We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stately town church” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. Mary's Church Beverley

St. Mary's Church Beverley
St. Marys Court, Beverley HU17 8DG, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 19 things to do in Beverley
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Stately town church”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

A beautifully proportioned church. Look out for the members of the musicians' guild on the pillar near the altar

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    21
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Louth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Visit the White Rabbit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

This is a beautiful church, opposite the Beverley Arms Hotel and next to the memorial gardens. In some ways it is overshadowed by it's near neighbour, the Minster, but please take the time to visit. It is well worth it, with wonderful windows. Lewis Carrols White Rabbit can be found here. Stop and say hello.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King George, Virginia
1 review
“What a Wonderful, Beautiful and Historical Site”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

The St Mary's Church Beverley is a wonderful historic site, and a beautiful site. The inspiration for Lewis Carroll's White rabbit is found in a carving in the Sacristy, the Chancel ceiling from 1445 is truly spectacular, as is the Minstrels' pillar. June, the care taker of St Mary's is not only very knowledgeable and personable but willing to take all of the time need to answer all of your questions.
My wife and I can not say enough positive things about our visit to St Mary's Beverley. We were so pleased with our visit to Beverley that we plan to return with our whole family al the way from the USA.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staines Upon Thames
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“A Place of Peace and Spiritual Calm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

This church is one of the most beautiful I have visited. Its architecture is wonderful with the most fantastic ceilings - but most importantly it is has none of the commercial feel of many other churches. A friendly welcome from the staff and no pressure to make a contribution to the church funds. Personally I felt this was a more fulfilling visit than Beverly Minster because of the clam and peaceful environment. And one other nice feature is The Rose and Crown pub just opposite - a great place for lunch and a decent pint of ale.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Saint Mary's church, Beverley”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Lovely old church with lots of points of interest, my favourite was the icons of the kings on the ceiling. The caretaker took time to show us the bullet hole, fired bt a german bomber returning from a raid over Hull, in the stained glass window that went through a pew ending up embedded in the pew behind, miraculously not injuring anyone. Well worth a visit

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Mary's Church Beverley also viewed

Beverley, East Riding of Yorkshire
Beverley, East Riding of Yorkshire
 
Beverley, East Riding of Yorkshire
Beverley, East Riding of Yorkshire
 

Been to St. Mary's Church Beverley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Mary's Church Beverley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.