We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous staff, lovely Restaurant..Food is tasteless!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Great Wall

Great Wall
16 Bridlington Road, Driffield YO25 8AN, England
01262481689
Improve this listing
Ranked #45 of 56 restaurants in Driffield
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Hull
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Fabulous staff, lovely Restaurant..Food is tasteless!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

On arrival we were greeted and treat like royalty, you cannot fault the many staff for their care and attention, in a lovely warm beautifully modern traditional style Chinese restaurant, the portions were a decent size albeit a bit overpriced. The down side was that the food was boring and bland, with very little taste, and only warm, even the sizzling platter my Son had wasn't sizzling, With good flavours and better pricing this restaurant would be on my list of regular visits, unfortunately until the food improves ...we will not be returning!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

50% Recommend
    1
    2
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Luckily we was passing by and didn't travel specially.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Arrived on a busy saturday night so there was an expected wait for our food but must say the price didnt reflect the quality of the food or the portion sizes. (small)

Very average, over all dissapointing.

Couldnt fault the staff, all friendly and served with a smile but expected better for the high prices.

Have had far better and sadly wont be returning.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Nice Rendang beef and lemon chicken”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

We were having a nice dinner in the restaurant :-)

Thank you for serving a nice Rendang beef and my bf enjoyed a lot of the lemon supreme delight!

Although we found a portion of rice is too small for the price ! But overall is good foods ;) thanks again!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Driffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Some friends and myself went here for a night out after work and because it was Yorkshire Day and any excuse for a meal out.. Décor very nice and welcoming. Were seated near bar area whilst waiting for everyone to arrive and the gentleman who served our drinks and supplied us with menus was very polite and pleasant. He took our orders and then we were seated at our table. Very good to be seated at a round table which meant that everyone could take part in the conversations. Food was very good, and we all enjoyed the meals we had chosen.. I was too full to contemplate a dessert, but they looked delicious and the few who did partake were not disappointed. There was only one thing that spoiled the whole experience and that was the attitude of one of the waitresses. She was extremely rude, even though there was a turntable in the centre, she insisted on stretching across people to remove dishes and even removed a plate from one of us who was still eating from it.

All in all, despite this one low point, we had a very enjoyable evening and I would recommend this for a night out.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Great Wall also viewed

Driffield, East Riding of Yorkshire
Driffield, East Riding of Yorkshire
 
Hornsea, East Riding of Yorkshire
Flamborough, East Riding of Yorkshire
 

Been to Great Wall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Great Wall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.