We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hirondelle a charming bungalow with beautiful views
Hirondelle a charming bungalow with beautiful views
Hirondelle a charming bungalow with beautiful views
Garden & Countryside view from Patio
Kitchen Area fitted with modern integrated appliances, including dishwasher
Lounge Area with comfortable large sofas, freeview TV, DVD CD & ipod docking station
Dining Area seating 5 - 6 people
Quistinic
|
Rental Home – 
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Treen48
Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful home from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We had a wonderful time at Hirondelle. The newly furnished cottage has everything you could wish for and the surroundings are beautiful. Lots of opportunities for walking and easy driving distance from beaches and other attractions. We loved the peace and quiet at dusk on the patio. Mary and Chris were so hospitable and even provided some food for us on our first night as we arrived late on a Sunday. We would definitely recommend Hirondelle.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 3 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Yster76
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“A perfect family holiday in a stunning location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We spent one week at Hirondelle (2 adults and a 5 year old). We were greeted by the owners (Chris and Mary) on arrival and presented with a lettuce and pumpkin from their veggie patch. There was also a welcome pack so we didn't need to pop to the shops before settling in.

The cottage was very clean and comfortable with every kitchen gadget you can think of, you could even bake a cake if you wanted to. Chris and Mary have done an absolutely fantastic job renovating it. It is very clean and modern yet still retains its charm. The large patio is the perfect spot to sit and enjoy the sunshine and watch the kids playing on the lawn.

The location is ideal for young families with a large and very safe lawn for kids to run around on as well as a playhouse, swing and slide. My son absolutely loved the playhouse and adopted it as his "office".

There was so much to do in the surrounding areas we could easily have spent two weeks there and gone somewhere different each day. Lorient, Vannes, Josselin all within 30-40 drive and the roads around the cottage are also safe for little ones to cycle.

Chris and Mary were wonderful hosts, always on hand if we needed anything (including veg from their garden) but were always very careful to avoid being intrusive. Mary even brought us a plate of pastries fresh from the oven one evening. They invited my little one to help pick some veg for dinner and introduced us to the local farmer so he could watch the cows being milked.

Booking was really simple and communication was excellent. This was without a doubt the best rental experience we have had. Chris and Mary have put a lot of love and hard work into this property and have definitely raised our expectations. We would give them an extra star rating if that were possible.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Chris and Mary and their attention to detail
Liked least: We only had one week
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
alicarr71
Torquay, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“all we needed and more......”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Marys "what not to pack" list was perfect..........we had all the necessaries provided before we ventured to the supermarket. The accomodation was first class for my husband and I and our daughters loved the fact they had their own bathroom! Mary and Chris were so accomodating, they were like our own Tourist Information office. We were surprised with freshly baked French nibbles from Marys kitchen and a generous variety of produce from Chris's veg patch. Set in beautiful, safe surroundings.......we have had to rebook !

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: hassle free
Liked least: leaving!
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Kathryn H
Cambridgeshire
1 review
“A real home from home, excellent value, very kind owners!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

This is a real escape to the country. Beautiful setting surrounded by fields. So peaceful but beaches are within 45 minute drive.
The owners have thought of everything, the welcome pack had everything we needed for the first 24hrs we were there. It was all the little extras-dishwasher tablets, hand soap at all the sinks, the place was spotlessly clean and we were even given veg/salad from the veggie patch. We would highly recommend Hirondelle.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The cleanliness, the welcome pack, the attention to detail.
Liked least: Nothing we did not like.
Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Debs2913
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“What a wonderful little gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We can't thank the hosts Mary and Chris enough for their hospitality during our stay at their wonderful cottage. When we arrived there was a much appreciated welcome pack with everything we needed to start our holiday. Chris and Mary are so very helpful with their knowledge of the local area and recommending the best places to eat ect. The cottage was spotlessly clean and very comfortable, my husband and I went with my Mum and Dad and it was so useful that both bedrooms were en-suite with excellent showers. Mary even brought over little appetizers each evening which we felt was a lovely touch as well as being very tasty! We all felt that it was a real home from home,nothing was too much trouble and it was all very relaxing and comfortable. I would highly recommend the cottage to anyone and hope to return myself one day.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Nicol F
Paignton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“It's not just a place to stay, it's a home with a heart that you don't want to leave”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

My husband and our 2 x friends with their 3 year old daughter stayed here in June and can't believe the hospitality given by the owners Chris & Mary.
On arrival we were greeted with beautifully homemade appetizers, a bottle of wine & some beer and an array of goodies in the fridge including milk & butter. Such a relief when you've been travelling to know you don't have to rush out to a supermarket as soon as you arrive.
The property is in a stunning location with some lovely walks and our friends felt completely happy and relaxed letting their daughter run around freely. The pool is spotlessly clean, maintained regularly AND a comfortable temperature.
The cottages have been lovingly restored to a very high standard and we highly recommend that you ask Chris & Mary to look at the photo's before the renovation. Amazing amount of work done, inspirational.
Although you are surrounded by amazing countryside you are only a short drive from civilisation and the local village is in walking distance.
If you want a relaxing, uninterrupted holiday that feels like home from home then this is the place to stay.
We personally rely on recommendations and we can't recommend this place highly enough.
Thank you Chris & Mary. We will be coming back for sure.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Atmosphere
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$775
/ Week
Make Inquiry
Owner
Mary S
33 297 256850
Speaks English, French
Listed since : Apr 2012
Response Rate: 84 %
Response Time: Within a day
Calendar Updated: 24 days ago
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing