We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Rest Stop” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cross Lanes Organic Farm

Cross Lanes Organic Farm
Cross Lanes, Barnard Castle DL12 9RT, England
01833 630619
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A new green venture working towards an eco friendly way of living with organic, local and green thinking at the heart of everything we do. Bread and pizzas are made daily in our wood fired oven, and we serve simple rustic dishes made with local, organic and seasonal ingredients, all cooked fresh to order using traditional cooking methods. Supporting local producers the farmshop has a traditional butchers counter, delicatessen, bakery and general store with organic fruit, veg, wines, beers and baby products. All of our bread, cakes, patisserie and even chocolates are organic and are hand made in our own kitchens.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Perfect Rest Stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stop here every time we travel to Scotland and back. Perfect for just a cup of tea or something more substantial. The food is excellent, the service attentive and if you need to stock up with supplies there's a very good shop. Good clean toilets. Wheelchair friendly too.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    28
    9
    8
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Warm and Friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

An excellent place for a break in your journey. Warm and friendly, excellent food, decent coffee and comfortable seats. A plethora of local farm produce, shows in the number of awards this place has won. Well recommended. Plenty of parking as well.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Top quality on green principles”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Visited on trip going north from holiday in York. Impressive, eco-conscious built and run. Sustainable, green and local produce, top quality. Staff firendly and efficient in cafe with mouth watering food. Craft shop, deli, wines, great breads. Was raining when we arrived but saw play area for kids. Still developing site. Ample car parking. Sheep graze on grassy roof. Excellent. Innovative use of plastic bottles to make loo doors. Great idea, unique pattern. Rainwater flushes loos. Award winning project.
Butcher cut specific cuts of meat which I didn't see on counter. When cooked, best flavour ever due to the length of time meat had been hung. Hope they do mail order butcher meat! We'll return and recommend without hesitation. Well done.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great quality food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Popped in on the way over to the lakes, what a brilliant find! Food all home cooked (maybe a little expensive), but completely delicious and fantastic portion sizes. Staff were all very helpful and the place was very welcoming! Weren't sure what to get off the menu as we're both GF & lactose intolerant, but the waitress serving was very helpful with advising what we could eat. There was a great selection on the 'specials' board. Maybe try visiting during the week next time as it was very busy on a Saturday. Not sure where the other reviewers have been, as it most certainly wasn't unwelcoming! Will definitely be returning soon!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnard Castle, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wedding Reception par excellence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

On the 21st December my wife and I booked to have a small wedding reception - there was only a dozen of us upstairs. The food and the service was excellent; a day to remember. My wife is American and she commented that she only wishes that where she lives there was a Cross Lanes! Children and adults alike were thrilled with the food - thank you Cross Lanes for making our day very special ineed.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cross Lanes Organic Farm also viewed

Barnard Castle, County Durham
Barnard Castle, County Durham
 
Eggleston, Barnard Castle
Barnard Castle, County Durham
 

Been to Cross Lanes Organic Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cross Lanes Organic Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.