We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spa day” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN The Bell In Driffield

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN The Bell In Driffield to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN The Bell In Driffield
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Market Place, Driffield YO25 6AN, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Driffield
Filey, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Spa day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

Went to spa today on voucher and afternoon tea. Spa facilities very nice pool steam room etc. friendly welcome by staff. Went with three friends for spa they all enjoyed it too. Plenty to eat for tea scones, cakes,sandwiches and very good value for money.
Would av been nice to try massage etc but booked up, girl on reception said next time give plenty of notice. Will definatly go again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    50
    17
    15
    17
See reviews for
16
53
8
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Redcar
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Stayed in Room 21 on 14th February for 2 nights. Large room at front of hotel so there was some noise from late revellers on Saturday night but not too bad. We ate in the hotel both evenings and although the dinners were not the best we have ever had there was nothing to complain about. Breakfasts were great: a very good selection. Well stocked bar selling beers, wines and spirits at reasonable prices. What makes this hotel stand out is the staff. They looked after us very well and went about their tasks with a smile. Although difficult to single any out for specific recognition both Amy and Belle were a joy.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

I can only express my sincere disappointment at the food offered at this establishment. Some friends and I ate there last night, appalling tasteless poor quality food. The mackerel pâté was far too course for a fish pâté, The mushrooms were uninspired and the fruit salad simply boring. Far better food available locally at half the price.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amyrichardson, Manager at BEST WESTERN The Bell In Driffield, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
I am sorry that you didn't enjoy your meal, as many of the other people that were in your party that evening said how nice everything was.
Just to clarify that the mackerel starter wasn't actually a pate, and wasn't listed as one. And the fresh fruit salad had at least 8 different fruits in it, I'm not really sure what else you can do with fresh fruit salad to make it more interesting.
At £19 for a 3 course meal followed by tea/coffee in our restaurant we thought we were offering good value.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

My husband bought myself and my daughter a spa day package with the hotel stay as a gift. Having checked out all of the reviews and negative comments on here I was tempted to contact them and request a refund. How glad I am we didn't.

We arrived ay 9.30 am on Saturday Morning and parked immediately outside the car park is small but we didn't have a problem. We were taken to our twin room it was clean and well heated with no problems what so ever. The rooms where huge and the bathroom more then adequate. bath robes and everything provided. It was very clean although the shower was not great, it was ok but not great. We then where taken for Scones, cream, Jam and Coffee we could take as many as we wanted and they where very nice.

Then we went to the spa where we had our own room for the day with drinks, Music, robes and the works. The lady who took us round and explained every thing was great. We had the super spa to ourselves in with the price and also the mud treatment and sauna. All of this was for our own private use. Light lunch was provided ( It was huge) and then we had our facial and massage this was the best one I have ever had and my daughter said the same. We stayed in the spa using their excellent facilities until 6.30 pm then it was back to the room.

A three course meal followed and then a few drinks, I was concerned we would hear noise from the pub across the road but never heard a peep and on a Saturday night that's not bad going they where open until 3am , well you have to call in for a drink don't you!!! We had a great nights sleep and then up for a full cooked breakfast (with a very varied menu and lots of cold options too).

We could not have had better or friendlier service from either the spa or the hotel. Yes the hotel is old fashioned but its more quirky then anything else and not dirty. The package was very well priced, value for money and enjoyed by us both. Our thanks to all staff concerned we will be back.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amyrichardson, Manager at BEST WESTERN The Bell In Driffield, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
We are glad you gave it a chance!! The hotel is very much 'you love it or you hate it'. Thank you for the lovely comments and we hope we will see you again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scarboro north yorks
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed here overnight to attend a Christmas function. Check in was quick with a nice warm welcome and we were shown to our room. Walking along the corridor was like stepping back in time steps, corners, creaky floorboards and lots of period furniture and nick nacks all over
. Our room was spotlessly clean with old fashioned furniture and William Morris type wallpaper all in keeping with the hotel's character. The bathroom was huge and again spotless. bathrobes and plenty of towels provided. The shower wasn't the most powerful but the bathtub was deep and hot water plentiful. The hairdryer provided was a wall mounted one and was not much good so best take your own.
Breakfast was an excellent typical English cooked to order and served piping hot.
The hotel is full of character and it must be a nightmare keeping all those nooks and crannies filled with old fashioned ornaments clean but the cleaning team achieve this to a high standard..All the staff we met were lovely and went out of their way to ensure a pleasant stay
The only disappointment was a very uncomfortable matress which had seen better days so not the best nights sleep despite the cosy bedding and quiet hotel.
We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again but wouldn't use on line booking as this turned out to be an expensive option better to deal with hotel directly and this would have been better value.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amyrichardson, Manager at BEST WESTERN The Bell In Driffield, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
They really are a credit to us and we feel lucky to have them. Thank you for your lovely comments, hope to see you again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Driffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

Had lunch with a party of friends in the restuarant, but did not enjoy the experience this time around because the room was so cold! In fact there was no arm welcome anywhere in the Hotel no matter which public room you were in!

Room Tip: If visiting the Hotel in winter months take your winter woollies with you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romford
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Excellent hotel that poseses lots of character and old world charm, great local food this together with the friendly staff who made us feel very welcome during a very enjoyable stay, I can recomend this jewel on the wolds to Yorkshire visitors We will certainly stay there again

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN The Bell In Driffield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN The Bell In Driffield

Address: Market Place, Driffield YO25 6AN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Driffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Driffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN The Bell In Driffield 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An 18th-century listed hotel situated in the centre of Driffield ‘the capital of the wolds’. Tastefully furnished with antiques and fine arts, it boasts 16 individually styled suites and bedrooms, a beautiful oak paneled restaurant and The Oak Bar, featuring around 300 malt whiskies and local hand pulled cask conditioned real ales. The hotel also offers an unrivaled range of leisure facilities; swimming pool, sauna, steam room, Jacuzzi, super spa, rasul, flotation tank, full nautilus gym, beauty salon featuring Clarins, hairdressers, squash court and snooker room etc. Situated within easy reach of historic Beverley and York. Award winning disabled access. Hotel not suitable for children under 16 years old. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN The Bell In Driffield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western The Bell In Driffield Hotel Driffield
Best Western Driffield
Driffield Best Western
BEST WESTERN The Bell In Driffield Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN The Bell In Driffield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.