We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cracking country pub!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Coach and Horses

The Coach and Horses
Buckland Brewer | Nr. Bideford, North Devon, Bideford EX395LU, England
+44 1237 451395
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 109 Restaurants in Bideford
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: International, European, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Coach & Horses Inn at Buckland Brewer in North Devon is set amongst the beautiful Devon countryside, with Exmoor on one side, Dartmoor the other and the lovely sandy beaches of the North Devon coast within a few minutes drive. The ideal location for a perfect traditional free house.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cracking country pub!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Visited with my family and girlfriend on a rainy Sunday and it couldn't have raised our spirits more!

This isn't meant to be gourmet dining, it is an English country pub and the food follows suit - it is perfect. Great beer too.

Will be going back next time we're in north Devon. Highly recommended.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    30
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Quaint doesn't have to be grubby!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Visited with my wife on the recommendation of the hotel we were staying at. My wife had the salmon and I had fish and chips. Both were excellent and represented good value. However I feel that the Coach and Horses is falling into the trap that grubby round the edges is fine if you interpret it as old and quaint, which without doubt the Coach and Horses is. This is a beautiful pub in the middle of nowhere. It is busy with lots of locals and tourists. There is a great atmosphere that would not be destroyed by a little renewal and upgrading here and there.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great pub and superb food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We ate here 3 times in May 2013. Each time the food was excellent. There is a menu which always has lighter meals, steaks and curries etc. but they also have a specials board which consists of about 9 main courses which change regularly. One evening I had the chicken gougons with parmesan and herb crust - it was fantastic - so good in fact that I requested it again even though it wasn't on the menu and they obliged. All the dishes come with a choice of 4 potatoes and either salad or vegetables. For two main courses, 2 desserts and a glass of wine and a pint of shandy the bill came to £36. This is excellent value and all served with a smile from young waitresses who are keen to please. This pub is very old with low ceilings and a log fire when needed and frequented by local people which is always a good sign. You simply can't go wrong visiting here and I just wish it was closer to home. Thanks to Oliver and his staff for some great meals. Wish it was closer to home!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver W, Manager at The Coach and Horses, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you for visiting us so many times during your recent visit to North Devon and for your very positive comments, we are delighted that you enjoyed the Coach and Horses and very much hope to welcome you back in the future - Best regards, Oliver and Nicola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Fabulous staff and lovely food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

My husband and I were staying in a cottage locally and decided to try this pub for dinner, we were not disappointed. There is a small car park behind the pub and also plenty of street parking. The pub had a nice atmosphere as we walked in and we were welcomed warmly. We were seated straight away and we advised that it was busy and that there may be a bit of a wait for food, if there was we did not notice, the service was superb and the home cooked meals were lovely, portions very generous. We are both vegetarian and managed to find three lovely courses.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver W, Owner at The Coach and Horses, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
We are delighted that you enjoyed your recent visit to the Coach and Horses and very much hope to welcome you back in the near future - Best regards, Oliver and Nicola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herefordshire, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great pub with really tasty, reasonably priced food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed at Barton Court and for some odd reason this local pub wasn't recommended either verbally or in the house book. Ignore this lack of recommendation. We did due to the trip advisor reviews and were really glad we did. The pub is great, the food is delicious. Each of the party of 7 agreed it was a great meal. It is in easy walking distance from Barton Court. I will certainly visit when in the area again. Oliver, the landlord, was cheeful and welcoming. We had a great night.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Coach and Horses also viewed

 
Northam, Bideford
 

Been to The Coach and Horses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Coach and Horses, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.