your fingers crossed for us. The lovely summer weather helped boost our sales and we have met some wonderful people who visited our shop and the picturesque village of Middleton in Teesdale. We have to admit we are worn out after the summer season and are looking forward to our Christmas break. Once again my sincere thanks for taking the time and trouble to post your kind comments. WE hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    11
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
County Durham
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

The best fish and chips in the area and friendly service.

The fish are cooked on demand and the batter is light and crispy. The chips are just right – and there are loads of them.

On a good day, you can sit outside and watch the world go by.

We usually follow our meal with a pint in the Teesdale Arms, opposite.

Only negative point: there are only a few tables inside, due to the lack of space.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David A, Owner at Middleton In Teesdale Fish and Chip Shop, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Thanks Del, pleased you enjoyed your Fish and Chips and thank you for taking the trouble to write a review. We are wondering how we can overcome the shortage of tables. This summer brought us superb weather and many of our customers were happy to eat outside, or under the umbrella's.
We may convert a small building to the rear of the shop, or erect a more permanent cover at the front, Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

Excellent fish and chips. I would highly recommend mince pie. Great opening times. Keep up the excellent work. We will defiantly recommend. Keep up the good work.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David A, Owner at Middleton In Teesdale Fish and Chip Shop, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Cheers for the comments about our Steak mince and onion pies. Look out for the seasonal ones coming soon.... Lamb with fresh mint and Turkey with Ham. It is good to know we are providing a good service with regards to opening times. Hope you won't be disappointed when we revert to winter opening hours in November. No more Sundays until April, but we will be open lunchtimes during half term and main school hols, in addition to our regular evenings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alconbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“great little place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Great little place. The only fish they do is cod, but its really good & fried to order. All meat products come fresh from their own local farm. Worth a visit.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David A, Owner at Middleton In Teesdale Fish and Chip Shop, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Thank you Adam for both your custom and for taking the time to write a review. Your kind words are greatly appreciated. We are relatively new to the fish and chip business so it is good to have feedback. My sister Lydia is our pie maker and has had a very busy summer, as the pies are proving very popular.

I must apologise for not letting you know we do Large Haddock as well as Cod, maybe next time??
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Fish&Chips ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Marvellous homemade chips, delicious crispy fish. Very friendly staff.
Try it, you will not be disappointed!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David A, Owner at Middleton In Teesdale Fish and Chip Shop, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for your kind review. We are very pleased you enjoyed your meal.
We have just completed our first year having never done anything like this before it has been a big learning experience for us and it is great to hear such good feedback.
It was very nice to meet you, If you are visiting the area again please do call in even just to say hello but hopefully for some more fish and chips!

Hope you enjoy the rest of your travels.

Kind Regards

Lydia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Middleton In Teesdale Fish and Chip Shop also viewed

Barnard Castle, County Durham
Barnard Castle, County Durham
 
Barnard Castle, County Durham
Barnard Castle, County Durham
 

Been to Middleton In Teesdale Fish and Chip Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Middleton In Teesdale Fish and Chip Shop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.