We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Forresters

The Forresters
52 Market Place, Barnard Castle DL12 oQH, England
+44 1833 641435
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $12 - $39
Cuisines: French
Description: Our restaurant offers dishes created from local, seasonal ingredients with a French twist. All our food is cooked fresh to order and we even make our own ice creams and bread. We can cater for individuals, parties and functions of up to 150 either in our restaurant or in our function room, offering buffets from £5.95 a head. We are fully licensed and open all year round. Children are welcome, and if you have a pet with you they can come into the bar area where we also have tables for dining. Our restaurant is open from 6-10 every night and from 12noon until 10pm at the weekend. Our bar is open until midnight.
Restaurant details
Description: Our restaurant offers dishes created from local, seasonal ingredients with a French twist. All our food is cooked fresh to order and we even make our own ice creams and bread. We can cater for individuals, parties and functions of up to 150 either in our restaurant or in our function room, offering buffets from £5.95 a head. We are fully licensed and open all year round. Children are welcome, and if you have a pet with you they can come into the bar area where we also have tables for dining. Our restaurant is open from 6-10 every night and from 12noon until 10pm at the weekend. Our bar is open until midnight.
UK
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Fresh, quality local ingredients used to produce excellent food. I can particularly recommend the home made black puddding served in the full english breakfast.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    9
    2
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bolton
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Fabulous food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

This was our first visit to the Forresters and when we visit Middleton in Teesdale again we will definitely eat here again. The interior can appear a little pretentious given its location in a down to earth village. However, the fabulous service by the young staff and the high standard of plentiful food dispel any concerns. The prices reflect the quality but even so it is good value overall. If there is one slight criticism it is that the restaurant is too dimly lit. Just a little more light would be appreciated

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Food and wonderful service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Fantastic food made by a fantastic chef and served by friendly and efficient staff. Excellent local produce cooked to perfection.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawkinge-Folkestone
2 reviews
“Verry good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Verry good food and good service. This REst. is in Middelten in Teesdale verry nice place to go to and for out eating i whil recoment this resteraunt to every body

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnard Castle, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Service Dreadful”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Went for something to eat, it took over 15mins to be noticed at the bar to get a drink, then waited another tenminutes to get the drinks, no apology, i would not have minded it the place had been busy , but it was dead a few locals in having a drink and that was it. As for staying for something to eat we drank our drinks and left to go over the road.

Would not recommend this pub.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Forresters also viewed

Barnard Castle, County Durham
Barnard Castle, County Durham
 
Barnard Castle, County Durham
Barnard Castle, County Durham
 

Been to The Forresters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Forresters, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.