We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal location for business stop over” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Orchard Hill Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Orchard Hill Hotel to your Saves list
Orchard Hill Hotel
Orchard Hill, Bideford EX39 2QY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Bideford
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cork
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Ideal location for business stop over”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012 via mobile

Myself and my colleagues have been travelling to and from Bideford/ Appledore area for the past couple of years and have found the accommodation to be a very mixed bag! However the Orchard Hill Hotel was a pleasant surprise. The building is old but the rooms are clean, quite and comfortable. It is a family run hotel, the family are very helpfully and obliging. The only criticism, and hence my reason for dropping a star, is the wifi. The wifi was intermittent and unreliable, as we where there on business and needed access to emails it posed a bit of a problem. Not withstanding this I would gladly stay there again, and would definitely recommend it.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    31
    3
    7
    4
See reviews for
30
47
10
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Although not the most up to date decor or furnishings, the hotel is still very beautiful - clean and in a lovely location. Our room was very large, clean and the bed large and very comfortable. The service was very friendly and the smoked haddock and scrambled egg was one of the best breakfasts I've had in a hotel - including much pricier ones. The dog Sam is also lovely! I think this hotel provided excellent value for money.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

Everything about the hotel was immaculate. The family who run it were extremely friendly, and looked after all our needs with a cheerful good grace. Our room was beautifully furnished, with a magnificent bay window view of the estuary, and we slept like a log in the deliciously comfortable bed. The breakfast menu choice was extensive. The porridge was made exactly to our requirements, and the magnificent cooked breakfast used all local produce. A 10 minute walk took us to the town and beach. All in all, it was a most enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blois, France
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Orchard Hill Hotel.
Our room was very nice indeed, light, airy, good views, lovely and quiet. Plenty of storage space. Very comfortable bed, we slept well. Situated about 10 mins from town centre and wonderful beach nearby.
We would be happy to return for another stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Comfortable and spacious, our family room (double + 2 singles) swallowed us up with a sofa to spare, which is always a welcome suprise.

Breakfast was *excellent* and offered really fine locally sourced ingredients - especially the Bacon!

Slept soundly, without being disturbed by other guests, which is the most important thing!

Local cider in the small-but-adequately stocked bar was gorgeous.

Only simple-to-fix little niggles robbed this hotel of the overall "excellent" 5th dot:

* Our room had significant water damage on the ceiling and wall (from the roof), which really could do with being sorted out pronto as it is off-putting to have your children sleeping under what looks like a mouldy wall.

* The lightbulb had failed in the upstairs hall, so it was dark!

* A lick of paint wouldn't go amiss - the room just felt in need of a little TLC. I did see into some other rooms, and it might just have been that our room is last on the list for a refurb, or perhaps we just looked shabby and so that's where we were put. :-) :-)

Useful tips:

* The stairs to the upstairs floor are very steep (as to be expected in a victorian building), so probably not suitable for the less sprightly.

* The central heating and hot water is *lovely* and exceptionally hot for a hotel - so just beware that it's easy to get a burn from brushing the towel rail or radiator if it's turned on, and be really careful in the bath/shower with children - don't let them run a bath without checking it!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

We looked on line and phoned the Orchard Hotel. We arrived pm and had a drink at the small but well stocked bar. We had a family room as the Hotel was fully booked but it was just for the two of us. We looked in other rooms and they were all very clean and with a very comfortable bed in ours we slept well. Very peaceful and down to a freshly cooked breakfast. We stayed two nights and were very pleased with the Hotel as it was handy for local visiting. We will stay again on our next vist to the Bideford area.
Isobel and Trevor

Room Tip: Roms No 4 or 6 are ideal twin rooms for two
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dursley, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

We stayed at the Orchard Hill Hotel over the Easter weekend. We booked the superior room and were pleased as it was a large room with a bay window and views to the river. The hotel is tucked away in a quiet location only a 10-15 minute easy walk from the town centre, and a few minutes walk from the South West Coast Path. The breakfast was cooked to order, nicely presented and good quality. The owners made us feel very welcome throughout our stay. We will happily stay here again when we do the next stage of our coast path walk.

Room Tip: We paid a little extra to have a superior room which was a lovely large room with a bay window with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Orchard Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchard Hill Hotel

Address: Orchard Hill, Bideford EX39 2QY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Bideford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bideford
#3 Business Hotel in Bideford
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bideford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Orchard Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchard Hill Bideford
Orchard Hill Hotel Bideford, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orchard Hill Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.