We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely all round” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sugar and Spice

Sugar and Spice
52 Lairgate | Beverley, Beverley HU17 8EU, England
+44 1482 872000
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 103 Restaurants in Beverley
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dessert
Description: Beverley's vegetarian cafe and home of the Beverley Bun! We are a very dog friendly cafe (dogs welcomed with a biscuit and bowl of water) with a fab, ever-changing range of cakes including a wide of vegan and a wide choice of gluten free cakes, all homemade, all utterly delicious! We have a range of lunch snacks, soups and hot meals every day, all made in house.
Yorkshireman
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Lovely all round”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

Called in for Saturday lunch, only a few tables occupied but pleasant atmosphere and friendly staff.
We both opted for small soup and half panini.
Soup was lentil, lovely and delicious.
Balsamic roasted veg panini and goats cheese with caramelised onion panini tried, both were great and we would certainly have them again, they came served with a small salad that was very fresh.
I had to try a piece of cake, cookies and cream and it was lovely.
Coffee very nice too. All at a reasonable price.
We are not vegetarian but can recommend eating here and we will certainly be back soon.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    13
    6
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lincolnshire
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“First time visit but not the last!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Came across this cafe by accident its just one street from the market area & we were in need of a coffee. Don't let the fact is a vegetarian cafe put you of If you are not vegetarian after all when was the last time you had meat in a cake! We received a very warm welcome was made a coffee which was off menu with our choice of skimmed milk. We ordered a strawberry coconut slice and a chocolate orange cake. Both me & my husband cannot praise this enough it was all homemade and so delicious. By far the best cake we've had from a coffee shop ever. Also the coffee was delicious. We will be back thanks for making your cafe unique we need more places like this & less plastic food served in soulless franchised coffee shops. Please visit it's worth it! We'll be back when next in Beverley we won't go anywhere else now!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A good place for tea and cake”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

We found this cafe on a street away from the main shopping centre. It was quiet when we visited late afternoon. There was a good choice of cakes which catered for all tastes, gluten intolerant and vegan included. Very tasty.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waltham, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Not as expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

I'd wanted to try here because of the excellent reviews I'd read. Unfortunately, even though it was lunchtime, it was almost empty. I'd expected to find a cosy, welcoming atmosphere but was hugely disappointed. Staff sat at a table chatting which, although not intrusive, only heightened the feeling of its being a run of the mill cafe. Nothing tempted us to stay for more than just a coffee, not even the delicious looking cakes, which we might have enjoyed had we been able to eat more than a very light lunch first. I accept I should perhaps have enquired beforehand about the menu but, having seen reviews of chilli etc, I'd expected more. Next time I come to Beverley, I will give it another go, but for coffee and cakes only.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Driffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Food, Cakes and more Cakes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Haven't been in for a while as we've not been in the area but needed to eat in Beverley and of course this was first choice. Had the chilli which was excellent, plentiful tasty and fresh followed by a very nice Lime & Chocolate cake, when I say nice I mean NICE!

The atmosphere is lovely, the place is unique, clean as ever & its a refuge from the usual places in what is becoming a very commercial town and losing its character fast.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sugar and Spice also viewed

Beverley, East Riding of Yorkshire
Beverley, East Riding of Yorkshire
 
Beverley, East Riding of Yorkshire
Beverley, East Riding of Yorkshire
 

Been to Sugar and Spice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sugar and Spice, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.