We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff. Very average room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hoops Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hoops Inn to your Saves list
Hoops Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Horns Cross | near Clovelly, Bideford EX39 5DL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Bideford
Taunton, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great staff. Very average room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We had a two night break here early spring and whilst the room was very basic (bathroom was lovely though and obviously very new with nice walk in shower) the staff, food and general atmosphere made it. Dinner in the restaurant is highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    47
    9
    4
    1
See reviews for
27
85
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We founds the Hoops Inn on an internet search looking for somewhere different and maybe a little remote. The web site was crisp with plenty of images to support their claims. A very pretty 800 year old coaching Inn with a thatched roof.

We had room 4 with a stunning 4 poster bed with a comfortable mattress and a great ensuit bathroom that has a "jaccusi" bath and good shower. Loads of character in the hotel and staff were very helpful. We ate in the hotel restaurant the first evening and the food was good and priced reasonably. Breakfasts were equally well prepared and quality good.

This part of North Devon is lovely as it is slightly remote and not crammed with hundreds of tourists, we did a fair amount of exploring and discovered some local gems Instow being one with a wonderful seafood restaurant.

Would we return to the Hoops? Absolutely a great place to stay!

Room Tip: Best rooms are the "Thatched rooms"
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gravesend, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We.were.passing.by.on.our.way.to.holiday.park.and.thought.it.looked.a.lovely.location.and.building.to.stop.and.have.dinner..There.was.no.room.in.the.bar.so.we.were.shown.into.a.lovely.private.dining.room..The.service.and.food.was.excellent.and.prices.reasonable.for.the.quality.of.food.and.service..We.would.certainly.visit.again.possibly.to.stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We'd promised ourselves a stay here since we first visited for a meal over 10 years' ago. Well, we finally made it for our wedding anniversary treat and we weren't disappointed. The Mallow Suite is just gorgeous with its posh bed and bathroom. Staff are friendly and helpful, especially the girl who seemed to be everywhere - bar, breakfast and reception! Only small downsides were that the restaurant was not open on the night we wanted to dine, although our table in the bar was nice - in a little alcove all by itself. Also the lack of mushrooms - apparently the kitchen had run out, so I had to have vegetable risotto instead of mushroom and no mushrooms with my vegetarian breakfast. Hope to stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Passing by one evening, we decided to stop for dinner. The bar and restaurant area is certainly quirky, wirh lots of 'cubbyhole' areas for seating. This may not be to everyones taste, but lends a little charm! Food was imaginatively presented, hot and good value, although there was a bit of a wait. However, they were very busy. Will return again if we are in the south west.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights and loved this Inn. Had a meal both nights, one in the restaurant and one in the bar. Food was excellent. Bonus was live music on the 2nd night. the staff were wonderful and very friendly. The only negative was that the weather was very hot and absolutely needed to open windows at night - but traffic noise meant difficult sleeping. What a shame no fans were available.

Room Tip: The rooms at front of the Inn have great features but beware the road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hoops Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoops Inn

Address: Horns Cross | near Clovelly, Bideford EX39 5DL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Bideford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bideford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hoops Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hoops Inn and Country Hotel is proud of its extensive range of high quality food provided. The menu is varied to accommodate seasonal specialties and is freshly prepared in our own kitchens using the best of garden and local produce. Guests can choose to dine in the candlelit restaurant, in the relaxed bars or, on balmy summer days, outdoors on the covered courtyard. There are a vast array of activities on The Hoops doorstep which can be enjoyed throughout the year such as golf, fishing, sailing, hiking, surfing and biking. In addition to the many historic houses, beautiful gardens and quaint coves and villages, The Hoops Inn has more than 8 acres of landscaped grounds for your enjoyment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hoops Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoops Hotel Bideford
Hoops Inn Bideford, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hoops Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.