We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"I can't stop laughing - my tummy hurts!"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Big Sheep

The Big Sheep
Abbotsham, Bideford EX39 5AP, England
+44 1237 472366
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 9 Activities in Bideford
Type: Farms, Amusement
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Owner description: Devon's Large Attraction of the Year (2013/14), The BIG Sheep is firmly established as one of the UK's most innovative and exciting family attractions providing wacky and unique entertainment for all the family. Hilarious and entertaining shows include the World Famous sheep racing, complete with woolly jockeys, Horse Whispering, Dog and Duck Trials. Shepherds with a wicked sense of humor will have you laughing out loud as you are introduced to 10 different breeds of sheep who will strut their stuff live on stage to music! Children AND adults can burn off excess energy and play safely on a great selection of slides and imaginative soft play climbing areas, tumble towers, mazes and obstacles in our MASSIVE indoor playarea.There are loads of fun packed outdoor activities too. For the adrenaline thrill seekers there are bookable sessions at the Adventure Centre adjacent to the park for Climbing, Low Ropes, Water Zorbing and Mountain Boarding and competitive families can battle it out using state of the art eye-safe laser guns at Battlefield Live Outdoor Combat Zone. You can also enjoy Farm Safari rides, magical lakeside train rides, pony rides, twister chair-o-planes rides, free beer tasting, outside jumping pillows, family splash zone and a chance to feed the baby lambs are just some of the treats in store. During the winter there is a toboggan and ice skating rink too.After an exhilarating day out, browse in our Sheepy Shop and Farm Shop and find local Westcountry products before relaxing with a delicious home made scones and a great big dollop of Devonshire clotted cream.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Stairs / elevator, Activities for older children
Newbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“"I can't stop laughing - my tummy hurts!"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

The title is what my 6 year old son said as we watched the Big Sheep Halloween Panto on Friday night, 1st November.
We visit the Big Sheep at least 3 times a year when we are on holiday in Croyde. We always visit in October half term and are consistently impressed with the huge effort that is put into their Halloween make over.
This is the first time we have been in the evening to one of the Halloween specials and it was fantastic. The panto starred the regular Big Sheep team and we could not believe how good they were, how funny it was or how they still had the energy to do it so well after a full days work. Farmer Wes (aka The Beast) and Farmer John (aka Jeff the Chef) were amazing.
All of the staff should be praised - at the end of a long and I imagine demanding season they were all as friendly and enthusiastic as ever.

Our favourite day out of our holiday every time, baaar none!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thebigsheep, Marketing and Communications Assistant at The Big Sheep, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
A BIG thank you from all of us at The BIG Sheep. October half term marks the end of our season, so we always like to go out with a bang and this is our way of doing it. All staff like to go all out and make it a memorable week. The panto was a new addition to our evening parties last year, and has been such a huge hit with everyone that watches it. We are pleased you all enjoyed it and your son couldn't stop laughing!

We can't wait to see you next year for your annual visits to the BIG Sheep.

Best Regards,

Nicola :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

891 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    533
    200
    80
    50
    28
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A rainy day out with the grandparents”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

An excellent day out. I loved the sheep show. I had to hold the door for the 'big' sheep that turned out o be piddle small. I did feel silly running across the arena screaming. The sheepdog trials where really good to watch and the indoor play area looked excellent especially the slides. All in all an excellent day out...

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thebigsheep, Marketing and Communications Assistant at The Big Sheep, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for your review.

We always have to have one person that holds the door to our 'big sheep'...and often have them running away screaming before the little sheep emerges.

It's fantastic to hear that you had such a great day out, it really puts a massive smile on our faces.

We hope to see you again soon for another visit.

Best Regards,

Nicola :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Mids
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
52 attraction reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“A Great Place to Visit - Our Personal Favourite in Devon !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Just returned from a weeks stay in North Devon and the first thing we wanted to do was review this wonderful place.

As a family with children aged 4 - 10 years we've been here a number of times now and it has always been the best day out of the whole holiday. The staff are the best we've ever seen anywhere and can't do enough for you. Everyone is obviously happy working at this place and it really shows.

We went over October half term week and went on a quiet day so didn't experience anything negative like some people have mentioned in recent reviews. We've never had any problems before so I think the car parking issues and it being really busy isn't something you should worry about. Each time we've been in the school holidays we've never had any issues so please do not let this put you off visiting.

As normal the kids went on many rides which we didn't pay for and we watched some of the shows. They always make us laugh and are good all round family entertainment. Our youngest and eldest children really loved the indoor play area. It catered for all ages with big slides which the adults can join in on as well. I couldn't get my husband off the slides for hours he was having such fun!

Each year we visit the Big Sheep we are amazed that it just gets better and better. Improvements are being made every year and lots of investment taking place.


We hadn't visited before in October and were amazed by how much effort they had gone to in terms of Halloween. There was so much to see. Every part of the Big Sheep had been transformed. In particular the haunted house was so scary and the tractor ride so much fun. It must have took these guys days to get everything ready for a scary Halloween half term. Well done guys as we couldn't find anywhere else in North Devon that had made any effort.

The shop is fantastic and caters for everyone with things to suit all budgets. The food is excellent and well priced. The toilets were extremely clean which is always a big plus.

The weather has been a bit miserable this week which has maybe spoilt the enjoyment of some visitors but this place is really a all year, all weather attraction. There is lots to do and see indoors if it pours down but it is also great on a dry day.

I can't honestly praise this place enough so please don't let these few negative reviews put you off. It is definitely the place to visit when in North Devon with children. Whenever we return home from holiday our kids always say the Big Sheep was the highlight of the holiday and want to know how many sleeps it is until they can return.

WELL DONE THE BIG SHEEP - KEEP UP THE GREAT WORK!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thebigsheep, Marketing and Communications Assistant at The Big Sheep, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Wow..it's lovely to hear that we are your families favourite place to visit in Devon.

Halloween was a particularly busy time for us, and with the severe weather the whole of the country was experiencing this left our overflow car park unusable for our visitors safety. I'm pleased you got to visit us on a quieter day and enjoy all our Halloween added extras. We always like to end our season with a BIG bang and our Halloween week is certainly the way to do this.

We are already making plans for improvements for 2014, so we hope when you visit us next year you will notice the differences :)

Best Regards,

Nicola.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiveliscombe, null, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best night out with the children ever!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We went to the BIg Sheep last night and had a brilliant time. It was a special Halloween night and we only paid £20 for four of us. The staff put on a special pantomime which was brilliant and the kids really enjoyed it. There were special themed rides and the indoor play area was open until 10pm. Each member of staff that we met was happy probably after a very long day and made you feel very welcome. I love the BIg Sheep day or night they offer great value for money and the staff go the extra mile to make your day special, you can see they genuinely care. Thank you BIg Sheep for a brilliant night that we will always remember.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thebigsheep, Marketing and Communications Assistant at The Big Sheep, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
A BIG thank you for taking the time to write your review. Halloween is a very special time of year for us, with all staff going all out to end the season with a BIG bang. It really makes it all worth while to read lovely reviews like yours.

I'm so pleased you were able to enjoy the panto, the team will be thrilled to hear you all enjoyed watching it.

We hope to see you again next year for our spoooktacular Halloween parties!

Best Regards,

Nicola :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burntwood, Staffs.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“The BIG Ripoff”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

This attraction is great for little kids. But thats where it ends. We were charged 97 quid for 8 of us to get in. 4 were adults and 4 were kids from the ages of 3 to 14. The adults paid exactly the same price as the kids and there is NOTHING for the adults. Most of the attractions once in ment more money. A pound for this, a pound for that. I reckon todays outing has cost 200 quid easy including drinks and the extra attractions. Just glad we took our own food. Please don't get me wrong, the "younger" kids love the place but why charge adults the same price as kids?. 2 attractions failed to operate today, the horse whisperer and the twister but no discount was offered.
I wonder what cars the directors drive round in?. The general public are making these people very rich.
Sorry "The Big Sheep" but for me you will always be known as "The Big Ripoff".

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thebigsheep, Manager at The Big Sheep, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Hi…thanks for your review. It was good to hear you thought The BIG Sheep was great for little kids. One of the things we pride ourselves in is that we have attractions to suit all age groups – gentle rides and attractions for the little ones with more extreme rides for teenagers and thrill seeks. Our 11 hilarious shows are hugely popular with our adult visitors and we have coach groups from a range of various societies who visit on a regular basis specifically to see the live shows.

At the BIG Sheep we operate a fair pricing policy and admission includes Free access to all shows and attractions and play areas. Some rides do carry a nominal cost as they cannot be used by all our visitors and an inclusive price would unfairly increase entry costs.

Safety is of paramount importance for all our visitors and to this end we took the decision to cancel our horse whispering show on the day of your visit due to the high winds which Molly our horse finds distressing and can sometimes cause her to be unpredictable in her behaviour.
I hope the above will help you reconsider your opinion of the BIG Sheep and we hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Big Sheep also viewed

 

Been to The Big Sheep? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Big Sheep, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.