We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dramatic location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hartland Quay Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hartland Quay Hotel to your Saves list
Hartland Quay Hotel
Hartland, Bideford EX39 6DU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Bideford
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Dramatic location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Really stormy night, so a very dramatic setting on the cliff edge! Room had fantastic views, very nice refurbished shower room, though could do with an extractor as it did steam up a bit. All very clean and comfortable, tasty breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    78
    29
    14
    4
See reviews for
30
89
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Ok, it's not an inn, it's a hotel. But it looks like the sort of place that smugglers would meet. It isn't in a town or a village. It is built on a rocky outcrop by a disused quay and next to some cliffs that look like a textbook demonstration for tectonic plate movement. If you like dramatic settings, you will love this place. When we were there, the sea was fairly rough and the grass in front of the hotel was covered in froth blown from the tops of the waves as they crashed into the rocks. The rooms are a little dated but this place is worth a stay for the location alone. The staff are excellent, there's plenty of parking space and the food is good wholesome fare.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newnham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

The location was outstanding and the beach just a few yards away. Lots of staff; all very friendly, helpful and professional. Uneven ground was not the best for disabled member of the group and the lounge area of our accomodation was upstairs. There is however a lounge area in the main hotel. Accomodation slightly dated but very clean; the mattress was in need of replacement.
Breakfast was without doubt one of the best and eating in for two nights we had a wide range of food in the bar - all very good. Service was very good even though there were lots of customers. We would certainly go back to stay.

Room Tip: Not all of the rooms have a good view - worth asking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights at the end of August. We'd seen very mixed reviews, but as we were booking at late notice, decided to go for it and we weren't disappointed. The hotel is in the most amazing location and our room had views of the rocks and the sea. Our room was large and airy with a large brand new en suite shower room (with a fantastic shower). We ate in the pub both nights and (after reading some of these reviews) were pleasantly surprised. Good quality pub food with great friendly service. If you're looking for somewhere with the wow factor in terms of location, this is the place for you!

Room Tip: Room 4 has a brand new bathroom with a fantastic (huge!) shower!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We visited here in July 2012 expecting to stay for half an hour for drinks. We ended up having a wonderful meal, so much better than the Hoops Inn. The staff were very friendly and welcoming and accommodating.
We had to wait for dinner to start at 6pm which was a little disappointing but we had a good time outside with the children.
Would really recommend this place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

The title says it all really. We have been to the Quay twice now this week while holidaying in the area. It's just up a ramp from a lovely little beach that's great for the kids to paddle or fish in the rock pools at low tide. Once you've done that, you can head on up to sit outside to take in some majestic views over the Bristol Channel, with Lundy in the distance and enjoy a couple of pints of local hand pulled beer which is ather good or even some local cider.

We've not had any food at the Quay so cannot comment there but if it's a drink while watching the tide come in the I seriously can recommend this place.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

A stunning location, Hartland Quay Inn is surrounded on three sides by jagged, vertical rocks, and can be very dramatic indeed when the seas are rough. The room was a realy pleasant surprise, far better than I was expecting, and with a great big bath, a delight as I was walking a section of the coast path. The bar had a good selection of real ales, but as with many other reviews here, the food was really substandard. Way too many places in UK seem to think that all a kitchen needs is a freezer, microwave and deep fat fryer. It's a shame because with a little imagination this place could transform itself by sorting out the FOOD!

Room Tip: Some rooms have sea views - the other rooms have no view at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hartland Quay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hartland Quay Hotel

Address: Hartland, Bideford EX39 6DU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Bideford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Bideford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hartland Quay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hartland Quay
Hartland Quay Hotel Bideford, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hartland Quay Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.