We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK - But could be better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of West Country Inn

Save Saved
You added West Country Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
West Country Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Bursdon Moor | Nr. Hartland, Bideford EX39 6HB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 35 Bideford B&B and Inns
England
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“OK - But could be better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2010

This is a friendly pub with reasonable food, but could be much better.
The rooms appear clean and the maid service efficient, but closer examination showed that our room had not had a full clean in some time.
The bar menu is reasonably priced and decent quality, but not a single item on the specials board was changed during our stay.
Breakfast is a bit of a disappointment. I cannot see why the ridiculous tea/coffee machine cannot be changed for fresh made, even if this was just thermos jugs. Also I believe that a hotel that appears to have a number of foreign visitors should at least cater for their tastes and provide some continental options, it cannot be difficult to have a stock of yogurts and frozen croissants.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    9
    5
    4
    2
See reviews for
5
15
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
cornwall
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2010

got there early staff gave us the choice of rooms after looking at them pointed out some over looked the road but very quiet food at the resteraunt very good staff to also very helpful

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bideford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2010

Me,my partner and 3 children stayed at the Westcountry inn for one night in the family room. The place was totally brilliant!! The room was very roomy and spacious,our room had a Double bed,bunk bed and another single bed also a kettle with tea/coffee,sugar,milk etc. Lovely shower room and a LCD TV/FREEVIEW on the wall and was decorated to a high standard!! We also took our dog which was a bonus. The pub had the feel of a traditional old inn and was really cosy as the log burner was lit and warmed the pub up,and the kids enjoyed it as there was a room next door with a pool table,leather sofas etc. The evening meal and breakfast was superb with a great choice and you get loads!!! We are defo gonna stay again as it was everything we were looking for...all the staff were very helpfully and so very friendly.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2008

was really looking forward to staying at the westcountry inn as the reviews had been good, but the whole place, bedroom, lounge, restaurant need some tlc. it was a lovely afternoon and we sat in the garden at the back of the inn but the garden furniture was covered in mold spores and the furniture was rotted through in fact broken when we sat on it really quite neglected but could have been a lovely area to sit and enjoy the nice weather and peace and quiet. the staff were lovely very friendly and the food was fantastic and very well priced (quite a basic bar menu). the restaurant was quite garish with bright red tablecloths and napkins. good location.

  • Liked — friendly staff and the food
  • Disliked — the finishing touches
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton upon Trent
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2008

Just spent a long weekend break at the west country inn, good location for all the sites that Devon and Cornwall have to offer,
A family run 16th century inn with a friendly atmosphere, the room we were given was of a good size with an en-suit bathroom with shower, all the usual extras including TV, Kettle and Hairdryer, everything you need for a nice comfortable stay. although the room we had was on the roadside and we did experience a little road noise during peak times, but not enough to spoil your sleep.
Being able to explore the sites during the day and then later return to the inn for a romantic evening meal without the worry of having to drive anywhere, the food is of a good standard and the portions are of a generous size, in the morning breakfast is served in the restaurant, Full English or if you prefer something a little less filling, cereals, toast or even eggs on toast, you only need to ask and Laura will do her best to accomodate to your needs.
In our opinion the west country inn is very good value for money and should you decide to go there you wont be dissapointed.

MieknHels
Burton on Trent

  • Liked — Accommodation and food all in one
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2008

The inn is just lovely. everything about it is fantastic. The staff were so friendly and we were greeted every morning and asked about our day in the evening. lovely family run place with a warm atmosphere. We stayed in the superior room and it was stunning. well worth the extra money. breakfast lovely, was always asked if we wanted more and pub food so good we ate in hotel every evening, we loved the view and the peaceful environment. happily spent every evening chilling with a drink in the comfy sofa area. would reccomend. it may not be as close to some attractions as other accomodation, but I promise you wont find a nicer stay in the area! thankyou!

Stayed August 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to West Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Country Inn

Address: Bursdon Moor | Nr. Hartland, Bideford EX39 6HB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Bideford
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Bideford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — West Country Inn 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your West Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bideford Country Inn
West Country Inn Bideford, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Country Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.