We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Contemporary Japanese excellence” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ogino Japanese Restaurant

Ogino Japanese Restaurant
1st Floor Beaver House | Butcher Row, Beverley HU17 0AA, England
+44 1482 679500
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Ogino Japanese Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 97 Restaurants in Beverley
Price range: $12 - $55
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The food we serve at Ogino is authentic modern Japanese cuisine. The menu, conceived by proprietor and chef Rieko Ogino, is diverse and imaginative. She prides herself on delivering a full food experience that's not only creative, but also delivers an array of complex and exquisite flavours. Her concept of modern Japanese cooking using local Yorkshire produce has proved to be a real winning formula. The menu naturally consists of beautiful sushi, but also extensively embraces fresh cooked fish and shellfish, meat including beef and pork, poultry such as chicken and duck. There are many healthy options, special dishes and a wide selection of vegetarian and Gluten free dishes available. Just remember, It's not all about sushi and raw fish you know!
Beverley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Contemporary Japanese excellence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

A very modern take on Japanese food, excellent presentation, ambient surroundings and above all amazing food.
Highly recommended

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    47
    15
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
1 review
“Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Decided on impulse to try eating here and was not disappointed in the slightest. I had a Miso to start which was well presented and tasted excellent. For main I had crispy belly pork and scallop rice which tasted beautiful. Desert was a very good triple chocolate brownie with ice cream. Service was good and menu had choice without being overwhelming. Have recommended to family and friends since my visit and would recommend to anyone else wanting to eat out in Beverley.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent birthday meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

We decided to go for something different as we had not been to a Japanese restaurant before. We felt that the Set Menu was excellent value for money and both had the Sushi of the day which were Salmon and Seabass Nigiri. We enjoyed our main meals and the Green Tea Creme Brûlée was one of the best desserts we had. A very minor point was that there was only one person serving so service was slow at times although good and pleasant overall. We also enjoyed our first Sake. In summary, an excellent experience in a nice relaxing atmosphere.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“tried it once, it was enough.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Edamame beans and pork dumplings following by tempura veg, tempura prawn and noodle. One glass of red and one beer. £46.00.

A fair price for a meal for two but not the best value for money... we both left hungry which was a shame. Not sure if it was the hunger putting me in a bad mood but the atmosphere was flat, not tranquil as I would expect from a Japanese restaurant, but flat. We were seated in a booth for 6 to start with, over an hour before we received our mains and then it was just run-of-the-mill fare.

It would be easy to get excited because it is the only Japanese restaurant in Beverley so it has no peers but on this particular occasion I would have swapped it for a chain like Ask or Pizza Express, a bit cheaper and not left hungry.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“1st class food & service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Great Japanese food & service. My wife & i will definateley be returning to this gem of a place. i would reccommend this friendly clean restaurant to anyone.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ogino Japanese Restaurant also viewed

Beverley, East Riding of Yorkshire
Beverley, East Riding of Yorkshire
 
Beverley, East Riding of Yorkshire
Beverley, East Riding of Yorkshire
 

Been to Ogino Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ogino Japanese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.