We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never Fails to Impress” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Thatched Inn

The Thatched Inn
Abbotsham, Bideford EX39 5BA, England
01237 471321
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 102 Restaurants in Bideford
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Worldwide
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Never Fails to Impress”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Once again we thoroughly enjoyed our visit to The Thatch.
Always a good selection of freshly cooked food served by friendly staff in a traditional Pub environment. There have been vast improvements and updating in the main bar area since my last visit. Wow! What a difference. So much improved.
We have held many a dinner party here and wouldn't hesitate to book again.
I no longer live in North Devon but wish I had a local pub of the standard and quality of this one right on my doorstep.
I can not recommend 'The Thatched Inn' highly enough - and wish Mark, Les and all the team continued success in 2013!
Thanks for all the Happy Memories, Parties, Laughs and Great Food in 2012!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    56
    23
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bideford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not the best of food.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Noisy and not the best of atmosphere. Full of noisy children when we visited. Food was very bland and typical pub food.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark Anthony G, Manager at The Thatched Inn, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you for your review, we appricate all comments both good and bad to help us shape the future of our business.
We are a typical family run pub, always striving to offer value for money, great customer service in a relaxed old english inn enviroment.
We are sorry that you felt your experience was not a plesant one, however probally visting over the christmas period was not such a wise move if you did not want to be distrubed by children. We are busy most of the time and the noise in the pub normally brings atmosphere, especially with christmas being a time of festive cheer.
We will continue to offer a place of fun and happyness over christmas period and keep striving to give all our customers the very best in service and good quality PUB food.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bideford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A wonderful way to celebrate before christmas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We have just had a wonderful evening for 21 people all made possible by Les, mine host, at the Thatched Inn, Abbotsham, Bideford,EX39 5BA
we had booked for 7pm and had all arrived, and there was no fuss or bother for us and we were not hurried. The atmosphere in the pub was so very christmas really tasteful christmas decorations throughout, a joy for young and old. The service was second to none, the staff could'nt have been more attentive for our needs and wants. We just took our time and ate and drank at our leisure, which makes a nice change nowadays to some other places. we so enjoyed the evening we will most probably book again for next christmas

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bideford
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Pub Grub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Great atmosphere and friendly welcome. The pub is popular and so is the restaurent. Food is good by Pub standards and freshly cooked to order. Not mega expensive.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“steak and ale pie”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Definitely NOT enough steak in the pie...very disappointed to say the least!!!!!The pub is not giving the customer value for money!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Thatched Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Thatched Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Thatched Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.