We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mix and match” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Beverley Arms Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Beverley Arms Hotel to your Saves list
Beverley Arms Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   25 North Bar Within, Beverley HU17 8DD, England (Formerly Brook Beverley Arms Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Beverley
Durham, England
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Mix and match”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

This is an anomaly. The staff were exceptionally polite, courteous, thoughtful and did everything to make us welcome. The dinner was very good, tasty, well cooked and although the bill was in excess of £50 given that we had three courses each (two of us) in a hotel this was about right. The car park at the back of the hotel was very handy. We were in room 401, the top of the 'newer' extension which is an ugly carbuncle. The room was a let down, the carpet was heavily stained, the furniture very tired and shabby. The mattress was very soft and saggy so a bad back resulted. The bed linen was spotless which was comforting. Breakfast was average, the omelette was strange??frozen as it was plain with the ham and mushroom sandwiched in the middle. At checkout my husband politely told the receptionist that we had been unable to have a shower, having to run a luke warm bath which proved difficult to hair wash etc etc. The response was 'you should have rung down and you could have used another room' I find this difficult as was I expected to run along a corridor in a towel? She didn't understand that we only found the shower was not working when we were ready to get in it that morning. I naively thought there may be an apology or discount? It was disruptive and annoying. The staff must become fed up by having to apologise constantly about the environment. It is a shame as the hotel is in an excellent location. I would have to think twice before returning.

Room Tip: Don't go on top floor of newer extension
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    83
    62
    52
    25
See reviews for
37
111
12
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Billericay, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

After booking online through a separate website we initially booked room only and were phoned the week before our visit suggesting that we booked breakfast which we did. They also warned us about a wedding on the weekend of our booking. We continued our booking however we now regret going ahead! The room was disappointing and tatty, with a very poor shower and a broken toilet seat. The extremely warm evening was exacerbated by the fact that the window did not open very far and there was air conditioning or fan. We went to breakfast on the first day and were very disappointed. The food was extremely salty, grey poached eggs and croissants were stale. We cancelled breakfast for the rest of our stay. Then to cap it all when we left we were overcharged on the bill by £15 over the agreed price. Location is excellent as was the parking in a private car park with token access. Having spoken to reception after our departure they have agreed to refund back to agreed cost.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Stayed with my partner on a Friday evening. I was concerned about paying 77 pounds for a room in this hotel - especially when they said they only had twin rooms or suites left. But it was convenient for what we were doing and where we were meeting.
Ok check-in. Room was in what can only be described as concrete block in the car park. Premier Inn or Travel Lodge would have been better - it had old furniture, old curtains that didn't fit properly and a nasty old style bathroom that looked like it had been decorated in the 1960s.
Walls were like paper and we were woken early by a rude guest who had decided to watch the television at 0545.
We were eating elsewhere - but did want to make use of the bar, because the weather was great and the hotel has a really nice courtyard. Before our dinner we went for a drink at 1930 - a busy time in any hotel bar - only one person serving - and when I say serving i really mean struggling.
She was simply overwhelmed. A guest before me wanted a full bottle of wine rather than a glass which was more than she could cope with on the cash machine. I ordered a pint which was overflowing and I asked her to wipe the glass - she wiped it around the top of the glass with an old dishcloth - which resulted in me requesting another pint.
Went to dinner and came back - still chaos. People waiting a long time for a drink. I ordered a Peroni - and she asked someone who was supposed to be helping her serve to get the Peroni for her from the fridge. Her helper declared that the Peroni was warm - so I had to send her in search of a cold one. I also asked for 2 glasses of wine (about 5 pounds each) This was also warm and I was told that it was because it had only been in the fridge for an hour. Again I asked for a colder glass - which was found by searching further back in the fridge. I felt very sorry for her and another guest asked her who had trained her - as while serving me she had forgotten to complete another order. She should never have been put in that position and it did no favours for the hotel or the guests who were simply frustrated.
Midnight came and we decided to get one more drink - but no staff at the bar and no staff at reception..until the night porter arrived to tell us that he was now the porter, receptionist and barman. Ordered two gin and tonics - he had to go searching for clean glasses which were warm and the tonic water was warm too - it hadn't been in the fridge. Went to bed - disturbed sleep - and went somewhere else for breakfast before returning for check-out. No "how was your stay" or thank you" from the receptionist...I presume they don't ask because they know people are going to complain.
This place could be brilliant - it is in an amazing location and the atmosphere in the bar and courtyard could be brilliant. It needs money spending on it and fast - and you only pay for the location.
Never again!

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed here for my husbands 65th birthday, just 2 nights and also we got an amazing deal from mighty deals just £85 for 2 night B & B, so couldn't complain about value for money.
The reception was welcoming and very friendly.
We were given room 218, which was only accessible by climbing 2 steep flights of stairs, and were sorry we didn't accept the offer of help with our luggage.
The room was very small, in fact in my opinion should have been a single with a double bed stuffed into it, we literally had to move furniture around so we had somewhere to put our suitcase, but to be fair when we mentioned it to reception they offered to look for another room, but we refused as we had already unpacked and were on our way out and also the fact it was just for 2 nights we could manage.
The bed was clean and very comfortable, although the room itself was not very clean. We found 3 hairgrips and a large plastic bangle on the bedroom floor, and a bottle top (which we left purposely to see how long it would be before it got moved) behind the bathroom door.
Breakfast was very good, with excellent service, with a very good choice. We chose not to eat dinner in the hotel, although everything looked beautifully laid out.
Bar prices are very fair and everyone was so friendly it was a pleasure to stay.
Will definitely go back, but ask in advance for a better room.

Room Tip: ask for larger room and accept assistance with luggage if you get a 2nd floor room in the old buildi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

From the street in Beverley (which is rightly known as the gem of the East Riding of Yorkshire) and opposite the quaint St Mary's Church, is the Beverley Arms Hotel, and with its lovely Georgian frontage you're expecting quite a treat inside. Alas at the time of writing this is sadly not the case. The interior is somewhat tired and yesteryear and looks as if it hasn't had a thorough makeover since the late 80s. The carpets are dated and somewhat stained in the front dining room and our bedroom - although clean and comfortable, suffered from the same overall tiredness and lack of inspiration. The bathroom was worse and literally to the point of exhaustion from the stained bath tub to the dribbling ineffective shower. It basically just needed ripping out and starting over!
Staff though were friendly and efficient and the 2 breakfasts we had were reasonable, though lacking any sort of inspiration especially at the self service level. Come ON Beverley! This place should be and could be the feather in your very attractive cap!

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the Church or courtyard in the older part of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cabridgeshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Arriving at the hotel it seems a very grand hotel. The bar area and courtyard was very nice, but the room itself was poorly cleaned and dated and was certainly not one of the rooms pictured on the website.

The bathroom had been cleaned to a standard (don't know who's std), there was still hairs in the bath and marks in the toilet - not a nice extra!

Laying on the bed I put my head on one of the cushions to get a long blond hair on my face (I'm bald so know wasn't mine).
i did manage to get some sleep but had to sleep on top of duvet with window open as was so hot and no air con in room.

At the bar, waited nearly 10 mins for pint of lager shandy and other customer couldn't get what he wanted as they'd ran out 3days before. The staff where however very polite and did their best to help although seemed a little under staffed.

Unfortunately breakfast wasn't much better.

If a little bit of. TLC was given to the hotel, it would be a fantastic place to stay and I would certainly then go back but for the same price I'd opt for the nearest premier inn!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

What a great Hotel, The Food outstanding, The rooms delightfull even though the Bathroom was Clean but dated in design. The Staff very friendly. We had the biggest and tastiest Breafast that resulted in clean plates all round.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beverley Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beverley Arms Hotel

Address: 25 North Bar Within, Beverley HU17 8DD, England (Formerly Brook Beverley Arms Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Beverley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Beverley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Beverley Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 18th-century coaching inn is close to the medieval town centre, is privately owned and undergoing constant upgrading and refurbishments. 800 metres from Beverley Rail Station and Beverley Minster. The Beverley Arms was built in 1794. It mixes original character and traditional furnishings with modern comforts. When it was a coaching house, the building had connections with the famous criminal, Dick Turpin. It still has original stone floors. It offers good transport links to York, Leeds Hull, Doncaster and Sheffield. Hotel Rooms: 56. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Beverley Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beverley Arms Hotel Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beverley Arms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.