We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could have been better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Figaro's

Figaro's
22 New Walker Gate, Beverley HU17 9EN, England (Formerly La Scala)
+44 (0)1482 882277
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 97 Restaurants in Beverley
Price range: $51 - $51
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Beverley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Could have been better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Have dined here a few times but on our last visit we were disappointed. Although the food was good the service was poor. The waiters acted as if they were doing us a favour. We weren't asked if our meals were ok or if we needed anymore wine which they didn't even pour out for us. It was hot and noisy and the tables were too close together. Some people on the next table had a sizzler meal and when we left all we could smell were onions! When we got home all our clothes went in the wash. Think they should make more of an effort. Will be giving Figaro's a miss for a while!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    43
    19
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
England
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice place, nice food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed an evening meal at Figaros last night with family members. Everyone enjoyed the food. Service a little slow but they were quite busy so no real problem. It wast nieces birthday and they brought out an ice cream with a candle in it which was a nice touch! Overall I would recommend Figaros as a lovely place with a good selection of food and drink .

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Evening out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We visit here quite often, the food excellent, good wine list, staff very friendly and ready to help, nothing seems to be to much for them. Will definitely be making a visit soon

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food, tentative service, if a little rushed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

I've liked this Italian since I first discovered it as La Scala several years ago.
The food is great and I love the Meat for two and the Fish for two, both of which are great. The ribs have always been spectacular. I challenge anyone to recommend better ribs.
Service is very attentative, but can feel a little pushing/table-turny. That said they are very busy and popular for a reason, the food is of good quality and there are some nice bottles to choose from. The house wine is poor, so I'd avoid that.
Lighting is OK and table room is reasonable for somewhere so busy, but obviously a couple of loud groups and the experience is a bit spoiled.
I wouldn't recommend it for a date as the food comes out so quickly after you've ordered it, you'll barely get chance to have a good conversation.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We visited Figaros last week with friends. Impressed with the restaurant, very warm and welcoming. Staff very friendly and helpful. We are vegan and the staff were very accommodating with our diet and knowledgeable. The food was excellent and we will certainly return.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Figaro's also viewed

Beverley, East Riding of Yorkshire
Beverley, East Riding of Yorkshire
 
Beverley, East Riding of Yorkshire
Beverley, East Riding of Yorkshire
 

Been to Figaro's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Figaro's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.