We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food at a reasonable price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crealock Arms

Crealock Arms
Littleham, Bideford EX39 5HN, England
01237 477065
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 102 Restaurants in Bideford
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: The Crealock Arms in Littleham is the epitomy of an English country pub in a beautiful North Devon setting, yet just 10 minutes drive from the town of Bideford. The traditional family-run pub enjoys magnificent country views – from its large beer garden you can see three local church towers! Named after a 19th century village squire and landowner, The Crealock was created from a former farmhouse and opened as a pub in 1977 by members of the farm’s Nicholls family, who have lived there for more than 100 years. Today it is run by Clare and Rick Morgan. Clare is the grand-daughter of its founders and the couple’s two young children are the family’s seventh generation to live on the site. The Crealock it is at the heart of the village community, a meeting place for the locals and venue for events, as well as a favourite with diners and an ideal place to take the family.
Bideord
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Delicious food at a reasonable price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Sixteen of us met for Sunday lunch, and to celebrate my brothers birthday. We all had the carvery, having a choice of roast beef, or pork, both perfectly cooked, and served by Rick, the owner and chef. Accompanying the meat was a wonderfully appetising choice of fresh vegetables including broccoli in cheese sauce, carrots, and three different types of potatoes. Add to this homemade Yorkshire puddings, a magic combination.
Only four of us could manage a sweet. The tempting choices included homemade meringue nest, profiteroles, and banofee pie. We finished our meals with coffee and teas.
The service was superb. We were shown to our tables on arrival and went to the carvery shortly afterwards. The price was reasonable.
My only moan regarding the Crealock is that it is not dog friendly, a real shame for the many country folk who patronise this popular village pub and restaurant.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    9
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chandler's Ford, Eastleigh
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Devon revisited”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

I left the Bideford area over 12 years ago, but one of my abiding memories was visiting The Crealock Arms when calling on a friend in Littleham and thoroughly enjoying the meals and ambiance there. On a recent return to the area, I was delighted when my memories were fully justified, and the beef and ale pie was delicious and of real Devon proportions such as you rarely get where I live now. Highly recommended.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“Didn't see inside as had a 4 legged friend...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in a lovely holiday cottage in the area, and hoped we would be able to pop on here for a drink on our evening walk. Unfortunately as stated by the previous poster the only place they allow dogs is in the car park.
Bit odd for a 'country' pub, this meant that as the weather wasn't particularly kind to us we only visited twice, preferring to travel to one of the more dog friendly places in the area.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kotor, Montenegro
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Not dog-friendly”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

In this day and age with many public houses being under serious threat of closure, every effort needs to be given to encourage all visitors, even those who have a well-behaved dog, or sedate(d) children. This is especially important when local holiday accommodation promotes itself as pet-friendly. Unfortunately, the owners of the Crealock Arms do not see this as important and so regrettably, this cannot receive my recommendation.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bideford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“The food here is superb....recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

The Crealock Arms is family run and is absolutely superb. Have been on 4 occasions lately and cannot fault the food or service. The mixed grill and just the best one around North Devon. the lasagne is superb. Have had the specials too. Don't miss the sweets, the banoffee pie is not to be missed. Advisable to book in advance as the last time we called in and took a chance and got the last table available that night. You wont be disappointed. give it a try.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crealock Arms also viewed

 

Been to Crealock Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crealock Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.