We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's the little things” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hartland Quay Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hartland Quay Hotel to your Saves list
Hartland Quay Hotel
Hartland, Bideford EX39 6DU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Bideford
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“It's the little things”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

People matter to the staff of this hotel and they go out of their way to look after you. Fantastic views, unfussy food and perfectly adequate hotel facilities make this the perfect place for a switch off. Don't tell everyone!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    78
    29
    14
    4
See reviews for
30
89
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Clean rooms, decent grub, nice scenery, friendly & helpful staff. You really must try this place for yourself - it's so much greater than the sum of its parts. It's quite simply a magical place that you will want to return to time & again.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitchurch on Thames, UK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

I was on the way home from a break in Cornwall and ventured out of my way for lunch at the hotel, it is at the bottom of a very steep cliff. I stayed there a couple of years ago. The menu is fairly basic, but the food is delicious, reasonably priced and good sized portions. After a walk up the cliff path (it's steep) I was very tired on my return, so asked if the had a room for one for one night B&B. They had and I was shown up to room 6, a very comfortable room with an on-suite shower room. The best bit of the room was the view out of the window - superb! In the bar that night I was told it would be very quite, but it was fairly busy and very entertaining. Speaking of the bar, it is called The Wreckers Retreat, there are many interesting exhibits and details about local ship wrecks and the history of the quay, all very interesting. In season the is a museum which is even more interesting. If you turn right out of the hotel down the slipway to the beach, there are some amazing rock formations, you will have to do some more digging to find out how it happened (see photo).

Room Tip: Some rooms have a limited view, so state if you want a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Siting in the bar as I write this, stranded by the weather on our way to lundy. The greeting has been superb, the food is good value pub grub, but most important is the atmosphere. It's as if we have walked into an extended family's lunchtime, an elderly lady has trapped her hand in the door and is being treated as though she is everyone's gran.
We will have to come back and stay

Room Tip: Not staying this time but will have to come again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We stayed here for two nights at the end of September for a romantic break. The hotel is in a wonderful location with some unique history and artefacts. the beach is rugged and beautiful. The hotel is right on some walking routes and we had a lovely exerting 8 mile walk to Hartland Point Lighthouse. The village of Hartland is a charming place with a wonderful meal to be had at the Hart Inn. Highly recommended

Room Tip: a front room in one of the bay windows has wonderful views over the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bideford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

we are local, but still really enjoy visiting this pub at all times of the year. The beer and service are great, as is the food. But the best bit is the view- majestical in the summer, awesome in the winter!! Top tip- if the weather is not too bad and your party are up to it, park in the car park halfway down the hill and walk the rest. the walk back up helps let the food go down, but the turn around and look at the view- stunning!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We dined here on evening in September while staying in Upper Clovelly and looking for somewhere reasonably close to eat. The pub is quite good and the desserts were amazingly unexpected in such a locale!

The pub gets busy with locals which adds to the flavour of the place for tourists. The views of the coastline are simply breathtaking to say nothing of the sunset. I was just overwhelmed with the landscape (and I have lived in England for a period!!).

Staying in the local area? Do yourself a favour and visit for a late afternoon drink or dinner - its truly memorable and up there with a sunset at Darwin (in Australia) for breathtaking.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hartland Quay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hartland Quay Hotel

Address: Hartland, Bideford EX39 6DU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Bideford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Bideford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hartland Quay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hartland Quay
Hartland Quay Hotel Bideford, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hartland Quay Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.